Great Clips Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,523 of over 3K reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
629 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stylist can ask for coverage from other great clips salons if needed (bigger team)(in 201 reviews)

  • "I love the fast paced environment getting to do what I love each day(in 161 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Stylists don’t always play nice when I’m not at the shop(in 254 reviews)

  • "Haircuts have to be done Within 8-11minutes and the pay is low(in 160 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Staff

      28 May 2021 - Cleaner in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good behaviour good staff good place

      Cons

      There are no cons to write here for me

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for being a part of our GREAT community of stylists and managers!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Caution

      25 Nov 2020 - Ultrasound Tech 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide lunch break of 1 hour

      Cons

      they don't provide lunch to eat

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Im a catalyst

      7 Nov 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good news 5 words im happy

      Cons

      Bad performance work,workload pressure 5 words im not happy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good company to work

      15 Apr 2020 - Manager in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management with good supervisor to work with. Growth Helpful Potential Encourage

      Cons

      Have to. Travel a lot during work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. Great Clips salons are located in the United States and Canada.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Experience was great

      19 Jul 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here are very nice and the atmosphere here is very good, it is good to stay here

      Cons

      Yeah I'm ready to challenges

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great to work

      30 Nov 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job for fresher, good experience

      Cons

      Really no problem at all

      1 person found this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for having been a valued member of a GREAT team!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Family- feel Work Environment

      20 May 2021 - Hairstylist/Manager in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mirus LLC Franchise group with Great Clips for hair Create rewarding Career path for each individual employee based on personal willingness to commit and grow and thrive!!! I appreciate personalised incentives that give me a reason to continue to be great every day . I also appreciate being able to raise a family with flexibility. I really appreciate being able to raise a family and have fulfilling purpose with a professional career! A huge selling point For me is the ability to have the support structure I need to accumulate a great amount of Savings that Mike Owen (owner)pays into as a contribution towards my retirement and all full time employees!

      Cons

      Working for a Company like Great Clips, Forces you to be very in tune with your health and body!! We are incredibly busy salon group!! Our customer volume is unmatched... The work is very Constant and repetitive. It can take a toll on your body, you have to be very Conscientious about how you eat, wear great shoes, take at least 20min of allotted break time get plenty of rest drinking water, exercise stretch, and using vacation time that the company allows! These simple strategies prevent burnout and poor moral!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for being a part of our GREAT community of stylists and managers!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Honest

      6 Jun 2021 - Manager in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Our franchise is llopisusa, Easy to advance, not lazy people, about their money, in a 3 year span I've made 5 bonuses over $200 each and received a $4.75 raise from what I started at. Management are upfront and realistic on expectations and money/pay. No favoritism, education advancement. They have a salon system that works for everyone. Sometimes takes the management out to do something fun together. Can travel to other locations.

      Cons

      Understaffed, gm is very busy and forgets to do things, when understaffed you are expected to work 6 days a week and sometimes 10 hour shifts/open to close, doesn't do events to support the salon outside of work i.e no staff team building outside the salons. No family time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      We appreciate your feedback. Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your feedback. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com and we will forward it to your franchisee. Thank you.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      If you have a family or health issues this is not the place for you

      16 May 2021 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The tips are great. It's fast pasted work. Guaranteed paycheck even if there are no customers because of the hourly wage.

      Cons

      If you have a family do not plan on being able to attend any of their events in order to get hours you have to have open availability was full-time Flex. You also get a review every 90 days on your numbers and if you do not make your numbers you get a pay decrease and lose whatever raised you got a 90 days before so you never have a regular pay set hourly wage. You are expected to maintain a certain level and percentage of numbers in order to retain your raise and if you do not retain those numbers you do not get to keep your raise a causes hardship in a home when you are budgeted. I worked for the company for nine years I have currently had health issues and unable to work because my symptoms were also covid symptoms. After nine years of employment I was called over the phone and terminated. It's great money but it is a franchise they say they are family-based but it's all about the dollar bills to them. You will start feeling like a robot and feel like you work for a haircut mill.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Because each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your feedback. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com and we will forward it to your franchisee. Thank you.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's all about your owners

      2 May 2021 - Manager in Fort Walton Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No chemical services are offered and after being in full service for years it is a great break. Our owners care about their employees more than the bottom line. For example, during our layoff for Covid19 our owner called once a week to check on us. Unfortunately I came down with a severe case of Covid19 and have missed a ton of work my owners never missed a beat. They text and even though I am anxious to get back to my team and clients, my owners are not taking chances and giving me ample time to get better.

      Cons

      The hiring pool is dried up and although I have no. Complaints about the pay, I feel we loose alot of potential hires because we are hourly and explaining the extra pay can be quite cumbersome.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for being a part of our great community of stylists and managers!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,523 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Great Clips Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Great Clips? Share Your Experiences

    Great Clips logo
    or