Gap Merchandiser Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Gap Merchandiser Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 152 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
28 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start a career. Has a diverse culture and the dress code is casual.

    Cons

    Very slow with promotions. Can get quite political.

    Gap2014-10-19
  2. "Good company to work for. They offer good working experience/ exposure to industry systems & best practices."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Merchandiser in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They offer good/ healthy/ friendly work culture.

    Cons

    If you are looking for work/life balance then this could be the worst place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Pls review how many hours per week an average employee is working & not just the incoming time.

    Gap2014-02-04
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Merchandising Assistant 

      I have been working at Gap full-time

      Pros

      Great culture and diverse environment

      Cons

      Really busy, not good balance

      Gap2019-06-03
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Visual Merchandising Manager in Missoula, MT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Equal pay, benefits and room for promotion within the company and sister companies

      Cons

      Unrealistic goals, product quality has gone done, communication frustrations that come with working for corporations

      Gap2019-05-29

      Gap Response

      June 18, 2019Company Representative

      We appreciate your thoughtful feedback about your employee experience. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

    • "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate/Visual Merchandiser 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        friendly, fast paced, discount, hours

        Cons

        long hours, shifts get cancelled, a lot of lazy and unwilling to learn employees

        Advice to Management

        teach all of your employees how to do everything so it isn't relied on a select few people.

        Gap2019-05-30

        Gap Response

        June 18, 2019Company Representative

        Thanks for leaving a review. At Gap Inc., we believe that each member of our team should be willing and able to roll up their sleeves and contribute. We appreciate your feedback and will share your thoughts with relevant teams as we continue to improve the employee experience for ...

        Show More
      • "Merchandiser"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Merchandiser in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexible Working Hours, Staff Discount, Private Health Insurance, office location

        Cons

        No share scheme, holiday allowance could be more generous.

        Gap2019-05-07

        Gap Response

        May 22, 2019Company Representative

        Thanks for sharing what it's like to work on our team. We appreciate your feedback and utilize comments like yours to help improve the employee experience for all.

      • "Not bad but overwhelming"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Merchandise Flow Manager in Dawsonville, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gap full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Amount of Pay Name recognition Culture

        Cons

        Obtaining credit cards Balancing all duties in time allotted

        Advice to Management

        Give more hours

        Gap2019-03-29

        Gap Response

        April 4, 2019Company Representative

        We are sorry to hear of your experience. We share feedback like this with relevant teams as we continue to promote positive change across the company. Thank you for sharing.

      • Helpful (1)

        "Display product and mannequins in a creative and desirable fashion."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Maumee, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gap part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Should be a good experience.

        Cons

        Turned out to be a waste of my time because they just wanted me to cover breaks and open doors when the managers were going to be doing the actual visuals for some reason.

        Advice to Management

        Figure out what you’re doing. I feel like a human doorknob most days, and keep getting promised “we see potential in you and want to make sure we can all use it together to make the store great”. Well I promise me holding the door is not using me to my fullest potential.

        Gap2019-01-12

        Gap Response

        February 7, 2019Company Representative

        We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We read all these reviews and will keep your feedback in mind as we work to drive positive change across the company.

      • "Merchandise handler"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Merchandiser in East Fishkill, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gap full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Nice team workers at Gap

        Cons

        No cons good team workers

        Gap2018-07-30
      • "Sales Associate/Visual Merchandising Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate/Visual Merchandiser 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Only pro to working for the company is the discount, it is worth staying on the payroll for. Generally easy work with fair pay. A great job for students but if you’re interested in finding a full-time job and building a career within, it is not worth it.

        Cons

        Key holder specialist position requires you to perform the same tasks as upper management while you receive a fraction of the pay. Definitely not worth it. You receive a very little pay raise to do the same managers work and often do their job more frequently than they do.

        Gap2018-08-10
      Found 152 reviews