Glassdoor Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 841 of over 920 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Christian Sutherland-Wong
Christian Sutherland-Wong
225 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is strongly encouraged which is table stakes as a father with a young child(in 103 reviews)

  • "Great people ( They really are 'good eggs' in GD lingo)(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company has growing pains they are working out(in 49 reviews)

  • "None, good work life balance, freedom(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Glassdoor

    Join the conversation on

    Offer Negotiations

    6d

    a 

    Cyber Security Analyst

    Hi all. I’m a 2021 batch fresher. I didn’t negotiate at all when the offer was made and took their first offer (7LPA). The HR did keep insisting if I’m satisfied but it seemed above average as per what glassdoor said is paid for my role in india. Now that I’ve spent some time at the company it seems I could’ve negotiated as my peers even got joining bonuses (yes they were off campus freshers too) and their CTC is 2-3LPA more. I wonder how i could compensate that as appraisals won’t cover this ig

    3

    3 Comments

    Tech India

    106.2K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/tech-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.in&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Glassdoor~100431
    Join the conversation on
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Place to work at

      Aug 5, 2022 - Software Engineer(Internship) in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Glassdoor uses the latest technology stack (Spring Boot and GraphQL) and definitely challenges the interns to work on real world scenarios. The learning curve is huge.

      Cons

      The location is remote. I would love to visit the office and meet my team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Jul 19, 2022 - Technical Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can build a good network here that always supports you and motivates you to grow

      Cons

      Nothing i can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for leaving us a review! We're glad to read you've had a strong employee experience so far rich with support from coworkers and growth opportunities. We're looking forward to much more of both! - Mark Batke, Employer Brand Manager

    3. Ask Employees™

      I am satisfied with Glassdoor’s progress to date on its commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.

      Agreed or Strongly Agreed:87%Polled:Jul 2022Responses:390 ResponsesResponses:390Audience:All employees
      Agree 182 (47%)
      Featured Employee Response

      I have never worked somewhere that are so considerate towards all manners of minorities and differences of thought and culture.

      View All Polls
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very good company, many opportunities available

      May 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, friendly , great exposure, happy place

      Cons

      No cons to be specified

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Crazy amazing people.

      Jan 15, 2018 - Research Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Now for an organisation running the show ,it is inevitable to have a backend and a frontend. This organisation's backend is sound proof and knows how to manage their downtime.

      Cons

      You don't wanna learn , not for you.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Wonderful Internship experience

      Mar 26, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open organization flexible timings. Company takes your contributions seriously

      Cons

      None as such everyone enjoys here

      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work at!

      Aug 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I miss the days working at the Mill Valley office. People are nice. Leadership is transparent.

      Cons

      not data driven; hard to grow a career here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Internal Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for leaving a review! I'm glad to read your experience has been great overall. Our Mill Valley HQ gave us lots of amazing memories, but we're excited about the opportunities that a brand-new office space in the heart of San Francisco offers. If you haven't had the chance, I hope you'll stop in to see it! Regarding your feedback about career growth, I will pass your feedback along to our Career Development team, who are working to enhance and redesign how we think about long-term career growth at Glassdoor. - Mark Batke, Internal Employer Brand Manager

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Experience

      Aug 8, 2022 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Support and growth opportunities.

      Cons

      Not a lot of benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Intern Program Manager

      Thank you for submitting your feedback on your experience as an Intern at Glassdoor! It was great to hear that you are supported and have growth opportunities during your experience with the Internship Program. Thank you again for taking the time to submit your review and we hope you have a great rest of the summer! - Danny Cao, Intern Program Manager

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work. Love it here so far

      Jul 22, 2022 - Front End Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They care about you as a person, unlimited PTO, no egos, people are always willing to help out, low stress, work from anywhere policy

      Cons

      None really. It’s been great

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      After three years at Glassdoor

      Jul 11, 2022 - Systems Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a worthwhile place to work the first two years I was there.

      Cons

      n.b. In keeping with Glassdoor's Community Guidelines, I will not use proper names or specific titles to identify individuals I worked for Glassdoor for just over three years. During my first two years, even with all the upheaval the pandemic brought, I enjoyed working for the company. My first two years at Glassdoor lived up to the company's mission of helping people find a job they love at a place they love. I left the company for three reasons: • IT Upper management, specifically director and above • Uncertainty about Glassdoor remaining an independent entity • Workload The last issue, workload, was one that was an issue almost my entire time at Glassdoor. Yes, it was tasking to be expected to keep up a demanding pace of project after project with no time set aside for foundation building or even just to catch your breath. Yes, I believed during my entire time with the company that IT was never fully staffed, especially for the numerous things we were expected to accomplish. But these are not uncommon in IT, and I largely made a peace with it over time. If workload was the only fault of working for Glassdoor I would not have left. This was a contributing factor though, and one that became more grating over time because of the next two reasons. Glassdoor and Indeed are sister companies, both of which are owned by Recruit Holdings. Since the summer of 2020, whole functions and the staff who do them have been moved over to Indeed from Glassdoor by Recruit. When broaching the subject with management, we were told, “No, Glassdoor is not merging with Indeed” but it is hard not to look at the consolidation and not think it could happen to you someday; it was a looming threat. As this consolidation only began happening after Glassdoor cut a third of it's workforce in Spring of 2020, it was hard to be at ease with the state of the company. The primary reason I left Glassdoor was I no longer could work for IT upper management. I worked under the current upper management team for five to 12 months, depending on when each individual started with Glassdoor. After working for their department for this period of time, I concluded that I could not continue to work for an IT organization they were responsible for managing. They are the bosses and get to make the decisions, but I could opt to leave and I did. During my first two years with Glassdoor, I worked under a different management team comprised of an IT Director (who was “detailed” to Indeed for a special project and had not yet returned to Glassdoor by time I had left) and CIO (who was moved over to Indeed in 2021 and never came back, even though they spent a year pretending like he was still involved with Glassdoor) who often, I felt, managed by various forms of chaos. Yes, it could be frustrating at times, but it was workable. With these two individuals, I felt they would at least listen to my or my team's arguments and we could come to an agreement eventually. The team, IT Engineering, would eventually be allowed to do the work in the way we felt best as long as we accomplished the same end goal. With the newer IT upper management, there was seemingly no trust in the staff. Current IT upper management would repeatedly second guess efforts — not just on the larger roadmap things you would expect management to be involved with — but down to specific operational details like date and times announcements would go out or shifting around launch dates at the last minute. Communication within the department was fractured by their actions. They simultaneously balked at participating in regular IT day-to-day discussions and practices and attempted to control and maintain discipline over any communication happening within and coming out of IT. This could be taken as just a difference in personalities, but I felt it did a lot of damage to the feeling of “unit cohesion” IT staff and IT management had previously had. Current IT upper management compounded matters with their constant refrain of “we can outsource that”. AV, networking, systems administration — there was not a function of IT that they seemingly felt they could not ship out. Rather than hiring into the company, building on and fostering the team, they wanted to take functionality away. Of the few projects we tried outsourcing with, the IT Engineering team likely ended up spending more time on administration and cleanup than if we had just performed the work ourselves. Hiring specialists has it's place and can be useful, but this was something different. It also contributed to the belief they did not have trust in the staff. More so than the communication breakdown or the impression the team was being undermined by lack of support, I was most shocked by how they treated my team's manager. Brought in to be the Senior IT Manager, overseeing both IT Support (aka Help Desk) and IT Engineering, she started just a few weeks before current IT upper management but fit in so well it was like she had been there for years. Our manager exhibited Glassdoor's values of grit, transparency and just being a good person. She listened to her team and really considered our feedback. When needed, she told us to stop arguing and just get things done as asked. As a team, we never felt like she was telling us one thing and then turning around and telling someone else in the company something else. The Senior IT Manager was a real mensch. For whatever their reasons, current IT upper management actively worked to make life within Glassdoor uncomfortable for the Senior IT Manager. Everyone on the team detected the palpable dislike they had for the Senior IT Manager. It would show up in interactions during in-person meetings or offhand comments in email or Zoom calls. I personally had never seen upper level executives treat someone below them in the organization in such a petty manner. I felt it was unfair to the Senior IT Manager. I also could not escape the feeling that if they could do it to her, someone in management, what would stop them from doing it to the rest of us further down the line? If you spoke up or questioned them, why couldn't you be the next target? The IT Engineering team brought up all these matters and others with HR as part of our 360 review of current IT upper management in February. There was no meaningful response from the company or current IT upper management. I never felt unappreciated for the work I did at Glassdoor. I was well compensated and received bonuses, and I even received a SMASHIE, Glassdoor's equivalent of “one of the employees of the year” award, in 2021. The team I worked with was nothing but the best. I opted to leave because I did not want to work for this upper management team at a company with such an unset future.

      17 people found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Head of IT and Security

      Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. I appreciate the thought and detail you put into the review. Let me address your points one by one. Glassdoor’s Go-To-Market partnership with Indeed has led to significant business growth and enabled Glassdoor to invest in a differentiated strategy to support our vision of radical transparency. We value our operational independence because it helps us deliver on our strategy and allows us to opportunistically work with Indeed when both companies’ strategies are aligned. IT leadership strives to align our team’s efforts with the initiatives that support Glassdoor's mission, vision, and strategy. While competing priorities are often a challenge, we strive to balance the needs of the business with our resource level and create opportunities for growth and development across the team through our quarterly planning efforts and discussions about options with the team . Supporting our team’s career development and advancement is one of the pillars of our people strategy. We are happy when our talented team can pursue roles that align with their career ambition. We recognize there have been changes in the leadership across the team and are putting more focus on cultivating an inclusive culture that embodies Glassdoor values of transparency, innovation, GRIT and good people. Thank you again for sharing your perspective and your contribution to Glassdoor’s success during your time here. – Jun Chen, Head of IT and Security

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Glassdoor leads with transparency!

      Jul 12, 2022 - Senior Customer Success Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I genuinely enjoy my day-to-day job & coworkers - Glassdoor really encourages feedback. Taking it a step further, Glassdoor implements change directly from that feedback. I have never seen a company action feedback as quickly as Glassdoor! - Leadership cares about its employees & embodies transparency - The culture has remained strong even in a virtual world. The commitment to continuous D&I efforts is another strong pro of the company. - Good overall benefits package including unlimited PTO & monthly company holidays - I also appreciate how the company has responded to recent newsworthy events in support of our employees. It truly means a lot to me in turbulent times

      Cons

      - There can be delays due to internal system errors from time to time which can make tasks tedious at times - The partnership with Indeed has had growing pains, but I will say it seems that further integration will help ease some of that frustration

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Interim Head of CS

      Thank you for sharing your perspective as a Sr. CSM at Glassdoor! One thing that really sticks out to me is your experience with seeing that your feedback is not only heard, but actioned on. This means a lot as we do our best to listen through a variety of forums such as our bi-annual employee engagement survey, upward feedback, pulse check surveys, Fishbowl, etc. I'm also glad to hear you are experiencing a strong and positive culture despite being remote. This is not easy to do, so it's up to each of us to try new things, give feedback, and not settle for the status quo! As for what you've shared on challenges, we've definitely heard this around systems and admin linked to our partnership. Agreed that we are making progress with integrations and this will remain a focus on how we can minimize the pains here. Finally, I think what you share about growth paths for experienced CSMs is spot on as our CSM team has become more tenured in the past couple years. It's top of mind for our CSM leaders as we clarify competencies and differences in roles and levels, and ensure that our most senior team members feel they can continue to grow and expand their role. Thanks for sharing and being a part of the CS team! - Kira Dewey, Interim Head of CS

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 841 Reviews

    Glassdoor Reviews FAQs

    Glassdoor has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 920 reviews left anonymously by employees. 82% of employees would recommend working at Glassdoor to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Glassdoor employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Glassdoor. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

    82% of Glassdoor employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Glassdoor 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Glassdoor to be senior leadership, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management.

    Popular Careers with Glassdoor Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Glassdoor? Share Your Experiences