Hermes Courier Driver Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Courier Driver

Hermes Driver/Courier Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

1.8
9%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
4 Ratings
  1. "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courier Driver in Walsall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to work around your time, not so stressful workplace

    Cons

    I worked in December a few days and still haven't been paid . Poor management and unhelpful attitude as he didn't sent the proper rounds I done.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2020-02-17
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Don't Waste Your Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Courier/Delivery Driver in Huddersfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros with Hermes

    Cons

    Don't Get paid for collections Don't get paid for delivering catalogues Expect you to work all your waking hours Field managers will bad mouth you when they think you can't hear them Expect you to cover other peoples rounds as well as do your own Need to deliver 1,200+ parcels a week in order to make a wage Classed as self employed but expected to work when they say so No days off / no holidays

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-11-13

    Hermes Response

    November 13, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    It's very disappointing to read about your experience of working with Hermes, you might already know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. We'd really like the opportunity to look into some of the points you make, please can you email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk with the details so we can look into it? We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE. SAVE YOURSELF. "HERMES", MORE LIKE "HERPES"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Courier/Delivery Driver in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Taught me respect for people working as slaves

    Cons

    EXETER, DEVON -Website advertises £10 / hour -Get hired despite showing up late and telling manager I have disability. Clearly they're desperate for vulnerable people to make their victims/slaves. -Told insurance costing ~£1 per day that you work IS compulsory & that pay is 60p-£1.30 per package. NOT £10/hour as advertised on their website. -Worked from 11am til 9pm on Saturday 14th September. 10 hours of my life. -Spent £10 on fuel, £5 on beer because the whole thing was so depressing. -As of writing 4 Dec 19, 2 months later! HAVE NOT BEEN PAID! NOTHING! ZERO! NADA! Conclusion: Lost £15 and 10 hours of my life being a modern slave for Hermes. Question: Do you want to do the same? -Looking into formal complaint processes within Herpes and with the UK GOV.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-12-04

    Hermes Response

    December 6, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for getting in touch, really sorry to read about your thoughts and experience of working with Hermes. We'd like the opportunity to investigate some of your claims, please could you email glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk with all the details? You might also know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. Finally, if you are still waiting for outstanding pay, please email courierpay@hermes-europe.co.uk with the details so we can look into this. We wish you all the best for your future career and hope you find something you enjoy, thank you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "AVOID THIS COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courier Driver in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chatting to the other couriers at the depot nothing else positive about this job.

    Cons

    Works out about £3 an hour for a rural route. No proper training given so you have to find houses yourself in remote areas where you cant get a signal to google them!!!! Wear and tear on your own vehicle My invoice was wrong so I was well underpaid. Nothing on it for collections. You get paid per parcel delivered so if you cant deliver you dont get paid for it. You've still spent your own money on fuel to get there. No fuel allowance. Driving to the depot to get your parcels which takes about an hour by the time you've scanned and loaded them you do for free then you have to design the route yourself to deliver them not great for new couriers who have no idea what order to put them in or where the houses are.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-11-16

    Hermes Response

    November 18, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for sharing a review of Hermes, it's great to know you enjoyed working with the other couriers at the depot. However, it's really disappointing to read the rest of your review about your experience of working with Hermes, you should already know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. If you'd like to get in touch with more details so we can discuss this with you, you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk, thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Scam/I would ever give the company one star!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Courier Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes

    Pros

    there is nothing positive about working for Hermes.

    Cons

    I worked for 4 days delivering 180 parcels, paid £45. The job advertisement offers from £10 an hour. The company doesn't pay until you have worked two weeks, so the courier driver has to subsidise to company for the first few weeks. £1 is offered per item delivered, when you get your pay slip, it is only between 45p and 59p. Petrol money is offered but not paid. Hermes courier jobs are advertised daily because nobody wants to stay after getting their first pay slip. In effect they are getting stupid people like me to deliver their parcels for free!

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-11-11

    Hermes Response

    November 13, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    It's incredibly disappointing to read about your experience of working with Hermes, we would like the opportunity to investigate some of your claims if you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk with the details. In addition, you might already know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Courier/Delivery Driver in Dover, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Don't know any to be honest

    Cons

    Very poor preparation and communication.

    Hermes2019-10-10

    Hermes Response

    October 14, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of what it is like to work at Hermes, however, it is incredibly disappointing to read your comments. We've recently launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current employment status. We are always looking for ways to improve, if you would like to share any feedback you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrendous, appalling abusive vile behaviour across the board, unprofessional, poor communication skills & poor earnings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Courier Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes

    Pros

    Met some lovely people there that's about it

    Cons

    Disrespectful, rude and inappropriate behaviour by management. Low wages, zero support, they say you're self employed yet said you times & targets & if you need time off, good luck keeping your job. They threaten to take your contract away unless you jump through hoops, not self employed at all just a corrupt, abusive company.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-02-26

    Hermes Response

    March 1, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for writing a review of Hermes. It's great to read that you met lots of lovely people but disappointing to read your other comments. You might be pleased to know, in February, we announced that couriers will soon have the option to choose between their current self-employed status or opt in to the new model for benefits including sick pay and holiday pay. All the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  8. "parcel delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courier Driver in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible working, part time work field managers are helpful.

    Cons

    low per parcel rates, if they increase the parcel rate then it can be a good company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2018-11-22
  9. "Life as a Hermes Courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Courier/Delivery Driver in West Drayton, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hours and pay are good once you have learned route

    Cons

    Car is wrecked and no time off allowed

    Continue reading
    Hermes2018-09-04
  10. "Poor Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Courier Driver in Handforth, England

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Afraid to say none that I saw in my very short employment

    Cons

    Poor interview. No tools to do job Self-employed treated like dirt. Stood my ground and asked for tools to job. Not been paid by Hermes

    Continue reading
    Hermes2018-06-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews