Hays "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hays Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 25 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,386 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 142 reviews)

  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 139 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent company that focuses on employee development and engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant work environment and culture. Training offered at all levels is way above industry standard. Even senior managment receive regular training. Brilliant commission scheme and massive earning potential All staff are friendly and social Brilliant opportunities for career progression

    Cons

    Not a con but - Job depends on your own self will and perseverance- if you cannot motivate yourself to succeed and perform high levels of activity without micromanagement you will not succeed

    Advice to Management

    Great work !

    Hays2019-11-25
  2. "Long term career opportunities and great at celebrating success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long term career progression opportunities and great at celebrating success. Very supportive Senior Management.

    Cons

    Luckily my team has a fantastic culture, but I know the culture isn't necessarily consistent throughout the entire business as a whole.

    Advice to Management

    I happen to have one of the best managers within the business, who also happens to be the best manager I've had throughout my entire career. I've learnt so much from my manager and he has enabled me to create my own management style, which without his help I wouldn't have been capable of doing.

    Hays2019-10-09
  3. "Can’t fault it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Geelong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and systems for those new to recruitment. Career progression opportunities given scope and scale of organisation. Lots of perks and incentives for top performers at all levels. Meritocratic organisation. Industry leading tools to leverage.

    Cons

    Agency recruitment is a sales role, so those that don’t enjoy having targets (like most organisations) or those that arent willing to invest in their own training/put in effort early won’t last very long.

    Advice to Management

    Consider different options for People Leaders that are still high performers - leverage their people skills first and foremost.

    Hays2019-07-30
  4. "Good people, great culture, clear and defined career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Focused and entrepreneurial environment with a really good management team. Targets are clear and the career progression is road mapped well. Great earning potential also.

    Cons

    Big business so some decisions can be slow.

    Hays2019-07-12
  5. "Working at Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Christchurch, Canterbury
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training and support for learning at Hays is ongoing and really in depth. The career progression opportunities are also very transparent, so you know what you have to do to succeed and get promoted. You don't have to have recruitment experience before joining Hays to do well, and the team support means you always have someone around who can help. There are heaps of incentives to do well, and there's a good social side to the job.

    Show More

    Cons

    The base can be low, but commission makes up for that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Hays2019-07-04
  6. "Great career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are open, and helpful across teams. There is a very work hard, play hard culture! Work life balance is encourage here compared to other sales places. Supportive managers. Career progression are very transparent.

    Cons

    Needs to be loud sometimes in order to be notice.

    Hays2019-06-20
  7. "Good, friendly, great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career progression opportunity. Challenge and support in the role. People and culture.

    Cons

    There are no significant downsides if you want to work for a large commercial business with a meritocratic culture

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value your staff even whilst challenging them. Give more opportunity for your best people to develop.

    Hays2019-06-07
  8. "Industry best training... One that you will use for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training and career progression structure

    Cons

    Some desks can't acheive the targets set

    Advice to Management

    Don't just concentrate and the performers, also take lead, understand and help the desks that are not performing

    Hays2019-06-02
  9. "Great Place to Develop your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of career progression opportunities, both hierarchically and laterally Social atmosphere and supportive working culture Good benefits for all levels of employees

    Cons

    Hours are longer than most companies Lack of flexible working opportunities

    Hays2019-05-30
  10. "Great culture and career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, have met some life long friends. The career progression is really good and opportunity to move countries.

    Cons

    Working hours, salary and minimal flexible working.

    Advice to Management

    Change the working hours. Hays could be the first large recruitment company to truly offer work life balance. It would change/ improve the entire industry and have a big impact on Hay's turnover.

    Hays2019-05-30
Found 139 reviews
</>Embed