Greene King Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Greene King Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 561 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Greene King CEO Rooney Anand
Rooney Anand
233 Ratings
Pros
  • "Left to run my pub as if my own business(in 41 reviews)

  • "Excellent staff discount and caring management(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours but it’s how you manage your time(in 56 reviews)

  • "Now they are changing it to monthly pay which is a reason why I wouldn't go back there and would probably work at another pub that paid weekly(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoying it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Invest a lot of time and money in training management

    Cons

    Long hours and stressful at times

    Greene King2019-07-20
  2. "Relaxed bar work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training promgram, accessible progression paths, flexible hours, strong management structure.

    Cons

    Sometimes long and unsociable hours are required of you due to nature of industry.

    Greene King2019-07-16
  3. "Reasonable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn/progress Large, successful company

    Cons

    Newer salaries quite low for demands of job. Very driven by labour costs which can make the day job difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Good leadership and financial skills will see you through and the rewards can be plentiful.

    Greene King2019-07-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Too Labour Conscious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training opportunities, recent investment in older sites

    Cons

    Strict budgets lead to under-staffing, micro-managed branding and little in the way of recognition

    Greene King2019-07-09
  5. "Busy..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Staff in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility on working hours. Dynamic work atmosphere.

    Cons

    You now have to pay for your food. the working hours are antisocial (pretty standard in this industry however...)

    Advice to Management

    Pub managers are doing a cracking job, more senior management needs to put less pressure on them, as some of them (not all of them) I dare say understand the business more than out of dat senior management.

    Greene King2019-07-08
  6. "Basic pub or bar working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Player 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time

    Pros

    Get to learn new skills

    Cons

    Zero hours contract, shifts often cancelled

    Advice to Management

    Regular shifts and guaranteed work

    Greene King2019-07-10
  7. "Great company all round"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Tender 

    I worked at Greene King full-time

    Pros

    Management very helpful and understanding, training was a big plus

    Cons

    Double shifts can be very long

    Greene King2019-06-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Don't look after employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Richmond, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Greene King part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great friendships were formed amongst

    Cons

    Unsustainable pay and terrible treatment of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with employees and treat them equally.

    Greene King2019-07-05
  9. "Fun company to work for if not for tolerance of bullying in some areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Bury St Edmunds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice location and great products

    Cons

    Tolerance of bullying too often

    Advice to Management

    Live by the values, not just have them written on the walls

    Greene King2019-06-20
  10. "Waitressing job whilst at school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Hatfield Peverel, England

    I worked at Greene King part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice family environment within the team i was working with

    Cons

    Long hours on a very poor wage

    Greene King2019-06-18
Found 561 reviews