Hitachi Capital (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hitachi Capital (UK) Reviews

Updated 28 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi Capital (UK) CEO Robert Gordon
Robert Gordon
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Consumer Finance division is an extremely fast-paced working environment, constantly looking for ways to be the best at what we do(in 9 reviews)

  • "As an employer they clearly look for excellent performance but also encourage achieving a good work / life balance(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Senior management lack direction which is both stressful and confusing for staff(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We are really well looked after with great employee benefits, from the big things like pay, bonus, pension to the small gestures like advent calendars and Easter eggs. We pride ourselves on delivering a great service to our customers and there is a great investment in developing our knowledge and skills with a huge array of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    For me, it's quite a long way from home and my journey can take longer than I would like.

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-10-28
  2. "Good values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good values, good products

    Cons

    Slow speed of change and outdated processes/systems

    Advice to Management

    Employ more support staff!

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-10-22
  3. "small part of a larger Japanese overlords"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Technical Support Engineer in Staines, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ok on the face of it

    Cons

    management do not listen or respond

    Advice to Management

    open yor ears, close your biases

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-08-18
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team, opportunities to learn new skills and develop career have increased in the past few months. My manager really cares and all of the managers are really approachable. You are encouraged to think about a career at Hitachi. Fun atmosphere in the office with lots of events.

    Cons

    It can be busy and sometimes team meetings get cancelled

    Advice to Management

    Keep being approachable, keep giving us the opportunities to develop and keep up the recognition of people who try hard and give great customer service!

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-07-24
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Used to be great however now in a constant state of limbo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good down to Earth staff, for the most part. The facilities are modern and parking is free and just over the road. Pay fluctuates but isn't bad and there is a sense of community with those you immediately work with. The annual bonus and Christmas gift is always appreciated If you want to progress then there are opportunities but I'd do a secondment if possible before committing to a move.

    Cons

    The place is currently in limbo and no one knows what they're doing. Recent 'multi-skilling' has meant you now do the job of two or even three people with a minimal pay increase and no support. Senior management seem to be hell bent on providing change for the sake of change and it's leaving staff confused, frustrated and incredibly overworked. As a new starter i'd consider a rethink. You join in the hopes of... joining a company on the brink of positive change only to find ill-equipped staff, massive gaps in knowledge and those most experienced jumping ship. Not the fault of staff or agents but senior management. HR are literally non existent with someone coming in and then leaving every 9 months or so meaning no stability. The whole business is reliant on one person, who is great and will make time for you, but I for one pity her.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Two things: Communication. You need to let your staff know they're free to voice their opinions and concerns and not bully or belittle them. More Staff. You can cross train all you want but asking so much of so few is a sure fire recipe for disaster. The staff are fragile and ignoring it will only make things worse.

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-06-21
  6. "Good company but subject to the department and individual manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New comer’s pay is not bad, higher than market avg

    Cons

    Conservative and behind the market movement

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-06-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of direction and ability to make decisions from senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free parking and coffee. People generally nice and supportive. HR department incredibly approachable. Quartly social events.

    Cons

    Company currently struggling through a time of change. Senior management lack direction which is both stressful and confusing for staff. This has lead to employees lacking support and being left in limbo for almost half a year. Salary and benefits are ok, but not comparable to industry average. The salary gap became shockingly evident after moving to another company in the finance sector. Behind the times with... lack of flexible working and the ability to work from home. With the office becoming full and cramped, this would benefit the company greatly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Accept that delaying decision is creating misery for staff. Accept that the business is no longer small and needs to transition into a more corporate set up before it’s too late.

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-03-30
  8. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Close-knit team Nice facilities

    Cons

    Lack of direction Frequent changes in direction

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-02-10
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great place... Until it isn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hitachi seems great at first. Nice people. Nice office. It all seems nice.

    Cons

    Over time toy realise the nice is a shield. No one is being honest, and the caring is just a mask.

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to the words you are saying, and try actually feeling the things you say you feel.

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-02-22
  10. "Great company with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly organisation that gives great opportunities! The people are fantastic!

    Cons

    Can be overly bureaucratic, sometimes processes supersede logic.

    Advice to Management

    Keep things simple

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-01-08
Found 82 reviews