Global Experience Specialists Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 20 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Global Experience Specialists President Steve W. Moster
Steve W. Moster
134 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits Career progression opportunities - GES love to promote from within Good work/life balance Great training opportunities Look after the wellbeing of staff

    Cons

    This question is not applicable

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "great people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people are great, amazing work-life balance,

    Cons

    organizational culture is essentially non-existant, smaller offices are forgotten about

    Continue reading

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    December 11, 2019Director Global Talent Management

    Thanks very much for the review and especially for the advice to management! We will continue to keep our focus on building our culture, as you suggest -- and will keep working to be sure every one no matter where they may "sit" feels included, at every opportunity!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting event management in toxic environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Exhibitor Services Coordinator in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can learn a lot about events industry

    Cons

    No work -life balance. With full-time 40 hours week contract, we ended up with 200-250h per month and expected to always work on 150%. This is due to hugh turnaround of people. My team changed three times during 1,5 year. They never have enough people or hire people who are not able to handle the job. So you always work for 2 people at least. Management is not nice at all and what you get for job well done and making milions of euros? Oh yes, sandwich as a reward.

    Continue reading
  4. "Career Potential"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Exhibitor Services in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, fun job, not micro-managed, good work/life balance, trusted to do your job well, independence, overall great company. I feel I can make my career here.

    Cons

    Long hours during shows, working with multiple temps who don't always work well, but can't always fill temp quota needed, low yearly raises.

    Continue reading

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    July 9, 2019Director Global Talent Management

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our people make us who we are, and we aim to celebrate that whenever we can. We agree that communication is the way to do that. We're working hard to ensure that the doors are open for all of our team members to communicate clearly with each other.

  5. "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    Some Very long hours and days

    Continue reading

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    April 8, 2019Director Global Talent Management

    It's awesome to hear such positive feedback! We truly value our employees and really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your experience during your time with us. We have a lot of work to do, but it's full speed ahead! A genuine thank you for the long days you put in and everything else you bring to the table while you are here. We wish you the absolute best and keep on doing great things!

  6. Helpful (2)

    "GES"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money and people were good.

    Cons

    Work life balance was awful.

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    August 6, 2018Director Global Talent Management

    When it comes to work/life balance, we thank you for your feedback. As an organization, we are committed to helping employees face the demands of juggling work, family and life-related issues by offering a number of possible flexible work schedules. These arrangements provide employees with increased flexibility with their work schedule while allowing the organization to maintain a progressive and productive work environment. You honest and candid feedback is appreciated and should you decide to come back to GES, I hope that your next experience reflects, that we have taken your feedback to heart.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Serious lack of vision and employees under valued"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people work here dynamic work environment (never boring!) good networking possibilities

    Cons

    difficult work-life balance lack of vision from upper management internal communication lacking sub par salary company doesn't show that they value their employees lack of organization and structure HR department not very present or proactive

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Operation Specialist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work many hours to make alot of overtime

    Cons

    No work life balance and good ole boy club

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    March 12, 2018Director Global Talent Management

    When it comes to work/life balance, we thank you for your feedback. As an organization, we are committed to helping employees face the demands of juggling work, family and life-related issues by offering a number of possible flexible work schedules. These arrangements provide employees with increased flexibility with their work schedule while allowing the organization to maintain a progressive and productive work environment. Thanks for this review. Our people team works tirelessly to make sure everyone has the best experience here , don’t be shy about providing feedback.

  9. "pretty good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer 

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    As a publicly trading company, decision making process is long.

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    March 12, 2018Director Global Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. We too agree we have lots of great people here throughout the organization that have a passion for what they do! We believe we have a lot to offer someone looking to work and grow in a challenging and fast paced environment. As sometimes may be the case, when companies grow there may be a few bumps in the road along the way. We appreciate you sharing your concerns regarding the environment in which you work, as our goal is to make this a great place to work for everyone.

  10. "Clique"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All right pay, good vacation time, good benefits

    Cons

    work/life balance during trade shows is pretty bad

    Continue reading

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    February 9, 2018Director Global Talent Management

    GES encourages career development for our current employees by providing training. Continuous Learning – We provide tuition reimbursement for professional development. We have a strong promote from within culture and provide many opportunities for our current employees to know of new job opportunities and the ability to take advantage of them.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 English Reviews