Global Experience Specialists Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 418 reviews

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Global Experience Specialists President Steve W. Moster
Steve W. Moster
173 Ratings
Pros
  • "This company is full of great people(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance during slow times, travel and sight seeing(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be extremely long hours without acknowledgement from the company(in 40 reviews)

  • "GES bases your raises off of your shows survey scores, but only for shows in your region(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Not a bad place to work

      Nov 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/life balance during slow times, travel and sight seeing

      Cons

      Work environment can a bit tedious. Feast or famine work schedule

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Senior Customer Service Manager

      Jul 18, 2021 - Event Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company; great people & teams

      Cons

      No work/life balance. Not enough back of house support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It was an alright experience.

      Apr 18, 2021 - Sales Operations Coordinator in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to learn a ton about the convention, tradeshow, and expo space of the events industry.

      Cons

      The pay does not equate to the amount of work and time needed to put it into a show. Work/life balance is bad. Very old-school office environment. The processes made to do perform the job are built for upper management to micro-manage your work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Feb 9, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team of People to work with

      Cons

      Work/Life Balance can be a struggle with long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Nov 17, 2019 - Manager in Coventry, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay and benefits Career progression opportunities - GES love to promote from within Good work/life balance Great training opportunities Look after the wellbeing of staff

      Cons

      This question is not applicable

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      great people

      Nov 20, 2019 - Finance Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      people are great, amazing work-life balance,

      Cons

      organizational culture is essentially non-existant, smaller offices are forgotten about

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Global Experience Specialists Response

      Director Global Talent Management

      Thanks very much for the review and especially for the advice to management! We will continue to keep our focus on building our culture, as you suggest -- and will keep working to be sure every one no matter where they may "sit" feels included, at every opportunity!

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Exciting event management in toxic environment

      Jul 22, 2019 - Exhibitor Services Coordinator in Amsterdam
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can learn a lot about events industry

      Cons

      No work -life balance. With full-time 40 hours week contract, we ended up with 200-250h per month and expected to always work on 150%. This is due to hugh turnaround of people. My team changed three times during 1,5 year. They never have enough people or hire people who are not able to handle the job. So you always work for 2 people at least. Management is not nice at all and what you get for job well done and making milions of euros? Oh yes, sandwich as a reward.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Career Potential

      Jun 6, 2019 - Exhibitor Services in Reno, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, fun job, not micro-managed, good work/life balance, trusted to do your job well, independence, overall great company. I feel I can make my career here.

      Cons

      Long hours during shows, working with multiple temps who don't always work well, but can't always fill temp quota needed, low yearly raises.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Global Experience Specialists Response

      Director Global Talent Management

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our people make us who we are, and we aim to celebrate that whenever we can. We agree that communication is the way to do that. We're working hard to ensure that the doors are open for all of our team members to communicate clearly with each other.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Okay

      Feb 27, 2019 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is good

      Cons

      Some Very long hours and days

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Global Experience Specialists Response

      Director Global Talent Management

      It's awesome to hear such positive feedback! We truly value our employees and really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your experience during your time with us. We have a lot of work to do, but it's full speed ahead! A genuine thank you for the long days you put in and everything else you bring to the table while you are here. We wish you the absolute best and keep on doing great things!

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      GES

      Jul 31, 2018 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money and people were good.

      Cons

      Work life balance was awful.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Global Experience Specialists Response

      Director Global Talent Management

      When it comes to work/life balance, we thank you for your feedback. As an organization, we are committed to helping employees face the demands of juggling work, family and life-related issues by offering a number of possible flexible work schedules. These arrangements provide employees with increased flexibility with their work schedule while allowing the organization to maintain a progressive and productive work environment. You honest and candid feedback is appreciated and should you decide to come back to GES, I hope that your next experience reflects, that we have taken your feedback to heart.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Global Experience Specialists Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Global Experience Specialists? Share Your Experiences

    Global Experience Specialists logo
    or