Gap Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Store Manager

Gap Store Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
17 Ratings
  1. "Fun but not a career..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is fun and customers love to spend money!

    Cons

    Sales and loyalty are pushed daily by upper management.

    Gap2019-08-16
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Long hours to work everyday

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    Gap2019-06-10

    Gap Response

    July 1, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience. We value all feedback we receive from our employees as we continue to improve the employee experience for all.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sidcup, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leading from the front , set the example

    Cons

    People not sharing the same passion for service as myself

    Advice to Management

    Run it like you own it

    Gap2018-09-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing , felt like the rug was pulled out from under me when I left."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Central, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and time for yourself during the year.

    Cons

    Be careful no matter how well your managers treat you when you are working here, when they don't need you anymore you are gone. No questions, no chance to change whatever they supposedly are letting you go for, when they don't need you anymore you are brought into your managers office, told you are being let go, you have no chance to find out why you are being let go, no chance to improve yourself , you are just shown...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really, when you work, play, and laugh with a fellow manager or employee and it becomes necessary to fire them. -- have a little compassion. being able to fire someone isn't a special talent. Letting them go and letting them know why is a special talent. AND you will always be remembered for how you treat others.

    Gap2018-07-10

    Gap Response

    August 17, 2018Company Representative

    We read each and every employee review that we receive, and we are sorry to hear of your experience as an assistant store manager. We recognize that our leaders play a significant role in our employees’ experience and we appreciate hearing your feedback.

  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Austin, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap for more than a year

    Pros

    fun friend discount salary connections

    Cons

    work life balance visits credit cards

    Advice to Management

    calm down

    Gap2018-05-16
  6. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time

    Pros

    - Ability to make decisions independently - Merchandise

    Cons

    - Payroll amount - Amount of hours

    Advice to Management

    - Work on bringing the gap back to when it was on top.

    Gap2018-04-08
  7. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing to be happy about

    Cons

    Horrible management No one cares about customers or the staff

    Gap2018-03-02
  8. "MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    EXCELLENT ENVIRONMENT TO WORK IN, THE EMPLOYEES ARE GREAT

    Cons

    None mentioned at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Gap2017-09-16
  9. "Great company on paper. Invests in employees and the community."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store General Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, community involvement, Popular Brand, many opportunites for development

    Cons

    HQ is not aligned with the field. When Upper Field is not in sync, the stress and disorganization falls to the field. Also, the brand is still figuring out who their customer is.

    Advice to Management

    Please work on developing a plan to better communicate with each and steamline your plans before cascading the information to the field.

    Gap2017-07-04
  10. "Good Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment for younger people. The benefits are some of the best I've seen, once you become full time. As a gay minority I never once felt out of place with my peers. Any time there was a month celebrating culture of any sort Gap is on top of it the month before spreading the word and really encourage a high employee turnout to any events they throw. They celebrate International Women's Month, Black History...

    Show More

    Cons

    Customers , as expected, can be grating. It doesn't feel like there's a natural progression from position to position and it's hard to move out of the store. Options are limited to big cities if you're looking to be anything higher than a General Manager (in store position)

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you value each and every single one of your employees at the lowest level. As a manager I had to see all sorts of crap from middle management and higher. It was more taking advantage of the younger crowd and their inexperience. They would overwork them or guilt trip them into taking hours, knowing they wouldn't put up too much of a fight for fear of losing hours the following week out of spite or annoyance.

    Gap2017-06-09
Found 73 reviews