Harrods Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 25 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Harrods Managing Director Michael Ward
Michael Ward
363 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is great, 33% across the store(in 87 reviews)

  • "Good discount, met some great people, a good company set up(in 47 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England

    I worked at Harrods part-time

    Pros

    Good incentives, nice work environment

    Cons

    Pressure from senior management or favouritism

    Harrods2020-03-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great for your CV however too much pressure that involves not taking full lunch neither breaks"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount and perks. Full time works 37.5h not 40. Canteen with great prices for staff but food isn't that great tho

    Cons

    The over hierarchical structure, bureaucracy and failure to recognise these as issues makes completing work difficult. There is a real lack of understanding of what is going on at ground level, and it would well be worth taking the time to listen. No recognition Very old fashioned in terms of people policies Unrealistic workloads and expectations A bit of internal politics Some disorganisation in cascading important communication to the whole team in a timely manner Not always easy to approach managers It can be a real challenge to juggle expectations as standards are high. Issue with hierarchy, senior management are out of touch No recognition of good work Probation period puts you under high scrutiny that makes you believe you're not good enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Senior managers are very rude and arrogant. Horrible management. Rude managers, need to be able to communicate without being condescending and patronising. No option to progress unless English is your first language!

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-09

    Harrods Response

    February 24, 2020Retail Director

    Hello. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am really concerned about the points you have listed here particularly considering you are a current Assistant Manager in store. I would very much hope that you would contact me directly so that I can understand more about your experience and identify how we may resolve some of these issues. As you know, I hold regular drop-in sessions to give you the opportunity to come and speak to me and always make time to see anyone so please contact me as soon as possible at laura.brown@harrods.com so that we can work to resolve this together.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Awful & stressful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Knightsbridge, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods

    Pros

    I made a few lifelong friends and met some really genuinely nice customers.

    Cons

    There are quite a few.... where do is start! - Bullying by managers was the normal way to work and if you disagreed you were treated really badly - If they did not like your face, you were singled out for really nasty comments day in & day out - Managers also had their favourites and made this known vocally. - Senior management used to walk around the place like they owned the place and looking down on you as if you were a just a lowly worker. No humanity or empathy shown. From my personal experience, I was literally pushed out of my job. I had to take some paid & unpaid leave for a family bereavement and when I returned to work, I was not even asked how I was or anything of the sort. And in my absence, my role was given to another new starter. Eventually this led to me being stressed out and calling in sick and not showing up to work. As I was aware that this would lead to an unfair disciplinary hearing, I resigned before they had the chance to do this to me. I had to job but my mental well being mattered more than this dead end job!

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-29

    Harrods Response

    March 4, 2020Retail Director

    Hello. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am really concerned about the points you have listed here. I would very much hope that you would contact me directly so that I can understand more about your experience. My contact email is laura.brown@harrods.com.

  4. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harrods

    Pros

    Location In store discounts and benefits

    Cons

    Harrods is a unbelievably nasty place to work. It has a toxic work culture which completely destroys your mental wellbeing. I wouldn’t believe any of the good reviews posted, just the leadership team trying to get the rating back up! No support given if you have personal issues outside work or health problems and if you ask for help you are deemed underperforming and subsequently managed out the business one way or another. The level of catty behaviour from senior management is so unprofessional and using colleagues for information to eventually use against you or your colleagues down the line. It will make you appreciate any job you have after. Where people are truly nice and make you feel valued. Avoid avoid avoid.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-21

    Harrods Response

    February 24, 2020HR Operations Director

    Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I’m disappointed to read about your observations and experience at Harrods. I would like the chance to talk with you, if you would like? My email address is Abi.Weeks@harrods.com.

  5. Helpful (7)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE IF YOU RESPECT & VALUE YOUR MENTAL HEALTH!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing & Communications in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work with some the best brands in the world -Flexi Time (Where you could take back overtime and arrive/leave 2 hours late/early on another day with your managers approval)

    Cons

    I have worked for a number of highly respected high-net worth international brands & companies both in the UK and abroad and I can say Harrods by far has been the most appalling company I have ever put my foot in. I would describe my whole experience in this disgusting company horrid. I would sincerely advise anyone who has self-respect and value for themselves as an individual and professional to turn any job down for Harrods- unless major changes are made. Please note I am a very fair person and positive person and I am writing this review to warn anyone who is considering accepting this role in this company that it is a very toxic environment filled with unhappy people. So many people’s mental health were affected in this company whilst I was there, mine included. I WOULD ADVISE NOT TO BOTHER WITH THE ONE LINER REVIEWS ON GLASSDOOR- WOULDN’T BE SURPRISED IF HARRODS ARE WRITING THEM TO KEEP THEIR RATINGS UP. Please see below all the cons from my time in Harrods Head Office in the Marketing & Communications department. -In late 2017 with a new arrival of management in the Marketing & Communication department saw around 48/50 either leave the business or been made redundant for no valid reason. I have come across a people in two different companies recently referred to this management ‘evil’. It just shows how Harrods has kept ‘evil’ and have let go so many well respected professionals. Speaks a lot about the company. -During my time in the company I have seen people run out the office crying from horrible managers, people taking time off work because of stress, there was one girl lost so much weight and had rashes on her arms because she was so stressed from the workload. The new management did not once ask anyone if they were okay, thank people for their hard work, or showed any empathy. -I will never forget when they tried to make a loyal employee of 8 years redundant without wanting to give her pay. -The company is VERY hierarchical. People work so hard with passion on their jobs and managers can in a second change everything without reason. Be prepared to just execute execute execute and then quickly change to everything because time, a very senior member of staff wants to. -It is not a company if you want to present new ideas for its own benefit to grow and do well. I tried many times to present new ideas for the store and marketing campaigns. Unlike other department stores which are booming right now with innovative marketing and ideas. -Do not expect a pay rise. There is no such thing. You can try but it’s not heard of. If you are to accept a job than go in with a high salary because unless you get a promotion (which is very difficult too) than you need to be content to have your salary for a good few years. There were people in the company who were on the same salary after 5 years- appalling. -Promotions are very difficult. I don’t know why but the company has always seemed to have a culture of not promoting people within. They happily will recruit from external for a new managers job but wouldn’t consider developing their own staff to progress. -There is massive blame culture. It never feels you’re all one team and work and succeed together, and learn from failing together. -There is so much whispering in the office it’s TOXIC!! I have never worked with such immature girls in an office. I find it disgusting that there were women in their 30s whispering as if they were 15 year old girls. Mainly whispering about other colleagues and how they dislike the company. I think no matter how bad a situation one should never whisper in a professional environment. -Everyone seems miserable. Honestly as a positive person who tries to live a fulfilling life I found it sad how everyone seemed so unhappy. I’m not surprised, the HR failed a number of times to help many people out with difficult managers and situations. Again this is because the company is hierarchical and no matter how many complaints a manager gets it doesn’t matter. -The HR is known to be amateur. I have come across a few people outside Harrods and they have said that the HR are not professionally trained and qualified in their roles and that is the reason of the failing of the company. This does make sense. If you don’t have a HR that works for the people of the company, than don’t expect a company for the people. Please note this is just something I have heard, but from personal experience the HR is not great. I have raised concerns a number of times of bad behaviour and being treated unlawfully in the company which they turned a blind eye to. The senior HR members need training or replacing. -TERRIBLE EQUIPMENTS. The equipments are nearly as bad as the Senior management & HR. Do not expect to find a new PC. They are all old PC with the worst internet connection I have experienced in any office. My local internet café is a dream compared to Harrods head office. The Knightsbridge office is worst than Hammersmith office with really old furniture. The company makes profit but doesn’t put anything back in the company. They only introduced free tea & coffee to staff under a year ago -If you love working in a company with a modern culture with payday drinks, social events and team bonding activities than I would advise you to stay far from Harrods. The office is pitch silence with no atmosphere- I am not over exaggerating. That was the first thing I noticed when I first joined and thought/hoped it would improve, it didn’t. If you however enjoy a more university library work environment than Harrods would be for you. Overall a toxic environment, terrible management, poor HR and really just standing on it’s name now. Times have moved forward but Harrods office culture is stuck in the 60s. You deserve better. Dear HR please do not reply to this review asking me for further feedback. I would advise to spend time changing the company and helping the staff instead of putting time in reading/writing/replying to glassdoor reviews.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-01-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Archaic Institution"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount and culture between shop floor staff

    Cons

    Senior management are out of the loop and treat staff as numbers

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-11-05

    Harrods Response

    December 17, 2019Retail Director

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to create a positive environment where our people feel supported and valued. Please let us talk with you about the issues you have raised. You can contact me at: Laura.Brown@harrods.com.

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic Environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working at Harrods makes you appreciate any other company or organisation you’ll ever work for. Looks good on your CV, however this is becoming less and less so Good discount The retail side of the business is a pleasant environment. It’s hard work but there is a family feel to teams and the business managers support their teams in most areas.

    Cons

    The corporate side of the business felt very toxic to me. The Senior Managers are very good at managing people out when you are no longer flavour of the month. When you create a very hostile environment for someone they will usually leave! Ruthlessness is valued, and is then used by Senior Management. Lack of concern shown for the impact this has on stress levels and anxiety of current employees and the long term impact on individuals. Personally still dealing with the after effects on my self esteem and mental wellbeing.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-10-07

    Harrods Response

    October 9, 2019HR & Retail Director

    I am sorry to hear about your experience. If you are happy to discuss further, please let us talk with you. You can contact me at Sarah.Andrews@harrods.com.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair paid but difficult to achieve the sales target

    Cons

    Poor senior management with discrimination

    Harrods2019-08-12

    Harrods Response

    August 16, 2019Retail Director

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am very concerned to read your comment about discrimination. If you are happy to discuss further, please let us talk with you. You can contact me at Laura.brown@harrods.com.

  9. "Customer Loyalty Advisor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Loyalty Advisor in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods for less than a year

    Pros

    *Discounts *Occasional Doughnuts/ Hot Drinks *Well known

    Cons

    *Bullying Culture *Mismanagement *Staff afraid to speak out *Terrible customer service generally *Blatant Favouritism *Lack of support *All permanent staff are in management team *Senior management barely present & unapproachable *Overall very disheartening *Temp staff are disregarded, undervalued and disposable

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-09-16

    Harrods Response

    September 27, 2019Chief Marketing & Customer Officer

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I’m very concerned to read about your experience. For us to make positive change please let us talk with you about everything you have raised. You can contact me at Amanda.Hill@harrods.com

  10. "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Boutique Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff Discount was Great fun

    Cons

    Long Hours and Senior Management Politics

    Harrods2019-07-26
Found 22 reviews