Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Great Clips Reviews

Updated 24 March 2019
1,773 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
311 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "It is a fast paced environment with a guaranteed customer base" (in 125 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule decent tips short hours possible" (in 121 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 44 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (34)

    "It's gonna be GREAT!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL (US)
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Immediately begin making money, endless opportunity to grow in so many different ways: as a stylist, to further your career as more than just a stylist, as a person. There are so many reasons to be inspired by this campany: by fellow stylists that help and care that u achieve your goals, by the corporate side of the family that never stops working to better our day to day operations whether we see it or not, or by the corporate support that is always available with a helping hand. There is no doubt there is a place for anyone and everyone at a Great Clips

    Cons

    Inconsistencies between different franchisees.

    Advice to Management

    It can be extremely hard to keep the dream in sight, day to day you can lose motivation to achieve the goals or personal dreams. But never forget why you chose to become a manager, strive to excellence, and never give up on yourself or salon in the end it will be worth it and your lasting team will be grateful for it.

    Great Clips Response

    3 Oct 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Great job for fresher, good experience

    Cons

    Really no problem at all

    Great Clips Response

    1 Dec 2017

    Thank you for having been a valued member of a GREAT team!

  3. "Here to make money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist
    Current Employee - Stylist

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Busy salon with steady clientele. Lots of tips $$

    Cons

    Hours can be long and hectic

    Advice to Management

    Need more staff!

    Great Clips Response

    24 Mar 2019

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and comments!!!


  4. "Great place to start and to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Caledonia, MI (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Caledonia, MI (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Plenty of customers provided and our locations customers are all pretty laid back and nice,very few grumps. this is most important to me.
    Awesome no drama team of coworkers
    Don't have to share tips
    Consistent education, an easy to follow cutting system that remains flexible to fit you. -this was awesome when i was first starting out
    Paid education, they continue to provide education on new trends and tricks.
    Easily attainable bonuses for all staff and guidance to help you reach them.
    Paid holidays/holidays off
    Flexible schedule.
    Shorter weekend hours than weekday(we close at 5&6 sat/sun).
    Always room for career advancement.

    Cons

    open on weekends and holiday weekends, we still get out earlier on weekends and usually the day before major holidays hours are limited tho :)
    Currently effected by the apparently national shortage of stylists. once we hire even just 1 more it'l be smooth sailing again.


  5. "Hair Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair in Guelph, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Hair in Guelph, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Environment, Base Salary + Productivity + Sales Bonus + Tips

    Cons

    flexible shifts, weekends (more tips though)

    Advice to Management

    expand

    Great Clips Response

    23 Mar 2019

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!!!


  6. "Wonderful company and Great Franchise owners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Byron Center, MI (US)
    Current Employee - General Manager in Byron Center, MI (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    great bonuses, part of the family, advance education and training, customers are great and love my job, clientele, no buying backbar products.

    Cons

    Shortness of stylist, need more in the field

    Great Clips Response

    22 Mar 2019

    We appreciate your feedback and comments! Thank you for sharing your experience.


  7. "Great Team, Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Tucson, AZ (US)
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Tucson, AZ (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Busy salon which gives lots of experience, excellent tips, production and commission

    Cons

    New stylist's can end up with less or unpopular shifts because they don't produce fast enough.

    Great Clips Response

    22 Mar 2019

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team!

  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Pittsburgh, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Stylist in Pittsburgh, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great culture and values. I find it to be very fulfilling.

    Cons

    No downsides. I really enjoy it.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advise.

    Great Clips Response

    22 Mar 2019

    Thank you for being a part of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  9. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Tucson, AZ (US)
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Tucson, AZ (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Advancement Opportunities
    Ability to make more than industry standards
    Company develops stylists and managers

    Cons

    High burn out
    To make above average pay stylists must work harder and sacrifice family and personal life

    Advice to Management

    Higher base pay will attract/keep seasoned stylists


  10. Helpful (2)

    "It's Gonna Be Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Weston, WI (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Weston, WI (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I've worked for Great Clips for the last 7 years and they have invested time and money in order to train me to be the best possible manager! They offer hundreds of continuing education courses for their stylists, from haircut trends to efficiency training. Great Clips helped for me in to the stylist and manager that I am today.

    Cons

    Open a lot of hours and short staffed, can be very busy and stressful. However, when it's busy you can make a TON of money! Very lucrative career.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your team as you would like to be treated. We are there to guide and teach, not control and berate.

    Great Clips Response

    14 Mar 2019

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day! Thank you.