Guidepoint Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 378 reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Guidepoint CEO Albert Sebag
Albert Sebag
171 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment, Competitive salaries, Teamwork(in 27 reviews)

  • "Highly recommend Guidepoint to anyone who wants to join the client service team in Hong Kong(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You will learn very little at Guidepoint(in 29 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance can be difficult across the industry(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Its OK

      Nov 9, 2021 - Project Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great company culture and fun environment

      Cons

      mundane, long hours that doesn't match the pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Eh

      Oct 21, 2021 - Client Service Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fairly easy to get job, cool coworkers

      Cons

      Long hours that don't justify the salary Repetitive work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Project Manager at Guidepoint Global

      Sep 13, 2021 - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission for every call unit booked.

      Cons

      Very very long hours expected.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good first job

      Feb 10, 2021 - Associate in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Location is great on Regent Street. Flexible working post Covid with everyone working from home when I left. Everyone is always helpful and willing to support. A culture of asking questions is encouraged and everyone supports each other. I felt confident in approaching my peers and senior management such as Team Leads and VPs whenever I needed them. A very supportive culture. Lots of company initiatives such as weekly yoga and meditation, generous company events pre-lockdown, free Deliveroo for working late. Good starting salary with strong commission if you perform well. The company mostly promotes from within for senior positions so if you are performing it seems they will reward you. Can be used as a stepping stone into other industries as you are exposed to virtually every industry you can think of. It is great as a first job and you also get to use your languages skill so they don't go rusty.

      Cons

      High salary is a blessing and a curse as you don’t learn many hard skills. It's mostly communication (oral and written) and improving your confidence / languages. The nature of the job as an Associate means the role can get repetitive. There can be long hours due to some experts being in the US.

      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      ok not great

      Jan 6, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      colleagues are big plus here

      Cons

      mundane, no career growth, sometimes long hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not Great

      Feb 12, 2020 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Guidepoint is a Young company

      Cons

      Lot of Favortism, Long hours

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Sad excuse for a company

      Oct 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free beer on Fridays? Casual dress? That’s pretty much it.

      Cons

      DO NOT APPLY HERE. This company has absolutely no semblance of reason and common sense. To put it shortly: this place is a joke. Any positive reviews on this page were likely written by upper management. I spent about a year at Guidepoint. I have never felt as underappreciated, undermined, and micromanaged as I did here. I was drained (emotionally and physically) from the long hours of mundane, mindless work. I questioned my worth everyday and regretted my decision to join the company immensely. As a Client Service Associate or "Research Analyst" (as they called it before), your day-to-day consists of stalking people on LinkedIn and badgering them until they agree to join the Guidepoint advisor network. You will spend hours on end copy/pasting emails + repeating the same, deceptive script to industry professionals over the phone. To make things worse, the company asks you to use your own, personal LinkedIn account to reach out to these people... which can certainly hurt you if you ever decide to apply for a job at one of the companies that you SPAMMED during your time at Guidepoint. You do all of this in the hopes that your client (who you have absolutely no direct contact with as a CSA) will select the lead you brought in for a phone consultation. Also, GUESS WHAT: the entire company then gets to see how "well" you performed at the end of each week in a lame email from one of the VPs :) :) This place is incredibly fratty and unprofessional. VPs walk around cursing and spewing inappropriate jokes. The CEO does not acknowledge you unless you're consistently "performing well." People are fired for ridiculous reasons and you're constantly walking on eggshells. Most people end up leaving after a year: those who make it to Team Lead and VP positions are certainly not people to look up to. If you're looking to use your brain: do not apply here. If you're looking to be surrounded by professional people and potential mentors: do not apply here. If you're looking to be fairly compensated for your work: do not apply here. If you're looking to develop yourself professionally: do not apply here. If you're looking to work decent hours and be allowed to have a lunch break: do not apply here. If you're looking for a place with great people: do not apply here. If you're looking to be happy: do not apply here. I will say, however, If you're ONLY looking for free beer on Fridays and the occasional company happy hour: this is the place for you. Recent grads: if you're desperate for a job, KEEP LOOKING. DO NOT STOP HERE. I promise you it is not worth the disaster that is working at Guidepoint. Do not feel discouraged. Look for a job that will stimulate you and allow you to develop your skill set and use your brain. You worked WAY too hard in college to settle for a job here! It's not worth it! You will spend your entire time at Guidepoint looking for a way out. If you're REALLY desperate for a job, I heard Guidepoint's expert network firm competitors at least have some respect for their employees. Look elsewhere and listen to these Glassdoor reviews. To my former coworkers looking to leave Guidepoint: Do it! It is completely worth it. Your happiness is more important than it all and you WILL find something rewarding. You WILL find a company that values you and challenges your intellectual capabilities. Do not fall for this trap. You are better than Guidepoint will ever be.

      Continue reading
      48 people found this review helpful

      Guidepoint Response

      Guidepoint Team

      Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate learning about your particular experience and are invested in ensuring a positive work experience at Guidepoint. We recognize that certain elements of the entry-level Research Analyst/Client Service Associate position can be repetitive, and often find that repetition early in the role is a great way to learn and refine skills needed for success. To ensure there are no miscommunications from the start, we explain our roles in detail throughout the hiring and interview process, which involves an example of the day-to-day in a particular role. We offer a competitive salary and benefits package—which are both fully transparent before and after the hiring process—in addition to office perks and a casual work environment. No matter the company, every job will sometimes include some extra hours based on client needs, but on the whole, most staff are working 40-hour weeks. Even though we’re committed to our people, turnover is a natural event that all companies experience. Please email us at feedback@guidepoint.com should you wish to continue the conversation about your experience. Best of luck to you in your future professional endeavors.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      "expert network recruiter" should be the job title, AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE

      Jan 25, 2017 - Research Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some very nice co-workers that you can meet here.

      Cons

      I gave this company one star only because I was unable to leave the space blank! This position is nothing like what is described, you spend the day doing mindless tasks that require no education or skills. You will leave this company having taken a tremendous amount of steps backwards from almost anyone else in your graduating class that has gotten a job. My advice would be to find another position or pursue an MBA or another higher degree. There is no real advancement, I worked for a short time and spent time speaking with people that worked there for years and they have not made any real improvement to their professional careers. The atmosphere here is toxic, and you are expected to work long hours, you are not encouraged to step away from your desk for more than 20 minutes (even for lunch), and spend the day slaving away in front of a computer professionally stalking individuals and soliciting them. There is ABSOLUTELY no research involved in this, and be aware that the "mock" they give you is in no way a reflection of what your day to day tasks will be. The only positive times in this company will be the first few hours you enter as you'll be excited for a new position, and the day you finally leave! Micro management is constant, with management breathing over your neck and constantly trying to "help you" by telling you contradicting ways to get in contact with people.. I swear it sounds like they make it up as they go, and if you have a good memory you can simply repeat a previous instruction they gave you and watch as they say that whosoever gave you those instructions is wrong. There is absolutely NO career development, and you practically will learn nothing unless you intend to remain in the expert network industry and simply go on to a competitor that might pay slightly more for you to do the same mundane, and mind numbing tasks day to day. Pay no attention to anything written here with positive reviews as they most certainly come from management, in fact I can recognize one of them as belonging to my past manager based on the way it is written. You are underpaid, not given overtime even though they expect you at times to work 10+ extra hours per week, and benefits and the bonus are terrible. Any company that takes out such a tremendous amount of time to create such misleading job titles and descriptions, and is openly ok with employees constantly leaving by the scores is not a place to be. The turnover is massive, and I once heard my manager say to someone that the company is in a healthy position because they are constantly hiring.. NO! They are constantly hiring because anyone with even the slightest inclination to have a strong career would not spend more than a day at this place. Guidepoint is the type of company that its only worth is that it shows you all the things to always avoid when looking for employment, it is truly a horrid place to work and be associated with, and in terms of management, you will meet some of the absolute worst professionals that you could ever imagine.. rude, ill-mannered, ignorant, narrow-minded, and in my case immature and delusional. Initially, you will see that there are many well educated people, with degrees from impressive universities here, but you will notice soon that they are all either trying to leave, are scared to leave due to financial uncertainties, or must have hired someone to take their SAT's for them, because no educated person could bare staying in this place for more than a day. I wish I had followed my gut instinct and left after the first day, and saved myself the trouble of having to explain this job to my new employers. This is not a stepping stone and the company should be avoided at all costs. My advice is to find somewhere else, and only consider if this is YOUR LAST OPTION, although if so was the case I would first check to see if Mcdonalds was hiring, this place is absolute rubbish.

      Continue reading
      37 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Research Analyst

      Nov 30, 2016 - Research Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun atmosphere, smart coworkers, good commission plan, events, interesting projects

      Cons

      long hours & work/life balance if you don't manage time well....not many cons

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Thankless. Stressful. Unhealthy.

      Mar 21, 2014 - Research Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      close to grand central. odd comradery between employees because everyone is equally miserable. friendly and intelligent colleagues.

      Cons

      Guidepoint is a thankless, stressful and unhealthy environment to work in. The Research Analyst/Project Manager/whatever-management-has-spent-too-much-time-and-resources-on-deciding-what-to-call-it-this-week position sounds appealing but it's the job of HR to write ads that seem that way when in reality it is not at all. The lack of structure, management and support in this company is simply astonishing. low base salary. no chance for career development. long hours both in and out of the office (i-banking hours for a McDonald's job). a sales team that provides no support once an account is secured/doesn't even understand what it is that the company actually does (shouldn't they know what it is that they're selling?). strong emphasis on face-time. no flexibility to work remotely for any reason.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Guidepoint Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Guidepoint? Share Your Experiences

    Guidepoint logo
    or