Greene King "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Greene King Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Greene King CEO Nick Mackenzie (no image)
Nick Mackenzie
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Left to run my pub as if my own business(in 46 reviews)

  • "Staff discount at all GK managed pubs(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours unsociable working hours(in 78 reviews)

  • "In my pub too we had 4 manager changes within 9 months which demonstrates the lack of care about the pub higher management had(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working conditions, great training

    Cons

    Long hours and occasionally to much emphasis on the balance sheet!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on putting people first

    Greene King2020-01-08
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team Lots of routes to progression Flexible hours

    Cons

    Long hours Stressful environment at times Confusing bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really

    Greene King2020-01-04
  3. "No support whatsoever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff are great. Good benefits

    Cons

    Constantly short staffed. No support from upper management. Long hours. No life/work balance

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting back on wages so we can actually do our jobs properly. Value your team. Stop sacking and replacing.

    Greene King2020-01-18
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BarMaid in Newcastle, England

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture within the teams

    Cons

    Long hours on week ends

    Greene King2019-11-14
  5. "Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Passion way of life rewarding

    Cons

    Long hours unsociable working hours

    Advice to Management

    ??????

    Greene King2019-11-10
  6. "Worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your team can be great

    Cons

    Long hours, poor pay, constant moving of the goal posts, High stress, bad upper/senior management.

    Advice to Management

    Read all the reviews from employees online, and actually take not

    Greene King2019-12-16
  7. "Fab to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    33% off when not working 25% friends and family 50% on shift

    Cons

    Long hours Unsociable hours sometimes

    Greene King2019-11-06
  8. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Accommodation, private health care and staff discount

    Cons

    No work life balance,long hours,non achievable bonuses, incompetent BDM. The list goes on and on

    Greene King2019-12-09
  9. "you Either love it or you hate it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Rotherham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good career pathways, good employee discount, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    LONG hours, minimal staff, poor management in most sectors of the company, no work/ life balance!

    Advice to Management

    Go in with your eyes open! This isn’t just a job, it’s a lifestyle.

    Greene King2019-10-18
  10. "Awful Management BEFORE Greene King bought Spirit pubs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off food when you're on shift

    Cons

    No-one available to talk to when your management is poor Zero hour contracts Long hours High staff turn over You're dispensable Management isn't accountable due to being 'friends' with higher ups

    Advice to Management

    Set up easy access for staff to talk to upper management about their General Managers.

    Greene King2019-10-28
Found 78 reviews