Grant Thornton UK LLP Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Grant Thornton UK LLP Director Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
1 Rating
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are great and everyone is really hard working, like the offices

    Cons

    Work long hours and therefore, balance is hard to achieve

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-03-26
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good technical skills and training

    Cons

    Large firm and loses the personal touch of some smaller firms

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-02-19
  3. "Variety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good variety of work, helpful colleagues.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for advancement at senior level.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-08-02
  4. "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Agile working, people, office space, structure,

    Cons

    Decision making - slow process

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-09-21
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great firm where I want to spend the rest of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, supportive colleagues, agile working, lots of autonomy and responsibility.

    Cons

    London and the regions very different businesses so vision and strategy doesn't always feel like it works for both

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-03-08
  6. "Working for Grant Thornton UK LLP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inclusive, ambitious and worthy vision. Strong values based culture - doing the right thing. Great people. Great clients. Flat hierarchy and approachable leadership. Exciting future.

    Cons

    The constraints of a regulated entity can sometimes frustrate the pace of innovation (we all recognise the rules are there for a purpose).

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-02-07
  7. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Grant Thornton is the people. The people have bought into the core values at GT and that makes the culture there quite strong. I think people for the most part are quite collaborative and its people are encouraged to share their view and work to make GT a better place to work.

    Cons

    While there seems t be a collaborative environment, at times it feels like to the different offices are only looking out fr themselves. It can at times feel like 20+ different firms rather than one because of different geographies and leadership in other offices. I also feel some of the initiatives that are rolled out, while well intentioned and ultimately good for the firm, are not handled properly through communication and implementation (whether its new software, training or internal policies). It often leads to great frustration and resistance to adoptin of new ideas.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-02-07
  8. "It all comes down to your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Grant Thornton really encourages you to bring your whole self to work. They really care for their people and will ecourage you to get involved in whatever you feel passionate about whether that be mentoring less fortunate individuals, cleaning up the river Thames or supporting co-workers with mental health issues.

    Cons

    Whilst Grant Thornton can be a fantastic place to work it does always come down to the team that you work in. Some teams are on board with supporting individuals but others less so

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-02-06
  9. "Should Ibecome an Advisor ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Grant Thornton have the right vision, that of a vibrant economy, they are looking to work with people prepared to open their mind and support like minded organisations look for gorwth

    Cons

    The business is on a journey, some way to go and will depend on each and everyone havign a clear vision

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-02-06
  10. "Current view of Grant Thornton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best things about working at Grant Thornton are: - flexibility and being able to plan your time around you and the trust that people give you to get the job done; - people are on the whole all approachable, very nice and are all working to deliver the best job; - if you push yourself and pro active you can climb the ranks quickly; and - work is interesting and two engagements are never the same.

    Cons

    Downsides include: - too much time spent by senior people on marketing a brand which whilst important should not become the number 1 priority. Due to this i often feel clients and bidding for known opportunities can become secondary to more 'fluffy' stuff which i sometime struggle to see the value add; - training our people. In some parts of the firm there is an expectation to "get it" and there needs to be recognition that some time is required to be spent developing people.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-29
Found 21 reviews