Gap Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Gap Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5092 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
966 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start a career. Has a diverse culture and the dress code is casual.

    Cons

    Very slow with promotions. Can get quite political.

    Gap2014-10-19
  2. "Good company to work for. They offer good working experience/ exposure to industry systems & best practices."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Merchandiser in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They offer good/ healthy/ friendly work culture.

    Cons

    If you are looking for work/life balance then this could be the worst place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Pls review how many hours per week an average employee is working & not just the incoming time.

    Gap2014-02-04
  3. "The strength of the Fischer Family still has an influence on the culture of the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Respects Change; Open to listening

    Cons

    consolidation needed in the senior leadership

    Advice to Management

    Continue the momentum of good sales !

    Gap2013-09-13
  4. "False promise and favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Agent in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company I've ever work for nice people good team fun pace to be

    Cons

    false promises to get promoted alot of favoritism only get promoted if they like you alot of politics I believe if your good at you job you should get a promotion not if some one like you cause alot og mangers and LP supervise to Mangers don't know noting about there job all they CAN DO ID POLITITCS

    Gap2012-12-12
  5. "Good place to work with usual corporate ,unhealthy politics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor Q A in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good learning ground as far as garment technique is concerned.

    Cons

    Senior management is un-cooperative towards junior employees.They should break senior/ junior devide and interact direct with them. This will make them confident/ more secure job wise,

    Advice to Management

    The seniors should interact with the junior employees regularly and try to help them out of difficult situations and not just leave them to find solutions themselves.

    Gap2012-06-29
  6. "Good Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Low pay for sales associates

    Gap2019-08-19
  7. "Wonderful Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in West Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff in my location are super helpful and nice. Awesome employee discount (50%)!

    Cons

    High traffic store, should have previous customer service experience if applying

    Gap2019-08-17
  8. "Great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture was great. I worked here for 3 years. Great discount.

    Cons

    We were a struggling store so we eventually closed down and the expectations of the workload were unrealistic. Too many to do not enough payroll.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of how much time everything takes. Be realistic.

    Gap2019-08-17
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gap Sales Associate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing too difficult. Good selling experience

    Cons

    Can sometimes get very boring

    Gap2019-08-15
  10. "Nice Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount on clothes, flexible hours, fun atmosphere,

    Cons

    Big emphasis in the last couple years to hard sell credit cards

    Advice to Management

    I would not recommend creating a leaderboard with full time and part time associates in credit card sales. Part time can rarely catch up and it creates a tense and negative working environment with unfriendly competition at times.

    Gap2019-08-16
Found 5092 reviews