Hitachi Rail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hitachi Rail Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Alistair Dormer
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The business has no real direction and are failing in their bids to win contracts to ensure people stay in a job(in 3 reviews)

  • "I haven’t witnessed such widespread incompetence like it in 25yrs(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Supporting team and good environment to work

    Cons

    Not specific but work and life depends upon the team

    Hitachi Rail2019-04-19

    Hitachi Rail Response

    May 3, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Great to hear you've had a positive experience, thanks for sharing!

  2. "It could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The environment is very friendly and everyone very helpful.

    Cons

    There is a lack of carrier plan.

    Hitachi Rail2019-04-16

    Hitachi Rail Response

    May 3, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  3. "Human Resources Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time

    Pros

    Strong people ethic, disciplined work approach, Opportunities for staff in all areas

    Cons

    Managing large growth within the company made some original staff feel they were overlooked

    Advice to Management

    With the growth of the company consider existing staff development

    Hitachi Rail2019-01-19

    Hitachi Rail Response

    January 31, 2019Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for your review - We really value your feedback.

  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good, people. Exciting opportunities.

    Cons

    Sometimes chaotic and disorganised, not much planning

    Advice to Management

    You’ll get there, believe in your staff.

    Hitachi Rail2018-12-12

    Hitachi Rail Response

    December 19, 2018Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Technician in Bishop Auckland, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, clean. Work hard and your rewarded. Salary is very good and competitive. Good spirit within my section

    Cons

    Attitudes of some staff. Both with how they work;causing unnecessary damage and not caring about it. Some staff hide away on trains for most of the shift.

    Advice to Management

    I’ve no problems with management however more needs to be done to get rid of the people who don’t care. Staff attitudes are that of someone not skilled and looking at the clock waiting for 3o clock to speed out the car park.

    Hitachi Rail2018-12-04

    Hitachi Rail Response

    December 19, 2018Employee Relations Team

    Thank you for your feedback – I am glad that overall you've had a positive time at Hitachi Rail! We are always looking at ways to make improvements & honest feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.

  6. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time

      Pros

      Good Hours and Benefits - health care and Pension contribution

      Cons

      Holidays - having to take two weeks off in August. Not being able to buy additional.

      Advice to Management

      .

      Hitachi Rail2018-11-21
    • Helpful (4)

      "Management have made it hell"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time

      Pros

      Honestly it could be amazing but the management is awful.

      Cons

      No respect for employees. Changing policies daily. It's a shambles.

      Advice to Management

      Leave

      Hitachi Rail2018-12-04

      Hitachi Rail Response

      December 19, 2018Employee Relations Team

      Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. While it's disappointing to hear some of your comments, we appreciate all of the feedback we receive, and will ensure our leadership team is made aware of it.

    • Helpful (3)

      "Beware fake HR reviews"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newton Aycliffe, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Hitachi has made any other company I could possibly work for look world class.

      Cons

      The regular fake reviews added by HR designed to artificially bolster their derisory rating are disgraceful. The one on Nov 29th is the worst yet. So far from the truth that if it were a product they were selling and you bought one you would report them to trading standards and demand a refund. As one contributor said, “A more behind the curve outfit you will struggle to find”. Absolutely spot on. I haven’t witnessed...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Your are entirely to blame. While your heads are firmly in the sand just remember it’s peoples livelihoods you will ruin when your incompetence forces the Japanese to close the plant.

      Hitachi Rail2018-12-01

      Hitachi Rail Response

      December 19, 2018Employee Relations Team

      Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of working at Hitachi Rail. We take all feedback seriously and it's extremely helpful for us, so thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Poorly managed company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manufactuuring Team Member in Newton Aycliffe, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      It's hard to find a pro for a company so poorly managed. Good shift pattern Nice uniform Reasonable pay rate Clean work place

      Cons

      No prospects for temp staff as colleagues on temp contracts are getting laid off. Company broadcasted it on TV weeks before telling the staff involved then got rid of loads in time for Christmas. Staff with poor records get contracts while good workers get binned due to poor staff management. Too many people spend all day hiding on trains doing nothing , unsupervised.

      Advice to Management

      Start showing some backbone and actual management skills and keep the good workers and bin the ones with poor records. Your just making the job harder for the rest of us. Start properly supervising the floor so the good workers are not burdened with the workload of the lazy and useless. Train HR in how to sack useless people instead of using the last in first out rule. That's just lazy and shows HR cant manage people....

      Show More
      Hitachi Rail2018-11-24
    • Helpful (3)

      "Could be great, but..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Loads of opportunity, job security, working conditions

      Cons

      Weak management, cliquey and unpleasant interpersonal dynamics

      Advice to Management

      Value all your staff, not just your senior team

      Hitachi Rail2018-09-14
    Found 42 reviews