Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 176 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Ghirardelli Chocolate CEO Joel Burrows
Joel Burrows
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not all departments have the same mindset, some may have work/life balance while others may not(in 10 reviews)

  • "Office space is limited but there will be expansion(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "avg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    good with the employees and working hours

    Cons

    no much cons.. just need improvement in management

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2018-12-07
  2. "Not bad, not great, just somewhere in between"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AR Specialist 

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    Lots of sweet treats around the office. You can also participate in taste tests and provide feedback which is neat!

    Cons

    High turnover, long hours.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-07-24
  3. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    i enjoyed it very much

    Cons

    management issues, they kept changing

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-07-08
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and free chocolates

    Cons

    not sure if they are aware that one of their employees is interviewing and hiring friends and relative to work for the factory.

    Advice to Management

    Conduct an internal investigation on that employee who violates code of conduct to protect the company.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-08-02
  5. "Good part-time for college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Chocolateer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers and coworkers were pretty lax. It was nice that the age gap wasn't too big of a difference. The pay was higher than minimum wage at the time so it was a fair job. 50% Ghirardelli items.

    Cons

    Summers and holidays are the busiest times for tourist season, and there are days when closing ends up being past 12am. There were also times when I got sent home after 2 hours because it was slow. "Saving on labor". Let me know if it's slow before I get in!

    Advice to Management

    Let your staff know when it's okay to get worker's comp!!! Needs like micro managing.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-07-09
  6. "Dream Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture. People truly assume positive intent at all times. Very collaborative and open minded coworkers. Supportive and visionary leadership team!

    Cons

    There's always some room for improvement, but we're making amazing progress and improving so much every year. I know we have a bright future!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great support and encouragement. I believe in the vision!

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-06-07
  7. "AVOID!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not sure - maybe free chocolate?

    Cons

    Everything. Horrible culture. They claim there's great culture but its all an external facade to reel in new candidates. Every person here does 2-3 peoples jobs, while people continue to get fired/quit left and right and they can't back fill due to budget. So more overworked people quit & the cycle just gets worse. Culture is 100% political, whoever sucks up the most to management the best gets all the praise...

    Show More
    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-07-08
  8. "Good for starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Choclateer in Anaheim, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good job to start at - Free sundaes

    Cons

    - very low morale - people could be friendlier

    Advice to Management

    Help out on the line when we are struggling with orders.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-05-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People! Well run company.

    Cons

    Seasonal surges in business can be taxing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-05-05
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, amazing team, good clients

    Cons

    A large amount of work

    Ghirardelli Chocolate2019-04-18
Found 176 reviews