Hermes Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hermes Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "I decided to join Hermes after reviewing and comparing against similar Logistics and Parcels company(in 13 reviews)

  • "The couriers themselves are mainly hard working and try to deliver a good service to their customers(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "parcels a week in order to make a wage(in 39 reviews)

  • "Also no one seems to vet the size of so called courier parcels sending some that need two people(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very golf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and well paid for job done

    Cons

    Very laborious And can mean working on special occasions

    Advice to Management

    Need higher fuel allowsncdz

    Hermes2019-11-28
  2. "Investment in tech and innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Owner in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great city centre location; leadership team; investment in IT; can-do attitude

    Cons

    Benefits package; parking at Tech Hub

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up ;-)

    Hermes2019-11-12
  3. "Let employees know the full details of self employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Winsford, North West England, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work around your commitments

    Cons

    If you have holidays.. you have to find your own cover.

    Advice to Management

    Explain this properly to drivers.

    Hermes2019-11-21
  4. "Good company full to the brim of good people working hard to achieve great things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Service Integration in Morley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of highly skilled and friendly people. Approachable management. Lots of innovation and growth with big new customers on-board and in the pipeline. Good rate of pay, working conditions and great if you're self motivated, good environment to show you're capable and gain respect. Great team working ethic, casual dress code for most teams, social scene for those who want it too. Best place I've worked on over... 30 years, young and old mix across teams works well and everyone is busy, focus on work/life balance is evident, they care and value their people as well as recognise that it's the people who are the business. It's a great place to work if you're enthusiastic, want to like coming to work and want to get on.

    Show More

    Cons

    High workload environment means everyone is busy and at peak times tensions run high but so far we've all remained friends!

    Advice to Management

    Review the many 'single point of failure' people to share those skills across more in the team. Accept that rapid change means less time to improve what we have and what we've newly built so some time for that next year would be good!

    Hermes2019-11-05
  5. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time

    Pros

    It was OK I guess.

    Cons

    I got bored of it after 5 years.

    Hermes2019-11-14
  6. "Go back 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good and friendly co workers

    Cons

    High turn over of management

    Advice to Management

    Look after your employees

    Hermes2019-11-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Can earn a living if you are happy being treated like a dog!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Courier in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have c300 parcels a day, told IF we DO NOT work 6 days a week, they will pull all rounds and give us 1-2 days a week. They bully you i to submission if you have bills and a family to provide for.

    Cons

    Your car or van, budget for a tyre every couple of months as you will get a puncture. Rude customers. Bullying on social media notice boards. Flakey technology, lies on pay from field managers. Basically idiots managing you!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to a few people at grass roots. But then as they salaried, and view couriers as scum, why would they?

    Hermes2019-11-30
  8. "If you work fast you'll be rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office in Leeds city center (but it's small). My team was made up of friendly people. Everyone wants to do the right thing most of the time. No clock-watching and flexible hours.

    Cons

    Management value reaching deadlines at all costs. Sadly little effort is made to improve code-quality and learning because there are so many projects which need doing. Salary is on the low side.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep IT teams in the loop when defining requirements for new projects. Agile should be a constant 2-way process between the technologists and the business.

    Hermes2019-11-07
  9. "Amazing company, great benefits, good opportunities to develop your carrier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Tester in Morley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit package, flexible hours, complex technologies and great place to improve your technical skills.

    Cons

    Not yet Less than 1 year but everything is ok

    Advice to Management

    Training for new starters

    Hermes2019-10-22
  10. "Strong work ethic and patience is a must"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mail Sorter in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good friendly folk to work with.

    Cons

    Terrible hours. 11pm to 9 or even 9.30am.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Hermes2019-10-17
Found 217 reviews