HDR Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

HDR Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
HDR CEO Eric L. Keen (no image)
Eric L. Keen
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Truly employee owned with ability to purchase shares that have been steadily increasing in value(in 78 reviews)

  • "Really great people to work with(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer 

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of great people with work sharing culture

    Cons

    Pay is not that great

    HDR2019-11-12
  2. "Relaxed and well structured environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at HDR

    Pros

    Employee owned and good corporate structure for promotion. Good benefits

    Cons

    Corporate and impersonal environment missing a family feel

    HDR2019-11-04
  3. "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment; Great Intern development

    Cons

    There is no cons.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    HDR2019-10-27
  4. "Good work-life balance, medium career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HDR

    Pros

    Working atmosphere is really good. Office culture is sharing and not very competitive for a junior position. Amazing work life balance as an architect.

    Cons

    Projects are not very exciting. Conventional in terms of approach and personal growth.

    HDR2019-10-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Greatest Place I've Ever Worked At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked here for about a year and I have no compliants. This is the best company I have ever worked for. The benefits are great with affordable health care packages both traditional or high deductible. Standard PTO time although I wish they broke it out between vacation and sick leave. This place really values and cares about their employees. Upper management seems really in tune with the work and issues of... their teams. Sometimes off hours are required, but they provide a great work life balance and flexible scheduling.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time.

    Advice to Management

    More guidance on career progression for those not in typical architecture or engineering roles.

    HDR2019-10-09
  6. "Accounting is the red headed step child"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Accountant in Tampa, FL

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Owned Location Good Company as a whole - not office specific

    Cons

    Office Specific: High school type drama Micro management Old mindset in upper management Old stigmas seem to stick Favoritism towards long time employees

    Advice to Management

    Used to enjoy my job, atmosphere turned volatile. Wants to sweep issues under the rug and look at situations through bias glasses. Not overly impressed with how corporate HR and Tampa upper management dropped the ball on multiple occasions.

    HDR2019-10-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "No communication, lack of leadership in Raleigh area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great downtown location, benefits are on par with industry standard with cost sharing medical benefits, employee ownership options within 401K, lots of programs for employees to participate in (Young Professionals, Mentorship Program, etc.), large company with ability to transfer if supervisor approves

    Cons

    Office culture is cutthroat, poor communication from management, high cost for parking, no room for advancement due to existing office politics, management lacks ability to be forthright and honest, peers are looking to undercut each other for advancement, will not easily or quickly accommodate needs of employees regarding disabilities/medical needs (such as standing desks, chairs, etc.).

    Advice to Management

    Be honest to your employees when they approach you.

    HDR2019-10-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A really good large company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clients of all kinds so projects are very different which keeps things exciting

    Cons

    All the cons that come with a large company. Red tape to get anything that costs the company money even if the benefit is very apparent. Workflow standardization is a nightmare.

    Advice to Management

    So large I don't even have a clue what to suggest other than upper management should be looking at standardization across the offices more closely and really get a team together of just average workers to weigh in on them.

    HDR2019-09-12
  9. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HDR full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits,including available HSA .

    Cons

    Procedures need to be streamlined. If you're not an Engineer or Architect you are not valued or recognized.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that it takes All of us to be the great company that we are.

    HDR2019-09-27
  10. "Great office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee ownership, great environment, work life balance

    Cons

    no cons, love everything in office

    HDR2019-09-12
Found 557 reviews
</>Embed