Gilead Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Gilead Sciences Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 721 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Daniel O’Day
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Running too "lean" leads to poor work life balance for the "worker bees"(in 124 reviews)

  • "Upper management set with approaches that were more suitable for when the company was much smaller(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Most established. Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fresher in South

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere. Fully security life Learing oportunity

    Cons

    It turning to postive aptitude

    Advice to Management

    Good management and free work styles learning oportunity

    Gilead Sciences2018-07-28
  2. "Good Environment to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to work depending on project

    Cons

    Salary , Advanced learning for experienced or lateral hires is a challenging

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade the team members learning more of classroom training sessions rather than Webex

    Gilead Sciences2019-04-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    salary and benefit is good and above the average in the industry

    Cons

    Poor Management and Organization Structure make good people leaving

    Advice to Management

    Re-engineering

    Gilead Sciences2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Average experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay is good, great benefits, work/life balance was easy

    Cons

    management fo my department was pretty horrible. you were highly micromanaged

    Gilead Sciences2019-08-05
  5. "Fantastic workplace for a hard worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Foster City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Science focus, high bar, great work ethic, great benefits, wonderful colleagues.

    Cons

    Lean and mean, recent red tape.

    Gilead Sciences2019-07-23
  6. "i can stay here forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Foster City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    culture, and great team, great management, great pay,

    Cons

    currently using outlook, it works but not not efficient.

    Advice to Management

    lets upgrade our system and get into the 20th century

    Gilead Sciences2019-07-22
  7. "Best job I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work at the Alberta location. Management is great and listens to your concerns. Benefits are good and pay is fair. There's lots of work to keep me busy. Work/life balance is good here. My managers understand that I sometimes have other priorities.

    Cons

    Rotating schedules are not the best but they work.

    Gilead Sciences2019-07-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "great benefit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Foster City, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefit and it's getting better every year.

    Cons

    No work life balance.

    Gilead Sciences2019-07-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great spot, good people on the ground, nice perks

    Cons

    A complete lack of direction from mid and upper management, and way behind the learning curve on developing drugs in any indications outside virology. Gilead did an amazing job in HIV and HCV, but the golden years are past. Management lacks an understanding of how to develop drugs in oncology and inflam and it shows in the research and development pipelines. They also need to get it together on the M&A front. Hopefully...

    Show More
    Gilead Sciences2019-07-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gilead Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Great research, cross-functional team teamwork

    Cons

    Toxic environment, back-stabbing, biased management, no career progression, selection and grooming of friends for special initiatives or work opportunities and promotion instead of utilizing actual talent.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that have experience and can be unbiased; fix negative and toxic work environment; support career growth

    Gilead Sciences2019-08-17
Found 721 reviews