General Atomics Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

General Atomics Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 701 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
General Atomics CEO Neal Blue
Neal Blue
297 Ratings
Pros
  • "Retirement Benefits and 9/80 work schedule(in 93 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, awesome schedule great co-workers(in 62 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management favors former military who think they’re still in the(in 24 reviews)

  • "With large growth comes large growing pains(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "hello this is a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Atomics

    Pros

    good staff, cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    heavy workload. that is all.

    General Atomics2015-09-11
  2. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at General Atomics

      Pros

      Very nice to company to work for

      Cons

      nothing i can think of

      General Atomics2016-02-12
    • "Generally Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager II in Poway, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      1. Innovative 2. Technologically modern 3. Expanding Business

      Cons

      1. Negative Politics in Management 2. Cocky in business dealings 3. "Clickish"

      Advice to Management

      Not everyone with a degree is good (or capable) of their jobs and the reverse with those with no degrees. Open your mind a little bit more and you may find yourself with even more talented, capable, and hard-working people.

      General Atomics2019-07-19
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Logistics Development Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Main pros for me are flexibility and room to be creative to accomplish projects

      Cons

      Not property structured in the sustainment division which makes it difficult for upward mobility

      General Atomics2019-07-18
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Planner in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great work environment. Leadership always looking to improve. Company still growing. Great Benefits.

      Cons

      No 9/80. Other than that I’m happy with the company.

      General Atomics2019-07-17
    • "Great Management and Learning Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Subcontract Administrator in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Management is open to feedback and ideas for continuous improvement -Great work/life balance -Many opportunities to collaborate and improve processes because management gives you the freedom to pursue your ideas -Great company start out as a college graduate

      Cons

      -Low salaries, HR based it on the “Harvard” method where everyone is close within the pay scale. I’m not sure if this is true, but it is really hurting GA in keeping top performers.

      Advice to Management

      Don’t let HR continue to undervalue your great talent.. this is what is leading to high employee turnover

      General Atomics2019-07-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Low pressure, low salaries"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Manager was amazing Project was decently fulfilling Worklife balance was excellent, like 100/100 perfect score, no joke Labs were a mess, I got to help make them better which was nice Very diverse workforce, I got to work with tons of women and folks whose English wasn't great, which helped me learn to communicate more effectively

      Cons

      They laid me and 16 other people off 3 weeks before Christmas (lmao) Defense contract work is always a crapshoot, if the work isn't won, you're out on the street Your program might be mismanaged, I got lucky(ish) Job duties took a while to align with advertised duties Salaries are designed to be uncompetitive to keep wages low Yearly raises are awarded on a merit system (up to your manager) Only so many above average...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hope you can still deliver that product 5 years behind schedule with 16 less engineers, good luck!

      General Atomics2019-07-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Positive work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Composite Technician in Adelanto, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great schedule and good benefits. Time off whenever you want it as long as you have time saved up.

      Cons

      Horrible raises, can never move up unless you’re related too someone high up. Politics 100%. The only way to move up is to move around from position to positions. Unless of course, if Daddy works there than you’re set. Even if you suck at your job.

      Advice to Management

      Be fair

      General Atomics2019-07-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Too relaxed of an environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Deve in Rancho Bernardo, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work Life balance skewed heavily towards life, friendly people, relaxed enviorment

      Cons

      Things move very slowly, little feedback from management on how you are performing.

      Advice to Management

      Be more quantitative in your reviews and have something more than once a year for 5 minutes to give other employees their review

      General Atomics2019-07-10
    • "Busy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Avionics Technician in Palmdale, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      As much overtime as you want.

      Cons

      Management plays favorites and makes schedules accordingly.

      General Atomics2019-07-09
    Found 701 reviews