Glassdoor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Glassdoor Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
443 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 65 reviews)

  • "flexibility with working from home when needed, and a culture of great people who love your children and embrace them as part of the Glassdoor family(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are growing pains as the company continues to evolve(in 41 reviews)

  • "The company has expanded into two buildings in Mill Valley(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (103)

    "4 years in and going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Glassdoor is the favorite company I've worked for so far in my career. First and foremost, the company has an amazing company culture. People are really good to one another here. While people are smart and driven, they also care about making sure that everyone works together well. Glassdoor is also having a lot of success as a company. Like any early stage company there are ups and downs, but over the 4 years... I've been here I've seen revenue triple and the employee base grow by a similar amount. And I love Glassdoor's mission and that we are creating transparency for job seekers all around the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    None really. It's worth saying that we have some big competitors (LinkedIn, Indeed) in our industry so you have to bring your A-game. But I believe in what we're doing and our results show we are having success.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on company culture even as we grow.

    Glassdoor2019-04-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Crazy amazing people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Now for an organisation running the show ,it is inevitable to have a backend and a frontend. This organisation's backend is sound proof and knows how to manage their downtime.

    Cons

    You don't wanna learn , not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stay amazing!

    Glassdoor2018-01-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful Internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor

    Pros

    Open organization flexible timings. Company takes your contributions seriously

    Cons

    None as such everyone enjoys here

    Glassdoor2017-03-26
  4. Helpful (17)

    "A critical inflection point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits program, casual office, free snacks, tons of events and happy hours. Great existing product that works really well, and some of the best people you'll ever work with.

    Cons

    Glassdoor is in the critical stages of post-startup mode. The acquisition by Recruit Holdings was supposed to provide the financial backing and fuel needed to accelerate the already high growth the company was experiencing. Instead it's left the organization in a sea of turnover (particularly in leadership) and left boots on the ground employees with far more questions than answers. For a company who's entire... existence is centered around employer transparency, internal communications are impressively opaque. Changes continue to be communicated last minute and fundamental business issues go months without any updates from leadership. As someone on the sales team, the 4 departments that support sales efforts (being Marketing, Product, Sales Operations, and Sales Enablement) are all woefully incompetent and mismanaged. Marketing has no idea how to string together grammatically correct sentences, let alone educate employers on our unique value proposition. Product has finally pushed forward 1 meaningful update to the solution that we can sell, the first in the nearly 19 months I worked here. I legitimately have no idea what they do all day. Sales Operations is constantly understaffed and stuck under inefficient manual processes that keep them constantly behind on their caseload while basic pieces of our Salesforce instance fail to work properly. Sales Enablement is either spending their time running trainings that are either totally redundant or of little value, or they are doing seemingly nothing at all. We went more than 9 months as a team without a single training run by Enablement until they were finally able to scrape together enough budget to bring in an outside sales trainer for 1 day. Meanwhile, the company is struggling to maintain sales volume and seems to have no answer to this problem. Most managers are still running 1 on 1 meetings with their direct reports that have little substance. Very little is going on in terms of coaching and development, just a lot of people relying on the same old strategies that no longer work. As a result, a lot of their best employees have left the company for greener pastures.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Glassdoor has an awesome mission, a great product, and a great culture. But if you don't start investing more in your employees and leadership and find ways to stop regrettable turnover, you'll lose your opportunity to become just as essential as your major competitors (and sister company) are to employers and job seekers.

    Glassdoor2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow your career, interested to see what's next..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I spent a large chunk of years growing my career at Glassdoor. From the start my colleagues became fast friends, mentors, and long lasting relationships. It was (and still is) super easy to find a manager who will invest in you, or a dedicated mentor, or a leader from another department that will help you grow your career. Some of the best people leaders are at Glassdoor: intuitive, kind, understanding people, and... most who are leading responsibly, gently guiding reps to be consistent and dedicated to success. Career growth, especially in the beginning of my time was accessible in every way. There are more processes in place now, but if you have a strong reputation and work hard, it will get recognized. Leaders have always put my best interests and asks first, building trust and loyalty. If you have been burned by managers in the past, come here and gain a more positive experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    Glassdoor has become an interesting place in the last year. In Chicago, there is plenty of growth, excitement and proactive dedication to culture and unity. As employees move up in the organization, there is more and more flexibility to your schedule and process, especially in sales. This can be good/bad at the same time. At the Enterprise level, it was difficult to feel motivated to hold yourself to a higher... standard, to continue growing in your sales skills or trial out new processes, which may just be the stage the company is at. From an organizational perspective, in terms of trajectory, Glassdoor’s future seems fuzzy. I often found myself feeling like we are plateauing. Product hasn’t developed in years (truly), and senior leaders come and go, which can be difficult news to hear in the Bay Area specifically. Tenured employees, including leaders, seem checked out. Yet, I believe leadership recognizes this and are looking to step up their game, but need insight and outside resources to understand as to how to make a large culture shift like this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create a clear vision of the company's trajectory for employees with the move to SF. Keep retaining your great people, but grow in accountability, focused vision, and a cohesive culture.

    Glassdoor2019-10-09
  6. "Incredible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is an incredible place to work. Everybody is helpful, welcoming and makes you feel like you're part of a family. Huge room to grow your career. The products themselves are brilliant, and help people find jobs and companies that they love so you feel like your work has a great impact on everyone who uses Glassdoor. The company is relatively small compared to competitors. This allows for agile improvements to... respond to the market without having the bureaucracy of a large company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is nothing I can call out as being a negative!

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path you've laid out, things are working so well!

    Glassdoor2019-09-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    - great benefits (hours, PTO, insurance, parental leave policy) - amazing people, unlike any other. it's like working with all your close friends - fun office events - good sales tools to help you be successful

    Cons

    - pay is super below market - accounts are all ripped through, blasting the same people over and over - little to no training - distant from HQ, no interactions with senior leadership - cross functional teams all disconnected (sdr --> ae --> am)

    Advice to Management

    keep the culture the same as it was from beginning. be super open with communication and whats coming from top down. keep helping your workforce get better by hiring seasoned talent that can bring something new to the table

    Glassdoor2019-10-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, tough job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Virtually everyone in that office has a great sense of humor and makes it much easier to spend 40+ hours a week there. The sales floor is the most collaborative I have worked on - reps really go above and beyond to help their peers. That's largely due to excellent Sales Managers and Directors. However, when it's all said and done, Monday Moves is the lifeblood of this organization.

    Cons

    Most of the downsides to the role aren't exclusive to Glassdoor, Sales is just a hard job. That being said, reps can feel like they're on an island due to poor communication across departments. Customer Support/on-boarding is lacking for smaller clients, Sales Operations seems to be a department with two full time employees, and I was genuinely shocked to learn we even have a Marketing Department. To Glassdoor's... credit, the interdepartmental struggles have been a priority and I'm confident they'll continue to improve.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Glassdoor2019-10-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "My Experience at Glassdoor so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - free food, dogs on campus, serene location, reasonably understanding management

    Cons

    - work environment can be a little stressful at times - pms could come up with more creative problems to solve

    Advice to Management

    - need to whet people more in their hiring process - please provide housing for interns especially at Mill Valley

    Glassdoor2019-09-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, Uncertain Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding Senior Leadership, particularly in the Enterprise space. There are wonderful people in every part of the organization - the entire workforce is committed to the company's wonderful mission of connecting everyone with a job that they love. There is also incredible work/life balance.

    Cons

    Rapidly deteriorating internal processes - particularly Sales Ops along with some functions such as legal and finance - that ultimately inhibit sales rather than enable them. Some of these orgs are understaffed, too many of these processes exist in slack channels that aren't responsive. Strategically, there is too much of an emphasis on the Customer Success and Self Serve functions and not nearly enough focus on... further product development and innovation that will help sales land new logos and help account management grow existing business. Lastly, the LTIPS are not the least bit meaningful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Less focus on Self Serve - MUCH more on how to best enable Enterprise New Business & Account Management.

    Glassdoor2019-09-18
Found 531 reviews