Gap Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Gap Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 489 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
124 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Long hours to work everyday

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    Gap2019-06-10
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the atmosphere and the people

    Cons

    Work life balance needs to be worked on.

    Advice to Management

    Can advice very quickly just bring your drive

    Gap2019-06-07
  3. "Overall Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Sick pay and Vacation.

    Cons

    Company lacks consistency in role structure and clarity.

    Advice to Management

    Make clearer decisions regarding big changes on a store level and ensure enough training and time is provided to help those changes along.

    Gap2019-06-07
  4. "Don't Believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lot's of talented, smart peers to work with.

    Cons

    Senior Field leaders are terrible. No one is really happy.. or allowed to speak their mind when they are unhappy It is like working in a terrible cult

    Advice to Management

    Seriously, enough with the forced pictures of shiny happy people... We all know it is a lie.. If you spent more time focusing on how miserable your employees are or how terribly boring your product is things may change...

    Gap2019-06-17
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising Manager in Missoula, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Equal pay, benefits and room for promotion within the company and sister companies

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, product quality has gone done, communication frustrations that come with working for corporations

    Gap2019-05-29

    Gap Response

    June 18, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate your thoughtful feedback about your employee experience. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

  6. "Good company...fast paced...competing priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work environment, benefits, people, top specialty retailer

    Cons

    downsizing, competing priorities, Old Navy splitting off

    Advice to Management

    simplify work and be less reactive

    Gap2019-05-21
  7. "Review of job satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun, lots of great clothing, happy customers

      Cons

      Lots of work, low pay

      Gap2019-05-22
    • "Has gone downhill....:"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      great employees, benefits and PTO time

      Cons

      - No payroll, way high of expectations and no time/hours to complete - Restructuring eliminated a lot of talented, loyal people - Pay scale isn’t fair , employees who have been with the company a long time are being paid less than new hires with minimal experience - Product allocation is poor. Don’t send stores more product than we can hold , or product we already have way too much of.

      Advice to Management

      Everything has been very disorganized as of lately . It has become a very stressful and negative environment. Please value your employees and their hard work.

      Gap2019-05-11

      Gap Response

      May 23, 2019Company Representative

      We are sorry to hear about your experience on our team. We read all of these reviews and take your feedback to heart. We share comments like yours with relevant teams who are working hard to promote positive change across the company.

    • "Stress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Manager in Destin, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Career growth -Nice clothes -4 weeks vacation

      Cons

      -Poor organization -zero resources to accomplish goals and expectations. -no work life balance - associates make very little money. Hard to retain staff -very old stores and fixtures. Corporate will not fix them. -goals and expectations are enormous -company has abandon gap and only focuses on the other brands. -0 recognition

      Advice to Management

      Listen.......... just listen

      Gap2019-05-31

      Gap Response

      June 18, 2019Company Representative

      We appreciate hearing feedback about your employee experience. We read all of these reviews and take your comments to heart. We are constantly working to improve the employee experience across the company and will share your concerns with relevant teams.

    • Helpful (1)

      "CULT Mentality"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Not a single pro about this company.

      Cons

      1. Our Store Managers didn't do anything. They would pass everything off to the assistants and sit in the office on their phones talking to other store managers or pretending to do "office work". Many of them are in their positions only due to seniority and not because they are actually qualified or inspiring leaders. 2. Whoever is allocating labour hours given to stores to run is delusional. You never get enough hours...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Every time we had a visit from corporate, the stores would get funded MAJOR extra hours to make themselves look PERFECT. This is the biggest mistake. When upper level management would come to our stores and see these perfectly folded, overly staffed almost magazine looking stores they weren't getting the REAL day to day experience their customers do. If you want to see what your stores REALLY look like, come...

      Show More
      Gap2019-05-25

      Gap Response

      June 18, 2019Company Representative

      We are disappointed to hear this and appreciate your thorough and thoughtful feedback. We take your comments to heart and will share your concerns with relevant teams who are working to promote positive change across the organization.

    Found 489 reviews