Grant Thornton UK LLP "flexible working" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
33 Ratings
  1. "Firm full of ambition with mixed results at delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Firm’s purpose is timely in current environment with negative attitudes towards business - to shape a vibrant economy through building trust and integrity in markets Flexible working Trust to complete your own work Positive supportive culture

    Cons

    Unstructured and good talent not accelerated through development Mediocrity accepted and not resolved No investment in systems or new products

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-02-11
  2. "Working at Grant Thornton in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with Forward thinking organisation Opportunities to develop and manage your own destiny Flexible working Good range of benefits Nice office space Strongly supports personal development and growth

    Cons

    Partnership model means complexity of culture

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-28
  3. "Life at Grant Thornton - I am very happy here and you can be too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Forward-looking and wonderful female CEO Excellent corporate culture Helpful and supportive partners Treats staff fairly Flexible working arrangements Good with staff with children Excellent client base Interesting and highly varied work High quality of outputs and deliverables Likeable firm Good cafeteria!

    Cons

    Pays a little less than Big4 but access to partners is much easier

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-25
  4. "Grant Thornton employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are fantastic opportunities to grow and develop your career at Grant Thornton. The business is growing and means that as individuals we can grow to as people and advisors. We talk a lot about 'unlocking the potential for growth' in our clients but were certainly do what we say, by trusting employees to act autonomously to get the work done and enhance your career. Using our flexible working environments and allow individuals to seek out new opportunities in their chosen field or in other areas within Grant Thornton. Grant Thornton is big enough to have a large corporate feel but small enough that you can get to know people on a personal level across a number of offices.

    Cons

    We have a large international presence - this is not as good as the big 4, and so I feel that at times to service our clients, as many will have international presence, we need to ensure we have identified the correct needs of our member firms.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-25
  5. "Great place to explore your future career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in career paths. I have seen many of my colleagues explore different career paths and the best thing is that the firm always seems to be very supportive of this. People can have flexible working patterns to fit around their personal lives and also have a varied career sampling a number of different services lines to find what fits best.

    Cons

    We are still learning what the new strategy means for us and the culture continues to shift in response. I hope we will all be living this sooner rather than later though.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-25
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about GT is the fantastic friendly and driven people. I love working in the recently refurbished offices in the city, and visits to the residential training centre in the countryside. I joined because the firm advocates a learning and coaching culture, and they haven't failed me on that. I have grown so much here. They were also very open to my ideas when I requested reduced hours and flexible working. I feel trusted, challenged and supported, and would recommend working here to others.

    Cons

    The culture can vary across the firm - some teams can feel very different to others, and do things in different ways. Its not always clear what the firms vision is or how we are helping the firm work towards it. Opportunities for recognition, promotion and reward are limited for non-fee earning staff.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Experience in London marketing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP

    Pros

    Excellent culture driven from CEO down Flexible working encouraged Partners all approachable and appreciate marketing support (not always case in professional services)

    Cons

    Poor senior management (marketing team) so staff don't know what's going on Progression seems to happen to a chosen few with hard work not recognised Salary below market rate; typical smoke and mirrors with salary increases at performance review time; no bonus

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-04-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People centred culture, encourages self development, flexible working, great relationships with clients and intermediaries. Friendly and approachable business leaders A wealth of sector experienced professionals

    Cons

    Whilst we can never do too much for our clients, sometimes our reporting is not concise or punchy enough - this is getting better though. Hours can sometimes be long to meet reporting deadlines, however, this is manageable and well recognised

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-03-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Development and Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We get to study the ACA qualification and will be exam-qualified within two years (provided we pass our finals as expected). There is a great focus on people with flexible working and good communication with line managers. Internal training and development is focal with a strong support network and the ability to ask questions to the central technical team.

    Cons

    Generally under-staffed, much more pressure is put on everybody to complete work to deadlines. Pay is a tricky topic and in audit, as I'm sure is the case with many other firms, people don't feel as though their pay reflects the work they are performing when they can find much better pay in industry or other departments/firms.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-03-20
  10. "Flexible working, Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP

    Pros

    Grant Thornton really supports its employees. Having experienced a recent, family emergency, I was fully supported throughout. I really like the fact that flexible working is offered and fully supported and I work with wonderful colleagues.

    Cons

    Our office doesn't yet offer lunchtime yoga classes (!) I jest. In my current role and position I cannot think of any cons.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-03-03
Found 34 reviews