HairClub Employee Reviews about "stylist"

Updated 6 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
HairClub President and CEO Mike Nassar
Mike Nassar
161 Ratings
Pros
  • "We get to help people feel more confident with themselves(in 29 reviews)

  • "Long term employees show that it’s a great company(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to not mind working Saturdays(in 28 reviews)

  • "Man agent speaking another language in with other stylist making you feel like there talking about you(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "stylist"

Return to all Reviews
  1. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "It's stressful and unprofessional"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HairClub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pto,holidays off, great stylist

    Cons

    Lack of management, always out of products ,never find a manager when you need help. Lack of communication from the front of the house to the stylist, always over booking you not giving you time to do your job, if your running behind and let them know they tell you well get a hold of the supervisor then you do then the supervisor says tell the front. So that puts you even further behind. The pay is horrible you make $15 hr when you start promised quarterly raises and that you make commissions. Wrong no raises the commissions is selling $1000 in products to get $10 the other commissions is selling laser and upgrading the clients to a new system which they won't because they are paying way too much for poor quality of hair. I been there 1yr and 6 months and had 3 managers. With this covid single parents are constantly asked when you coming back to full time we can only work with your schedule this mont then they extend to the next and they pressure you about it every week. Your not a valuable employee your just a body to fill the chair if your not a yes man your a problem and will get written up for anything. No life work balance its a horrible place to work for you are not valuable. And don't get paid enough to deal with the horrible smells from the system and the unhappy clients we have to lie to on why there hair isn't there or blame them because there hair sheading.

    Continue reading

    HairClub Response

    September 12, 2020President and CEO

    Sorry this wasn't the place for you. I think you left some details out and reported some of your information inaccurately. Good luck wherever the future takes you.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Greed Run by Top Paid Corporate Business"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HairClub full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free coffee, tea, sewer tasting water and a dirty microwave

    Cons

    Cliques, Overpaid Office Workers, There’s no moving up, No pay raises, They want you to sell overpriced adds and not get compensated, Stylist are the bread and butter and they are treated like low class citizens, Without hairstylist you have nothing! Instead of compensating someone in front of their computers sending memes invest in your hairstylist.

    Continue reading

    HairClub Response

    June 25, 2020President and CEO

    We appreciate our Stylists! They do amazing work! Why would you subject yourself to such a miserable place for 8-10 years? If you're still at the Company, let me help you. If you've moved on, Congratulations. I hope you find something that meets your needs.


  3. Helpful (4)

    "Stop Racism"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Houston, TX

    I worked at HairClub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All of the stylist, and are beautiful people. Kind, funny, and very friendly.

    Cons

    Stop the unsaid racist Culture.

    Continue reading

    HairClub Response

    March 21, 2020President and CEO

    Checking in from “up top”. Racism is a pretty strong word that we take very seriously. If you care or cared, it would be great to hear from you about this. Our stylists are the back-bone of our Company and highly regarding at all times. If anyone feels mistreated I’m here to fix it. I’m not going to help with overtime but that’s another issue. Stay well in these difficult times. My email is mnassar@hairclub.com if you legitimately want to address these concerns you have.

  4. "Interview"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HairClub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have benefit package, and there room for advancement and there is no cap on how much money you can make they really take care of their stylist.

    Cons

    Don't know of any yet.

  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great job, if you like your career held hostage."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HairClub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, 401k, Set reschedule, The Clients are the most rewarding aspect of working for Hairclub. You build amazing relationships, while doing something extremely rewarding. Easy to build a clientele based on your skillset.

    Cons

    The Pay structure for stylists is outdated. There is no Incentive, there is no opportunity. Most commissions are based on SALES, and specialities services. Why we don't receive commission on male clients who wear hair (major part of the Business) is beyond me, other than greed of course. Hairstylists currently are paid 15hr starting out. With 3% raises yearly (.45cents) I've seen independent competitors start stylists out at 20+ hr. The Hairstylists should be payed on quality, and productivity of work...Otherwise there is no incentive, other than to operate like a CutShop and just work on clients as fast as you can while hoping they tip.

    Continue reading

    HairClub Response

    May 13, 2019President & COO

    Hi, we definitely don't want you to feel like you're being held hostage. Please reach out to me so we can discuss.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Stylist"

    1.0
     

    I worked at HairClub

    Pros

    Free lunches benefits stylist are good team work

    Cons

    Princess management Stinky Clients very neg and unhappy Little tipping Staff always quit Man agent speaking another language in with other stylist making you feel like there talking about you Favorites Slimy sales that just sells to people don’t need hair or ext Learn to lie to your clients Neg morning meetings Over worked Juggling 2 or more clients at once Over worked Under paid starts at Work overtime with out notice Toxic to the planet and doesn’t care

    HairClub Response

    May 13, 2019President & COO

    Sounds like you didn't have a good experience. Sorry to hear this.

  7. Helpful (13)

    "Underpaid, under appreciated and overworked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at HairClub

    Pros

    That I don’t work there anymore. Before working at hair club, I thought the abuse endured there was normal and this is how work life would be. Since having left, I now work for a corporation that is amazing to their employees. They trust them, they invest in them and they have their back. I now know what it is like to be happy and feel heard and appreciated. I am not writing this as a scorned employee, looking for revenge, I am writing it in hopes that the peers that I loved working with at hair club will soon be able to feel heard and happy in their jobs and I am writing for the people considering applying here. Please, there are so many other places to work. You deserve to be happy at your job and appreciated for what you do. You will not get this at hair club.

    Cons

    “National meetings” were just a place for corporate men to hook up with lower level women. After being diagnosed with endometriosis, I was at work during a visit from a corporate area manager. I was in extreme pain and he told me I need to “smile more” to him. Even after explaining to him what I was going through, he still told me to try harder to smile while at work. Women are seen as objects who need to dress for men and not for themselves. Corporate would perform regular check ups on the centers but it wasn’t to see how people were enjoying their job or to see how things were being run by their terrible managers. It was to make us perform in front of them exactly how we do our job every day to make sure we were following their exact script. One time I was so sick that I didn’t have a voice. I wanted to call out but I knew that if I did, there would be hell to pay so I went in hoping they would notice just how sick I was and tell me to go home but instead they gave me a cough drop and some water and told me to still perform the script WITH NO VOICE. If you call out sick, they never trust that you actually are sick and the managers will voice it to the entire staff. They only care about working you as hard as they can. In the 6 years I worked there I probably called out sick 4 times and each time I was told that I was only sick because I was doing too much on the weekends. Which was not true and none of their business. I had the highest numbers in my center and in my region and they knew I was good at my job because they continuously gave me more and more responsibilities. I was a specialist at every solution hair club had to offer, a supervisor and a trainer. With all of this responsibility and exceptional performance, you would think they would incentivize better but instead, they find loopholes on how to not pay you. When I told them I felt as though I had too much responsibility (more than the managers) and that I would like either a raise or to step down, they told me they would not give me a raise and that I could step down and take a pay cut (of over $5/hour) to what the STARTING stylists were making after 6 years of employment. So they basically forced me to stay my position. My manager, had me serve her husband with divorce papers on my day off because. If you don’t become buddies with the managers, they will make your life hell and write you up for anything they can find. This manager in particular, picks on people she feels threatened by and she is not an advocate for female empowerment. She was beyond rude to employees that spoke English as a second language. She has been working in this job since high school and it showed. She was the same age as me and would call me “hunny” and talk down to me and every other employee. This manager jumped from job to job all over the country with the company and had several complaints to HR. Their solution was to just keep moving her around instead of realizing she was was the problem. When she moved to our center, over half the staff quit in a year. The management keeps notes where they can write whatever they want about their employees but when employees raise concern over management, they are brushed off. The managers and area managers have no business managing people. Most of them have been with the company forever and have worked their way up from receptionist positions by making friends but not by being qualified. Most of them don’t have a college degree or previous experience. They give dress codes to the stylists but not to anyone else. They want sales people to dress “sexy” because that is what they think sells. We had an amazing sales person with great numbers who sold with love and compassion. Her clients loved her but she was constantly being reprimanded because her hair wasn’t curled to the managers liking. Yes, there are a lot of females that work there but that is because it is the hair and beauty industry which tends to be a female dominated field. It does not mean that the females are treated as well as the males or that they have the same opportunities. I saw less qualified males gets jobs in corporate over females, constantly.

    Continue reading

    HairClub Response

    January 26, 2019President & COO

    I think its truly admirable that you care enough for our current and potential employees to write this review. I would hope that anyone that reads it will be able to sift through your feedback and make an educated decision regarding joining us or staying if they are already here. You obviously have a perspective regarding people that is rightfully yours to have. Not sure if it's necessarily accurate or objective. Regardless, just as you have every right to share your review on this site, we have a right to respond. However, I(we) won't stoop to the level of smearing that you have. We will focus on those in the Hair Club family that appreciate their place of work, their co-workers and peers(regardless of who reports to who and who has a degree or who doesn't), our valued Clients and our thriving business that employees over 1200 people. By the way, none of those 1200+ people have been offered or given an incentive to post any reviews to the site. I challenge you to show otherwise as you can not. For the folks mentioned directly or indirectly by this reviewer, I truly apologize for how she has portrayed you, me, and us. Keep up the great work!

  8. Helpful (9)

    "Disappointing job"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HairClub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good hours

    Cons

    Gross, dirty job. Terrible upper management, low paying (15/hr for stylists plus tips which aren’t guaranteed and commissions that they can take away from you). You essentially glue hair to people’s heads and remove it monthly to clean it.. it it is so nasty and smells worse than you can imagine. The people who make money at hair club are the image consultants who lie to people to get them to spend thousands on wearing hair. The stylists are treated as less-than and make substantially less even tho it requires you to be highly skilled and professional.

    Continue reading

    HairClub Response

    January 8, 2019President & COO

    Sorry you were disappointed. Good luck to you.

  9. "Love my Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Xtrands Specialist in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HairClub full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working at HAIRCLUB the for seven years. This the longest I have ever worked at one place in my life. I must say I love this company. I enjoy the educational classes, company training and my team and I are all like family here. I enjoy everyday with them. Believe me if there’s one thing I know about different salons having been on the east coast and west coast its that it is very important for your whole team to get along. Most of all I love the way we help one another and we are all willing to learn. I have learned a lot from each and every stylist. To work with the Raleigh team is truly a blessing. I couldn’t ask for a better one. I wake up every morning ready to work . #LOVE THE CLUB.

    Cons

    I have none at this time

    Continue reading

    HairClub Response

    November 12, 2018President & COO

    Thank you for being there! We're glad you #lovetheclub

  10. "What an AWESOME place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HairClub full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    What can I say?… AMAZING company to work for. First and foremost….Hair Club changes lives. Losing hair, especially for a woman, can be devastating. …and just as devastating for many men. I have been with HC for over 12 years. I have spoken with more clients than I can count…and they always praise their Stylist! Do some clients have a “bad hair day”? Of course they do, just like everyone else - but once a Stylist has them in their chair…that bad hair day turns into a “great hair day”. Hair Club for Kids is also another area we focus on. I’ve seen many young girls be affected by their hair loss, whether due to an illness or Trichotillomania. This can be more devastating to a child than it is to an adult. The out pour of letters we receive from these children letting us know how happy they are once they come to Hair Club is very heartwarming knowing we changed their life.

    Cons

    I do not have any negative comments.

    HairClub Response

    September 28, 2018President & COO

    We're glad you're here! Thank you so much for the feedback!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 English Reviews