Hermes "courier" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hermes Employee Reviews about "courier"

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "I decided to join Hermes after reviewing and comparing against similar Logistics and Parcels company(in 13 reviews)

  • "The couriers themselves are mainly hard working and try to deliver a good service to their customers(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "parcels a week in order to make a wage(in 40 reviews)

  • "Also no one seems to vet the size of so called courier parcels sending some that need two people(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "courier"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Broken!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Courier in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for more than a year

    Pros

    The couriers themselves are mainly hard working and try to deliver a good service to their customers.

    Cons

    Where to start! Firstly, the whole process is antiquated and not aimed at delivering a great service to the paying customer. Even simple items like having a scanner that works is a battle. The business priorities are clear, deliver All NEXT & AMAZON parcels at all costs as there are penalties that have to be paid if they are not delivered. If a courier has an emergency or car breakdown whilst delivering they are threatened with losing their round if the delivery of these parcels is not completed. Middle Management is very weak and have limited people skills. Promises are frequently made and then denied later. No-one will provide you with anything in writing as this creates a paper trail. I had been paid incorrectly for 5 months running before I left last week and nobody is ever bothered. I registered it through all of the correct channels and lodged a complaint and you hear nothing! I am currently in the process of taking legal action against Hermes for the 2nd time in 3 months to recover the money I am owed.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-12-03

    Hermes Response

    December 6, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hermes. We have noted all the detail which will be passed to the relevant teams. If you are still waiting for payment to be checked, please email courierpay@hermes-europe.co.uk with all the details so this can be investigated, we'd like to get this sorted as soon as possible. Best of luck for your future career, thank you.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Scam/I would ever give the company one star!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Courier Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes

    Pros

    there is nothing positive about working for Hermes.

    Cons

    I worked for 4 days delivering 180 parcels, paid £45. The job advertisement offers from £10 an hour. The company doesn't pay until you have worked two weeks, so the courier driver has to subsidise to company for the first few weeks. £1 is offered per item delivered, when you get your pay slip, it is only between 45p and 59p. Petrol money is offered but not paid. Hermes courier jobs are advertised daily because nobody wants to stay after getting their first pay slip. In effect they are getting stupid people like me to deliver their parcels for free!

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-11-11

    Hermes Response

    November 13, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    It's incredibly disappointing to read about your experience of working with Hermes, we would like the opportunity to investigate some of your claims if you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk with the details. In addition, you might already know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  3. "Could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Courier in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for more than a year

    Pros

    Local parcel pick up

    Cons

    The customer service team have a bad attitude to couriers and do t understand nor want to understand the pressures Also no one seems to vet the size of so called courier parcels sending some that need two people !

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-07-15

    Hermes Response

    August 2, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for writing a review of Hermes. It's disappointing to read your comments about the Customer Service Team. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you, you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk to discuss your comments in more detail.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Rethink this, before you apply."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have amazing customers, and I enjoy seeing them everyday.

    Cons

    Late lorries, incompetence in the field team, the managers at the corporate level seem to have no idea what’s actually happening at the courier level. They truly pay peanuts, the company has no care or compassion for their couriers, this company has one goal, that is for the company to make money. Also, it is nearly impossible to get a day off.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-05-17

    Hermes Response

    May 23, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of what it is like to work at Hermes. It's lovely to read that you have amazing customers that you enjoy seeing. You should now be aware that Hermes is launching SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy guaranteed pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current employment status. If you would like to know more about the different opportunities open to you, please speak to your Field Manager who will be able to help, thank you and we wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  5. "Want a bad job apply here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Self Employed Driver in Elgin, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    The customers once u know a round are amazing.

    Cons

    This job consists of a lot of butt kicking and nastness. The demand that u work as self employed but dictate to you what u can and cannot do. What hour u can and cannot work. Ask u to be on duty for deliver at all times. They constantly lie to you about parcels and always send parcel in the wrong bands as a result you get underpaid. The pay is terrible! Some courier get less that 50p per percel when it costs them closer to a couple quid to deliver it. They expect u to use ur own car and send parcel that are massive and clearly oversized anyway. The manager who are directly above me only care about saving there jobs and not the courier and they constantly moan. And have a go for small thing. In my depo we all cover for each other as it small but now we can't do that so basically it's impossible to go on hoilday as there is no cover and it horiible. The parcel often arrive in crappy conditions and the hermes info system to the customers is clearly bad as customer are constantly told the wrong things. If u want stress no pay and no hoilday this is the perfect company

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-05-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "AVOID! AVOID! AVOID1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Manager in Weybridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company Car is the only pro

    Cons

    Low Wages Poor or No Training Couriers are not looking after, services removed even when they have real life problems. management are clueless I have worked for them for 8 weeks and I am the fifth manager to leave in that time. One manager left because he was asked to remove services from a courier who had just had a heart bypass

    Continue reading
    Hermes2018-10-24

    Hermes Response

    October 26, 2018PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's incredibly disappointing to read about your poor experience of working with Hermes. It's unclear whether you are a current employee or not but if you would like to provide more specific feedback, please contact your line manager or a member of the HR team. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 

    I have been working at Hermes

    Pros

    money good if you work 7 days a week non stop

    Cons

    no back up from managerment..always trying to push you to deliver more parcels andf then only getting paid the (packet) rate of 97p for big items & heavy items..forev every monther having to pull them up over wrong pay rate for normal parcels (they try to get away with giving the courier the low rate of 97p NOT the proper rate for a parcel of £1.30..i have to study the manifest to get my proper money..how many dont and then lose hundreds

    Continue reading
    Hermes2018-08-19
  8. "Bad courier Sheffield"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Courier/Delivery Driver in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for more than a year

    Pros

    At the moment very few, please read below. Thank you

    Cons

    This driver is giving us all a bad name she causes trouble with other drivers and basically does want she wants, our customers are always complaining about her lies and aggressive attitude, she often refuses to deliver to certain customers stating that they have been rude to her but yet when other drivers including myself go to these customers have no problem at all but all say what a terrible courier she is and are pleased she no longer delivers to them, some of our customers have stopped using us because of this driver/courier.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2018-04-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Courier Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy with this job, because i like to driving and i like to made happy my costumers, delivering they parcels on time.

    Cons

    Hermes don't take any care about couriers. Every day thinking how to cutting of they salary. Every day have for delivery parcels which are not on manifest = not payment form them, but never pay up 100% for delivery parcels which are not on manifest. Doesn't matter for Hermes, then every parcels are delivering on time - it always write between 95% and 98% on performance = low salary. Every day every courier have to deliver between 25 and 35 parcels, which are on manifest with incorrect details - too often bigger and heavy boxes are on manifest writing as packet /the most low payment/. If parcels which is not on manifest or is with incorrect details on manifest will be returned to depot - this going bad performance for the courier = cut of salary. To often from office given on manifest parcels for pick up or collection, about which costumers don't know anything or canceled = again bad collection performance = cut of salary.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2017-12-11

    Hermes Response

    June 5, 2018PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for getting in touch with us, we're sorry to hear your experience of Hermes is what we would have hoped. If you have spoken to your manager already, we'd recommend getting in touch with the HR team directly so we can work on improving this for the future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Capitalism at its worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Courier in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for more than a year

    Pros

    none what so ever, incredible!

    Cons

    One of the better rates of pay at £1.20 a package, £0.89 a parcel, but this was because of the large rural area; to just drive around my route would take 3.5-4 hours and because of the countryside it took its toll on the car. After business insurance on the car, goods in transport insurance, petrol costs, and accounting for non-delivered parcels, I ended up with less than the minimum wage. Lots of time was spent trying to organise the route, and for this they don't provide you with any route planning tools so you have to input all the postcodes into a 3rd party software and calculate the best route yourself, which takes a VERY LONG TIME which of course is unpaid. Loading the car and everything you do prior to delivering the parcels is unpaid. Lots of parcels can't be delivered because there isn't a safe place or the recipient isn't in, so these have to be added into the next days run which of course adds to the fuel costs. So the question is why MyHermes doesn't employ courier staff? Well it's obvious, because they'd end up paying far more money. It's a disgrace and this gig economy taking advantage of us the small guy should be outlawed!

    Continue reading
    Hermes2017-12-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews