HealthTap "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

HealthTap Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 19 Oct 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
HealthTap Chief Executive Officer Bill Gossman (no image)
Bill Gossman
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some *VERY* smart people here who come to work every day super motivated to make things happen(in 12 reviews)

  • "They are super excited about what they are doing and mission driven(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tough to find a work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "You have to be passionate about your role and the product because it is long hours and a large commitment(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Hardworking People & Mission-Driven Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    1. You get to work with some of the most talented, hardworking & smart set of people you can imagine. 2. If you want a place where you can see/measure the impact your work has, this is it!

    Cons

    1. Tough to find a work-life balance.

    HealthTap2016-10-19
  2. Helpful (22)

    "Toxic co-workers and environment to be in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap

    Pros

    Office location, free meals, office dogs

    Cons

    Terrible CEO, People who are senior love to step on people who have just started, high school like environment with bullies, chaos at all times, no work life balance

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2016-08-30

    HealthTap Response

    March 6, 2017HealthTap Talent & Happiness

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). HealthTap was built by highly compassionate people creating an environment of caring and kindness and fostering teamwork and collaboration. We love our tradition of "thanks and agrees," where week during Town Hall employees recognize one another individually for the great work they’ve done during that week. Our CEO and leadership team regularly recognize employees and managers for their achievements in every team meeting, and we give special awards to employees who excel. We have an admittedly ambitious vision of how to change the world for the better, and help people everywhere live longer, healthier, happier lives, and we’ve already done so with hundreds of millions of people in 174 countries around the world and with more than 107,000 doctors. We also believe that health and happiness go hand in hand, and know we can't achieve that vision without a team that's also healthy and happy. Many of our most beloved traditions (like free exercise programs created and delivered by employees, our free specialty chocolate store and special outings for art shows and galleries) were initiated by individual employees and are fully sponsored by the company. We don't have set hours, but our core business hours are Monday through Friday 9:30 - 6:30, and working late or on weekends is not required. We do recognize and reward employees who choose to “walk the extra mile” and voluntarily elect to work beyond the core hours, but it’s not mandated. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We encourage our employees to accomplish the targets and goals they’ve willingly taken on themselves, so they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. This is why we will continue to foster a healthy sense of urgency that helps our team focus on what matters to deliver the desired results that are changing the world for the better. Our CEO and our leadership team have been highly acclaimed in the industry in beyond and warmly welcome new employees to the team. They also offer genuine feedback based on data driven performance and work to help employees learn, grow and evolve to accomplish their aspirations and goals. Committed to the health and well-being of the world for many years, they are very compassionate and supportive and helps people around them become the best version of themselves and excel every day. Highly driven and ambitious, our CEO has been recognized by the World Economic Forum and other luminaries as one of the most important leaders in the healthcare, was chosen by Goldman Sachs as one of the 100 most intriguing entrepreneurs, and was featured by CNBC on prime-time TV in their “Disruptors” series. While most other founding CEOs and leadership teams of other healthcare startups have systematically stepped down from their leadership roles over the past decade, our CEO and leadership team remains the same and continues to lead HealthTap through our successive achievements. You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (35)

    "Secrecy and lies topped with no work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    Awesome and well-intentioned people, office dogs, and free food.

    Cons

    Despite the awesome product and work environment, HealthTap has an incredibly high turnover rate, for many reasons: • Work/Life Balance HealthTap is expected to be your LIFE. Be prepared to give up your evenings, weekends, and holidays. There is a lot of pressure to work long, hard hours and have a "healthy sense of urgency". Every day is crunch time with no reward or end in sight. You are expected to work between 12-14/day and Sundays, otherwise you don't have what it takes to be a "winner". • Low Salaries No one is at HealthTap for the money, but working the hours we do, the least we expect is honesty and respect. Salaries are way below market average and we are offered a bonus to "offset" the low salary—no I know of has gotten this bonus. • Lies on top of lies As a data-driven company, I expected more than false advertising. Every week during Team Meeting we present the "progress" we have made. We heard rumors from the engineers that all the data was fabricated in order to impress the CEO's unrealistic—and quite frankly, impossible—demands. The entire team then sets into the next week working with fabricated data. Customer retention is really low because of it. But it doesn't stop there. Marketing uses false names, ages, testimonials, and stock images—some were just made up on the spot to fit their next marketing objective. There is no transparency in regards to salaries, stock options, bonuses, deals the company makes, etc. All those 5 star reviews on Glassdoor? They are clearly written by a handful of people who overcompensate and reveal an artificial "happiness" and "enthusiasm" for the company. Don't be fooled! • Upper Management Upper management promotes a climate of fear. The CEO is manipulative, verbally abusive, and threatening. Not the best way to motivate your employees. Everyone is scared to death at Team Meetings and dreads his presence in the office. For a company that is supposed to be focused on health, they certainly don't care about the health of their employees and will work you until you can't think straight.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2016-06-21

    HealthTap Response

    March 6, 2017HealthTap Talent & Happiness

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). Two of our company values are trust and transparency. We take these to heart. Each week we host an all-hands meeting where any question is welcome, and we share confidential information to keep everyone informed of progress and important developments. At our weekly team meetings we share data across the company and teams. We use these meetings to calibrate, provide feedback and offer help to one another to accomplish our shared goals. We also highly respect one another and have a strong culture of teamwork and collaboration. We trust our employees and don’t believe they “fabricate data” in team meetings. They are hard-working kind and honest individuals who present their results every meeting and seek feedback to accomplish their individual and company goals. Our CEO is open and honest, and regularly provides genuine feedback based on data driven performance. At the same time he’s highly compassionate, supportive, and helps others improve and excel every day. Highly driven and ambitious, he has been recognized by the World Economic Forum and other luminaries as one of the most important leaders in the healthcare, was chosen Goldman Sachs as one of the 100 most intriguing entrepreneurs, and was featured by CNBC in their prime time “Disruptors” series. He is recognized internationally for his commitment to public service and giving back, including being been honored at the International Conference on Transforming Healthcare with IT in Bangalore India. He was selected by Stanford as an Entrepreneurial Thought Leader and volunteers time mentoring the next generation of entrepreneurs. Ron also gave a TED talk on the power of smiling that has become one of the most popular TED talks of all time. While most other founding CEOs of healthcare startups have stepped down from their roles over the past years, Ron has continuously been highly motivated and persistent, as he continues to lead HealthTap from strength to strength. We’re also growing quickly, and new people are constantly joining us as a function of our success. We believe in a meritocracy of rewarding dedicated and high-performing employees (as measured by OKRs, KPIs, and 360 feedback surveys). So we also accept that sometimes people do need to move on to other opportunities after HealthTap for personal or professional reasons. We believe this is a healthy process that all successful companies go through. HealthTap’s massive growth has been entirely created by our product and engineering teams. While we don’t yet have a formal marketing team (contrary to the comments in the review), we do have one of the strongest customer retention numbers in healthcare, and our humbled by how our customers (who are some of the world leading healthcare institutions and most admired companies, consistently successful for decades), are raving about us regularly in reference calls. We now use a data-based approach to make sure our compensation is fair and market competitive for companies at our stage of growth, and our benefits package is very generous and comprehensive, with valuable stock options, fully funded healthcare (medical, dental and vision), subsidized gym memberships, catered meals (lunch and dinner), a 401K plan, weekly in-office massages, healthy snacks, and much more. Moreover, additional benefits for working at HealthTap is learning from the best in their fields, and growing rapidly with ample leadership and individual growth opportunists. Our core business hours are Monday through Friday 9:30 - 6:30, and working late or on weekends is not required. We do recognize and reward employees who choose to “walk the extra mile” and voluntarily elect to work beyond the core hours, but it’s not mandated. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We also regularly promote employees from within our organization, providing leadership opportunities across the board. In the past year we promoted many personal contributors and junior mangers into senior management roles. We have a celebrated policy that allows any employee in the company to step up into leadership roles. Once people are in leadership roles, they receive significant leeway in how they choose to accomplish their goals, they receive help needed to achieve them. We’re here as a team to achieve success and work with our new leaders to do what it takes to make that success happen. You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (36)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Stanford, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is filled with really great people

    Cons

    There is too much pressure to work long, hard hours from upper management, and there is no work-life balance to speak of for most employees. Also, unfair payment for interns - everyone made different amounts, and some didn't get paid at all.

    HealthTap2016-01-28

    HealthTap Response

    March 6, 2017HealthTap Talent & Happiness

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). We don't have set hours, but our core business hours are Monday through Friday 9:30 - 6:30, and working late or on weekends is not required. We do recognize and reward employees who choose to “walk the extra mile” and voluntarily elect to work beyond the core hours, but it’s not mandated. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We encourage our employees to accomplish the targets and goals they’ve willingly taken on themselves, so they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. This is why we will continue to foster a healthy sense of urgency that helps our team focus on what matters to deliver the desired results that are changing the world for the better. We’re committed to supporting our team members accomplishing their targets and goals and encourage employees to engage in social activities, exercise, and down time in a way that's personally sustainable and allows them to achieve success. We believe that's the best way to build a strong, resilient, and happy team. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We encourage our employees to accomplish the targets and goals they’ve willingly taken on themselves, so they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. This is why we will continue to foster a healthy sense of urgency that helps our team focus on what matters to deliver the desired results that are changing the world for the better. We’re committed to supporting our team members accomplishing their targets and goals and encourage employees to engage in social activities, exercise, and down time in a way that's personally sustainable and allows them to achieve success. We believe that's the best way to build a strong, resilient, and happy team. We pay and treat all our employees very well, as required and as supported by our values. To ensure we're competitive for companies of our stage and size, we use a data-based approach to all our job offers, and update them regularly based on research. You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (42)

    "If I could give it zero stars I would."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap

    Pros

    Great product, but a more dynamic, honest team will build a better one. Non-exec coworkers are smart and great to work with, but everyone leaves as soon as possible.

    Cons

    Ron is not sane nor stable. Stock is secretive. Data is fabricated. Execs are brainwashed. No work/life balance. Low retention rate interrupts product cycle.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2016-01-11

    HealthTap Response

    March 6, 2017HealthTap Talent & Happiness

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). HealthTap highly values its employees and the core leadership team has worked together for more than a decade, even before HealthTap. Employee retention is important for us, and our key people have been with the company for many years. As a company, we work hard to make sure our team is both happy and highly productive, and that each employee and manager achieves the right cadence to stay happy and healthy. Two of our company’s core values are trust and transparency. We take these to heart and make them part of our everyday work life and culture. Each week we host an all-hands meeting where any question about the company is welcome publically. We also use our business weekly meetings to share highly confidential information with our team. Anyone can ask their manager any question at any time, and no question goes unanswered. This culture keeps everyone well informed of our rapid progress and our successful global partnerships, our widely used products, and the most important developments and leading edge innovation. At our weekly team meetings we also share data across the company and with all teams. We do this so that we are all on the same page regarding where we stand and what we need to do to achieve our goals. We don't have to share as much as we do, and most companies wouldn't divulge this much information outside of senior management. But we believe it keeps our team motivated about our shared goals. Our CEO is open and honest, and regularly provides genuine feedback based on data driven performance. At the same time he’s highly compassionate and supportive and helps people around him improve and excel every day. Highly driven and ambitious, he has been recognized by the World Economic Forum and other luminaries as one of the most important leaders in the healthcare, was chosen Goldman Sachs as one of the 100 most intriguing entrepreneurs, and was featured by CNBC in prime time in their “Disruptors” series. He is recognized internationally for his commitment to public service and giving back, including being been honored at the International Conference on Transforming Healthcare with IT in Bangalore India. He was selected by Stanford University as an Entrepreneurial Thought Leader and volunteers time mentoring and teaching entrepreneurs to help the next generation of innovators. Ron also gave a TED talk on the power of smiling that has become one of the most popular TED talks of all time. While most other founding CEOs of healthcare startups have systematically stepped down from their leadership roles over the past years, Ron has continuously been highly motivated, persistent, and stable as he continues to lead HealthTap from strength to strength. The executive team is very strong and has been with the company for many years, plays an active role in making strategic and tactical decisions every day. Our CEO understands the importance of the advice and opinions of others, is attentive to these, and takes suggestions from across the entire company. You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (36)

    "Intriguing mission. Poorly executed and failing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros. None. The purported pro is "change the world" (it does not) and the new office space, which must be on a loan or perhaps donated because the current monetization structure is poorly implemented and/or non existent. At any event, the noble cause and infusion of optimism quickly evaporates when you realize (a) the majority of American doctors do not condone HealthTap's online "treatment" paradigm (b) the marketing tactics are disgraceful (c) Ron is a certifiable psychopath. If there are limited providers or unsatisfied providers, there is no real product, as technology will only bring you so far to treating patients. (An existent profile does not count as an active user if it's never used). One cannot exist without the other. HealthTap lacks the provider element. The engineers are brilliant, but overworked. Everyone's exhausted and spends time rearranging deck chairs on a sinking ship.

    Cons

    I might also add that there is absolutely no work/life balance. It's frowned upon to leave before 9pm, which is after coming in before 9am in the morning. I used to work Sundays too, which left one day off a week. The company spends a lot of time on how others perceive through email campaigns that fail, instead of actually LISTENING to the providers and patients. They take the good and dismiss the bad. It's a startup, understandably it's important to see a vision through the clutter; but as you forget who you're serving, you also leave responsibility and quality by the wayside. And sales is a one way door. Also, there is extremely high turnover. Everyone I know who used to work there left within a year. Many did not even keep HealthTap on their resumes; it's sort of an embarrassment to be honest. Bring your talent elsewhere. You owe it to yourself.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2015-05-21

    HealthTap Response

    March 6, 2017HealthTap Talent & Happiness

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). We are proud of our mission, are working diligently and compassionately to achieve it, and we have the data to show that we execute on it exceedingly well compared to any other company in digital health that started when we did or afterwards. Our dedicated and highly capable employees have built the world’s first Health Operating System that has served hundreds of millions of people across 174 countries and we’ve attracted more than 107,000 top doctors to our service. We have deep successful partnerships with governments, multinational businesses, and some of the best healthcare systems in the world. We've received one of the highest honors of any company in technology looking to do good in the world -- we were named a Technology Pioneer by the World Economic Forum that’s committed to making the world a better place. We've even received a Webby Award for having the best designed online and mobile health apps and website. Our award-winning product, design, and customer care team are listening to users 24/7 and continually implementing new version of our platform, products and services to improve user experience, and drive better outcomes. Our mission is to measurably prolong the life expectancy of humankind, and to help billions of people worldwide live happier, healthier, and longer lives. To that effect, we’ve gotten an incredible head start due to a successful product that we’re always improving. Our Head of Product, world-class designers, and entrepreneurial and mission-driven product managers are hyper-focused on solving real user needs in disruptive ways. We’ve received more than 24,000 thank you notes from users expressing that we saved their life or the life of a loved one. We continue to push the limits with product initiatives like global expansion into new languages and Artificial Intelligence and machine learning applications such as Dr. A.I. We’re disciplined about looking at data, AB testing, performing usability tests and being extremely attentive to user support inquiries and suggestions. All this leads to a great product as well as product experience that continues to get better all the time and do more good in the world. But although all this shows we can execute quickly and with very high quality, for us, accolades and accomplishments aren't enough. To be truly successful our team must always be treated well and compensated fairly, and we can never stop working on improving our culture in the same way that we are always working to improve our products and services. For example, we're now using a data-based approach to compensation and benefits to ensure we are at or above market for companies at our stage of growth. We also are constantly working on better supporting the health and well-being of our team with free healthy meals, subsidized gym memberships, exercise, massage and well-being initiatives and more. We've also instituted policies to encourage our hardworking employees to work smarter, not harder, so they can spend more time with friends and family. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We encourage our people to accomplish the targets and goals they’ve willingly taken on themselves so that they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. This is why we continue to foster a healthy sense of urgency that helps our team focus on what matters to deliver the desired results that are changing the world for the better. Come visit us and see for yourself what it's like to work at HealthTap. We encourage our employees to take advantage of our open Q&A sessions at every weekly all-hands meeting on Friday to ask questions about our business model. We've grown exponentially in the past few years and we sincerely hope that our current efforts to share our progress helps show that you and the rest of the world see what we've achieved and where we are heading. We’re also growing quickly, and new people are constantly joining us as a function of our success. We believe in a meritocracy of rewarding dedicated and high-performing employees (measured by OKRs, KPIs, 360 feedback surveys). We also accept that sometimes people do need to move on to other opportunities after HealthTap for personal or professional reasons. We believe this is a healthy process that all successful companies go through. You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome mission, Outstandingly Smart people, Amazing Opportunities, Tough Technical Challenges!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The title of the review kind of sums it up. - The missions statement of the company is great and some of the smartest people in the world are working as one cohesive unit to achieve that mission. - The work is technically very fulfilling. - The perks and compensation is great.

    Cons

    Occasionally, when the releases are approaching you have to really have to try hard to avoid losing the work-life balance but I am assuming that is the case with every technical company, when the releases are near.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2014-11-29
  8. Helpful (34)

    "Be weary of reviews that sound like PR releases"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    After seeing all of duplicate positive reviews posted on Glassdoor, here is a more accurate account of what it is like working at HealthTap. Please be aware that multiple reviews have been written by 1 person, and that the management will frequently ask employees to "write a positive review" on Glassdoor while hovering over their shoulders. 1. Product - HealthTap has a noble mission in working to provide personalized health information to people everywhere in the world. You can actually get great answers from real doctors within just a few hours. 2. People - Some of the smartest and hardest working people I have ever met formerly worked at HealthTap. The really smart ones left very quickly after joining. 3. Location - The Palo Alto office is right on University Ave.

    Cons

    1. Ron Gutman - He will do a great job on selling you the vision of the company and how they are planning to change the world with HealthTap. Don't be romanticized by his delusions. The truth is Ron has a long history of questionable business practices, unethical behavior, and treating his employees poorly. With the exception of about 6-7 core employees (executive team + 1 or 2 others - we often joked about these people as suffering from Stockholm Syndrome), most people quit within 1 year of joining HealthTap. Glassdoor does not allow posting of direct URLs, but a few Google searches about Ron's previous company - Wellsphere - will bring up many examples of how he interacts with his employees. 2. Work / Life Balance - There is none. Expect to work 12 hours per day, and Sundays are mandatory (they only "allow you" 6 Sundays off per year). Management knows no boundaries about how far to push this. You will receive phone calls during holidays, wedding anniversaries, or vacations about an "urgent" task that needs your attention. 3. Compensation - 20%-30% below what you can be making at another startup. Will give you stock options, but won't tell you how many total shares in the pool. Given the questionable business practices, I would expect most employees have much less than what they think they have. Doesn't really matter since you won't be hitting that 1 year mark anyways. 4. Employee attrition rate - Employees In = Employees Out. Constantly hiring to replace the employees that leave. Morale is extremely low and every few months there is an exodus of a group of employees.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2014-04-15

    HealthTap Response

    April 30, 2014HealthTap Talent & Happiness

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). We do encourage employees to write authentic reviews about the company – because it’s a great way to celebrate their experience at HealthTap, spread the word, and attract top talent. Our CEO, Ron Gutman, has been recognized many times, by the World Economic Forum among other internationally recognized organizations and businesses, as one of the most innovative and transformative leaders in the healthcare field. He has a big, inspiring vision for HealthTap and the future of healthcare worldwide that many are following. Each day, Ron and our team invest heart and effort to make that vision a reality. We are the first to acknowledge that our mission is highly ambitious: helping billions of people throughout the world live happier, healthier, long lives. This is no trivial goal. Working toward this mission we face many challenges but also huge opportunities. With these in mind, we always make sure that our environment helps keep our employees motivated and happy. We want people to love working for us. Like every successful company, we continuously implement new employee-centric initiatives – when they work, we do more of them, and when they don’t we learn and improve. It's important for us that our employees are engaged and motivated because the stakes are so high. When we succeed, our efforts are widely recognized and drive huge amount of good in the world. For example, in 2015 HealthTap was named a World Economic Forum Technology Pioneer for positively impacting the world and making it a better place through our technology and services. This same award has been granted to companies like Facebook, Google, and Uber in their early years. We also won the Webby award for the best design, and Forbes has listed HealthTap among the "top companies disrupting healthcare." As a recognized thought leader in digital health, Ron Gutman, our CEO has been named among the top 100 most intriguing entrepreneurs by the leading investment bank Goldman Sachs. Top journalists in the most credible press channels, who see a lot of innovative companies, have paid us amazing (and humbling) compliments (you can view these on our media page in the "about us" section on HealthTap). We don't have set hours, but our core business hours are Monday through Friday 9:30 - 6:30, and working late or on weekends is not required. We do recognize and reward employees who choose to “walk the extra mile” and voluntarily elect to work beyond the core hours, but it’s not mandated. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We encourage our employees to accomplish the targets and goals they’ve willingly taken on themselves, so they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. This is why we will continue to foster a healthy sense of urgency that helps our team focus on what matters to deliver the desired results that are changing the world for the better. We've always carefully managed the resources our investors provide us (unlike many other Silicon Valley companies that have gone out of business). Nevertheless, the comment here about compensation is not accurate. To ensure we're competitive for companies of our stage and size, we use a data-based approach to all our job offers. We also provide one of the most generous benefits packages in Silicon Valley. To stay on top of the market for companies at our level, we've also instituted regular reviews that take into account market trends. We individually evaluate salaries, equity and other benefits in reviews. We believe this helps keep compensation competitive and consistent as we grow and develop. Again, what matters most if you're thinking of joining us is to learn first-hand what it's like to work here. If you're interested and qualified, you're invited to come in and visit our office and meet our current employees and see for yourself what it's like. We think you'll be delighted by the positive energy in the office and out mission driven team (and our population of resident dogs). You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (16)

    "This place is poop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at HealthTap

    Pros

    The coworkers are super awesome and fun! Making a possible impact is also nice, too. People quit all the time so you'll quickly have the most seniority. They hire at about the same rate people leave, which is hilarious

    Cons

    Important: This company is willing to offer you a visa if you need one. It's a trap!! People quit so often that they know this is the only way they can get you to stay for more than a couple of months. Pay is way below average ANDDDDD they don't tell you the number of outstanding shares. Just in case you don't know, this is not normal! They ask their employees to post on GlassDoor and the App Store. They pressure you to work on weekends. No work life balance. I don't know a single (non-management) person who likes working here.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2014-03-30

    HealthTap Response

    March 6, 2017Head of Product

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). Health and well-being are central to our culture. We offer daily catered healthy meals (snacks, lunch, and even dinner for those who working late), gym memberships for people who work out, and team members organize exercise sessions and other fun outings. We recognize that everyone is unique. We absolutely support and encourage employees to take time to do the things that keep them happy, healthy, and energized, but we also hire people who are committed to making this world a better place and are excited to join a fast-growing Silicon Valley startup and do what it takes to change the transform healthcare for the better. HealthTap team members are happy and motivated to change the world for the better. We treat and compensate our employees well, and provide a competitive base salary, bonuses, generous benefits and a stock option package. Everyone gets to configure their workspace and environment, and to choose their computers, monitors, and peripherals. We're always looking for new ways to foster even more health and happiness internally – and many of our most loved traditions (like our free specialty chocolate store, in-office massages, and weekly employee recognition sessions) come from individual employee initiatives and are fully sponsored by the company. We don't have set hours, but our core business hours are Monday through Friday 9:30 - 6:30, and working late or on weekends is not required. We do recognize and reward employees who choose to “walk the extra mile” and voluntarily elect to work beyond the core hours, but it’s not mandated. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We encourage our employees to accomplish the targets and goals they’ve willingly taken on themselves, so they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. This is why we will continue to foster a healthy sense of urgency that helps our team focus on what matters to deliver the desired results that are changing the world for the better. We are driven by a sense of excellence and artisanship. We provide ample opportunities for leadership and rapid and a significant portion of our management team has grown in-house with employees who either joined as personal contributors or junior managers and proved themselves worthy. We do encourage employees to write authentic reviews about the company – because it’s a great way to celebrate their experience at HealthTap, spread the word, and attract top talent. Just like the leading VCs in Silicon Valley who have funded us generously (and the others who regularly offer to invest more), we're very optimistic about HealthTap’s future. If you want to know, first hand, what it’s like to work here, feel free to contact us at any time – we'd be delighted to arrange you to visit our team and ask them any questions you have. The values in our Vision and Credo (feel free to find it in our "about us pages" or by Googling it) are upheld by our employees and leadership and we live by it every day. In fact, we talk about these values often in meetings and in Town-Hall. You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Amazing team, great product, no work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees here are really awesome, hardworking, and talented. Lunches are provided a few days a week. Health insurance is pretty good.

    Cons

    There is no work-life balance, mandatory Sunday's, and pretty much everyone is at the beck-and-call of the CEO. People are so tired they fall asleep during team meetings. There is crazy high turnover. Benefits are not that great overall, there is no vision or dental insurance. Vacation days, and holidays are at the whim of the management team, so no one really knows what days are holidays.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2013-03-06

    HealthTap Response

    September 12, 2013HealthTap Talent & Happiness

    Thanks for your interest in HealthTap, helping millions live healthier, happier, longer lives. We want you to have an accurate picture of what it's like to work here, and one that’s based on data and facts (rather than the misleading assertions above). We don't have set hours, but our core business hours are Monday through Friday 9:30 - 6:30, and working late or on weekends is not required. We do recognize and reward employees who choose to “walk the extra mile” and voluntarily elect to work beyond the core hours, but it’s not mandated. At HealthTap we passionately believe that it’s all about the output and the measurable results, not about the input. We encourage our employees to accomplish the targets and goals they’ve willingly taken on themselves, so they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. This is why we will continue to foster a healthy sense of urgency that helps our team focus on what matters to deliver the desired results that are changing the world for the better. We’re committed to supporting our team members accomplishing their targets and goals and encourage employees to engage in social activities, exercise, and down time in a way that's personally sustainable and allows them to achieve success. We believe that's the best way to build a strong, resilient, and happy team. Our focus is output and measurable results (not hours and input), and we are committed to supporting our team members accomplishing the targets and goals they willingly take on, so they don’t feel they need to work beyond business hours. We believe our healthy sense of urgency keeps us focused on what matters, and helps us change the world for the better. We have an important mission, and it’s highly ambitious: helping billions of people throughout the world live happier, healthier, long lives. This is not a trivial goal, and it’s not for everyone. We hire people who want to and can help us achieve great things – like becoming widely recognized as the most innovative company in digital health, being selected by the World Economic Forum as a “Technology Pioneer,” winning a Webby Award for the best design, and being selected as a partner by the best healthcare institutions in the world, and being recognized by the New York Times as “the app that saved 10,000 lives.” In working toward this mission we face many exciting challenges but also huge opportunities, and the kind of people who succeed here are the kind of people who seize those opportunities and make them happen. We also regularly promote employees from within our organization, providing leadership opportunities to employees across the board, and in the past year we promoted many personal contributors and junior mangers into management and senior management roles. We have a well celebrated policy that allows every employee in the company to step up and offer herself or himself for leadership roles, and when they do, we provided them the opportunity to do so promptly. Once people are in leadership roles, they get a lot of leeway in how they choose to accomplish their goals, and if they ask for help or feel that it’s challenging to accomplish what they took on themselves willingly, they get all the support they need from the senior leadership team to accomplish their goals and aspirations. You're invited to visit HealthTap to speak with our employees directly and experience our culture and values first hand – please contact us and we’ll arrange a visit at your convenience. Real people and tangible experiences are the best representation of who we really are.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews