Hensel Phelps Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hensel Phelps Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hensel Phelps President and CEO  Michael J. Choutka (no image)
Michael J. Choutka
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee owned makes a culture of accountability(in 46 reviews)

  • "HP is employee owned with great benefits and an environment that draws in extremely talented co-workers(in 38 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very political, no respect for personal time, expect 70+hours a week."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Waianae, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hensel Phelps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Pay and co workers

    Cons

    Quality of life and Work Balance

    Hensel Phelps2020-01-16
  2. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hensel Phelps

    Pros

    The training they provide is unmatched. Very interesting projects throughout the country

    Cons

    A long road to get to the bigger more desirable salaries

    Hensel Phelps2020-01-13
  3. "Good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hensel Phelps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many opportunities to learn new skills Potential to move up in company

    Cons

    Lack of direction for new employees Poor communication from management at times

    Continue reading
    Hensel Phelps2020-01-12
  4. "Not a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 

    I worked at Hensel Phelps full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are good but not great.

    Cons

    No life. Too much work. Management is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Hensel Phelps2020-01-07
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hensel Phelps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Arguably the best benefits you will find with any company

    Cons

    Base salary (benefits really help though)

    Continue reading
    Hensel Phelps2019-12-11
  6. "Hensel Phelps Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer Intern in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Hensel Phelps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with plenty of opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons at the moment.

    Hensel Phelps2019-12-19
  7. "Imature Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hensel Phelps part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The cafeteria has okay deserts.

    Cons

    Management is full of lies, tricks and well cowardly behavior.

    Continue reading
    Hensel Phelps2020-01-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay and Great Experience, but no Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hensel Phelps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment Great pay and benefits Work on large, challenging projects

    Cons

    The hours are extremely long, but that's just construction. It's hard to be there for your family when the work hours are so long, especially in your first couple years there. My supervisors were not very understanding when emergencies came up and I had to leave work early.

    Continue reading
    Hensel Phelps2019-12-04
  9. "Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hensel Phelps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - learned a lot in the office and in quality control. - the people in the office were more willing to help than those out in the field. - got practical experience working with software and typical QC and Office Engineer roles.

    Cons

    - The field engineers and superintendents did not think highly of me and said rude comments. - The field and superintendents expected me to already know how to survey, use tools, and know terms unique to the company. Please note I do not come from a labor intensive background or trade. - I felt as if because I was a woman they neglected me with this role and that I was not a typical 'tom boy' that they often see within the construction field. Therefore, I was not able to perform these tasks to their 'standards' and so they did not bother to teach me.

    Continue reading
    Hensel Phelps2019-12-02

    Hensel Phelps Response

    December 31, 2019Talent Acquisition and Development Manager

    Thank you for your review. This is very helpful as it highlights an area that we sometimes lose sight of: what it is like to be a young female trying to be successful in a traditional construction role. We do have females at all active jobsites that can be mentors, although not necessarily in an FE role. We also have experienced females at the district office who thoroughly enjoy mentoring and coaching %E2%80%93 sometimes it is simply a matter of the individual taking the time to seek out the females who can be mentors. However, we also recognize that we may not always be cognizant of the need for female leadership (at whatever level) for our interns. Your comments will help us to highlight this need at our job sites in the upcoming intern season.

    Continue reading
  10. "Long Hours but good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Hensel Phelps full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits with decent vacation

    Cons

    Lots of random overtime depending on project completion

    Hensel Phelps2019-10-23
Found 365 reviews