Grubhub Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Grubhub Sales Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
57%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO  Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
49 Ratings
  1. "Realistic and Honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Snacks, benefits, accepting and diverse community. Dress as you like, preferred pronouns accepted in work software. $30 food credit.

    Cons

    It’s difficult for me to actually and honestly look at the negatives of GrubHub because for the most part, I enjoyed my time here. My review is specifically for the Sales Role in Chandler, AZ. The office is new and has been through some massive growing pains. On the surface things are going in the right direction, but below the surface it’s obvious not much has changed. The chandler sales team—besides the few travelers—are given mostly picked over territories that the Chicago office and travelers have worked through. Your level of success in your territory relies much more on luck than actual selling skills and as the effects of putting restaurants on without permission trickle through each territory, a lot of calls are just listening to angry owner’s demand to be taken off GrubHub. While direct management seem to be fighting for their jobs just as hard as we were, upper management seems to be either dismissive or completely in denial. In a recent town hall, a question about the high turnover in sales was dismissed as only being a small number compared to the overall team. First of all, sales management is included in that number whereas sales reps are being fired. And not only were the numbers under reported, 7-10 people are fired from the chandler office every month. That’s like an entire team leaving every week. The motto of the office is “don’t get to know anyone too much, you don’t know how long they’ll be here.” The company seems to be tanking to the outside world under poor publicity and bad financials. Senior execs though refuse to address anything put positives and are spin masters. The whole “just sign up the non-patterned restaurants who we’ve already pissed off and grow at all costs” is NOT a strategy that ever works (Ex. WeWork.) To then, everything is peachy when under the surface negative publicity is handicapping even the best sales reps. A few weeks ago the entire chandler care team was laid off leaving the office a ghost town. This is not what makes people feel confident and secure in their career. There’s also absolutely no upward mobility especially in chandler. No career pathing. More proof of the churn and burn of the sales role turnover.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2020-02-17
  2. "The best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Aside from lasers, confetti, a live band and DJ at the holiday party and the cold brew on tap in the office -- leadership is very receptive and responsive to what makes a difference for employees. They ask for feedback and actually implement it. I've been very impressed with the overall support, training, and team. The company makes special effort to show employee appreciation and make this a fun place to work.

    Cons

    This isn't so much a con as a disclaimer - working for a tech company you need to be prepared for change, and then change again, and then more change. It's just the nature of the beast. So, if you need a very stable and consistent workflow, tech isn't your deal.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-12-26
  3. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, no weekends, a really relaxed place to work and good people to work with as well.

    Cons

    Going to Chicago for Training

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-12-23
  4. "Selling partnerships to restaurants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Location, Snacks galor, Weekly Lunch Credit to use on GRUBHUB, Flexible hours

    Cons

    Low Base salary but well worth it when you are here to sell as it is not too hard of a sell since we are helping restaurant owners make more money!

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-12-23
  5. "Delightful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is so laid back and fun. No one breathes down my neck and we are given autonomy to use our own creativity in order to sell. I feel valued. I made well over 6k in commissions my 3rd month! We never go hungry- they feed us

    Cons

    the pass off from sales to account adviser could be tightened up a bit-

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-12-20
  6. "Flexibility, Great pay and Benefits and Awesome Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Great pay and Benefits and Awesome Culture. They truly care about your career path and goals. They continue to build a culture you are proud to be apart of.

    Cons

    Like any sales job it quota driven and you as good as your last month. However, its like running your own business you gotta get up and get after it.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-12-20
  7. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treated like an adult, everyone is super nice, company gives back to children who don't eat, great benefits and pay structure.

    Cons

    cant think of any cons

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-12-19
  8. "Great People, hampered by US who hold the pursestrings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    Culture, staff, UK mgmt and salary

    Cons

    Old product, no marketing

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-10-22
  9. Helpful (7)

    "High turnover - Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None literally place is a joke

    Cons

    Highest turnover I have ever seen in a company in my life They want you to sign up 12 restaurants a month and claim you get around $300 each restaurant you sign up. Heres the catch: they put you in some random small town in the middle of nowhere with no restaurants, or an area that most places are already signed up. You are just calling places that don't even speak English and YELL at you and tell you never to call again. Another catch: in order to get your $300 per place you sign up THEY the restaurant have to stay active for 3 months on the Grubhub app. Then you get paid. And the restaurant always wants to back out and cancel before and they tell you to LIE to them and say oh it takes 3 months for people to start to really come through on our app. Which is another lie. It's super shady. All they want you to do is lie to peoples HARD EARNED MONEY AND BUSINESS to get a sale. It's disgusting. They also pay you around $30,000 a year. They say oh you can get all this extra money and make $60,000-$80,000 a year if you sign up all these restaurants. But they have to stay active for 3 months, BUT you get fired within 3-4 months not even if you don't hit your quota which people never do. So they get away with paying people 30K a year to get new places signed up. So it's a smart system for them and cheap labor.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    opportunity to travel, commission is extremely high for an entry level sales role (if you work hard for it), some company outings, casual work attire

    Cons

    zero communication between departments, no one from the sales department is included in decisions that affect sales, too many projects are launched before they are ready, no work life balance

    Grubhub2019-09-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 74 reviews