Holiday Extras Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 218 reviews

3.9
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Holiday Extras CEO Matthew Pack
Matthew Pack
20 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company

    Apr 8, 2022 - Software Engineer in Sofia, Sofia (city)
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice colleagues, interesting domain, good processes

    Cons

    -salary review is rarely made -not much opportunity

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Mar 13, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Munich, Bavaria
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice and interesting work, mostly full stack.

    Cons

    Legacy + lots of soap

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Oct 19, 2021 - Software Engineer in Hythe, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Don’t have any cons. Don’t have any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Almost gave up my long career as a Software Engineer after working at Holiday Extras.

    Oct 2, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working, can't think of anything else.

    Cons

    Holiday Extras is one of the worst kinds of places to work at. Everybody is smiling and acting friendly to get you to believe that they are there to support you and to create this "We are one family" atmosphere. However, everything is absolutely FAKE. When I first started, I was told that I will be supported in learning and progressing further in my career. However, their progression/feedback system doesn't really allow for much progression, especially if you don't know the right people there. Basically, every three months they do 360 degrees reviews where your team members have to give feedback on how well you've done and what you can improve on. I really don't mind constructive feedback. However, this constant peer feedback promotes competitiveness and toxicity amongst everyone. Every single small mistake you make will end up on at least one of your feedback forms and hence on your progress report. And of course, will hamper your progression. This very slowly ruined my confidence as a Software Engineer completely. And the worst thing is that it happened so slowly and unnoticeably that I ended up thinking that it's all me, that everyone else is really nice and that maybe I am not good enough in whatever I was doing. On top of that, I got bullied by a team member. And when I informed my manager, all she said was "Oh well but she's been with us for a long time now and she is a very good developer." And when things got tough during Covid and redundancies had to be made, they were like "Oh we care about all of you. We will create an alumni Facebook group and as soon as things get better, you will be the first to be re-hired." That was, of course, a BIG FAT LIE! None of us - the people who were made redundant and who have been loyal to them for years was hired back. Honestly, being made redundant by Holiday Extras was one of the best things that could have happened to me. It took me a while to gain my confidence back but I am really happy now in my current company. It's nice to feel appreciated.

    4 people found this review helpful

    Holiday Extras Response

    Thank you for your review. Fostering an authentic culture where everyone feels valued, included and recognised is a priority to us. We’d therefore like the opportunity to speak to you in more detail regarding your comments about bullying, as we do not tolerate this in any form at Holiday Extras. If you are comfortable doing so, please contact me at mclarkecowell@holidayextras.com or any of the People Team with your preferred method of communication and we will get back to you ASAP. We’d also like to talk to you about your experience of our 360 feedback process. The intention of asking for peer support is to provide a broad spectrum of feedback to help each person develop and progress. The feedback is centred around the person’s strengths as well as their areas of development so that it is balanced and provides clear areas of focus for growth. The process takes place every 6 months - you mention that for you, it occurred more frequently, so we’d like to discuss this in more detail with you. In reference to your points about the restructuring process - due to the impact that Covid had on our industry, we were devastated to have to make people redundant. As part of our recovery, however, we have openly shared opportunities to rejoin our team via the alumni group and have made a number of re-hires as a result. We really hope that you are able to get in touch to further explore the points raised in your review. If we don’t hear from you however, we wish you all the best for the future.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    -

    Jun 25, 2021 - Software Engineer in Folkestone, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working, good work culture

    Cons

    Could do better on progression of employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    A fantastic place to work for 13 years.

    Jun 22, 2021 - Data Engineer in Folkestone, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In technical roles, people are given a great deal of freedom to work with leading and bleeding edge technology. If it can help get the job done, you have the opportunity to prove it. The company started its move to AWS in 2009, that was early. We were very early and enthusiastic adopters of PPC. Employees have always been given great Apple machines to work on. There's a great sense of democracy, all code goes through pull requests, design decisions are debated and all opinions are counted. Data leads the way at Holiday Extras. Everything is split test. The workflow has been Agile in some sense or other since about 2010 - again, early adopters in that area. The tech teams have 10% of their time to themselves to work on their own ideas. A conference is held (biannually) to discuss and promote the benefits gained from these projects. Remote working has been encouraged for years, long before COVID. A forward thinking program of year-in-industry student placement has led to many students being offered work after their studies, staying on long after their initial commitment, becoming senior engineers and allowing them to concentrate on exams rather than job hunting in their final year. All new starters, including students, are encouraged to deploy something on their first day. The change may be trivial but you see the entire deployment process and meet people from many areas with different skillsets in the process. The benefits package is very good. Matthew the CEO deserves great credit for putting such an emphasis on tech at such an early stage, far ahead of many others in the industry. He's brought in top-quality people as both employees and consultants, and driven the company forward with strength and determination. Holiday Extras has always taken pride in taking care of its employees, the People Team are and have always been excellent and forward thinking. Above all I think it's a meritocracy where hard work is well-rewarded.

    Cons

    The travel industry is undeniably having a difficult time. There will be work that needs turning round super-fast as priorities change and the situation evolves. But that's exciting!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good learning curve

    Jun 22, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunities to come in and learn. holiday extras have done well to work with local universities to bring on graduates and progress them to strong mid developers

    Cons

    It’s somewhat difficult to move past the mid level engineering stages. There wasn’t a clear progression opportunity and some promotions felt to be tenure based rather than based on performance. They also have a strong family culture but I felt this to be a bit of a cover for internal politics and “knowing who you needed to know”

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lost it's way

    Jun 10, 2021 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked with a lot of very talented developers. The CEO handled the pandemic well to start with.

    Cons

    Prior to the redundancies made due to Covid the tech team had lost its way. Firing, or edging out several loyal and talented engineers. Also many senior engineers were demoted as the business "realigned" job roles. A focus on metrics and being managed by non-technical staff lead to increased frustration. Performance reviews by people you rarely or never worked with became the norm. If you weren't part of the right crowd you were sidelined. There was also an over complicated set of project managers, product managers & line managers all attempting to look busy by micromanaging the developers. This flew in the face of the autonomy which was the norm when I started at Hx. Rather than putting ideas out to the team, and having healthy discussions, radical changes in technical direction were forced on the rest of the team. Despite being "remote first" remote workers were often given solo tasks away from the team, and People Team obviously had no time for remote workers, arranging meeting after meeting and work shop after workshop which were inaccessible to remote workers. Pay rises were rare, using the standard line of baselining salaries against similar jobs in the area. Of course when you adjust peoples job titles you can manipulate this baseline to suit the business. The company promised to rehire from the pool of redundant employees first, but jobs were not posted to the alumni facebook group.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    No Fun, No Point indeed!

    Jun 15, 2021 - Software Engineer in Folkestone, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Were very open to remote working even before the pandemic

    Cons

    The pandemic did hit the company a fair bit, but it only amplified the problems within the company as the cracks were really starting to show even before hand. The divide between the tech team and the rest of the business are staggering and causing a cultural separation, which was mostly ignored by leadership team. In the tech team itself, if you weren't on the leaderships favorite list, you would have to fight tooth and nail to progress your career here, let alone get your opinions and suggestions even remotely considered. The biggest problem however is Matt. It's his way or the highway. It's soul draining with a CEO micromanaging every key detail of our work. You can tell the atmosphere is more productive and open when he's out the office or on holiday. Finally, the pay and benefits are laughable in comparison to other tech companies. If Matt wants to state that Holiday Extras is a tech company, he needs to be providing benefits to reflect that.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Broken Promises and PR stunts

    May 20, 2021 - Software Engineer in Dover, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Team (most probably gone now) Great Campus including Paddle Tennis Court Occasional Events - BBQs, Summer Party etc.

    Cons

    I was made redundant at the tail end of 2020 due to the massive effect that Covid had on the company, and the travel industry as a whole. While disappointed, I understood that the business felt it was needed to make redundancies to save the business. However, the manner in which Holiday Extras carried out the redundancies was nothing short of despicable. When the Government announced the extension of the furlough scheme, many believed that their furlough could be extended. Even if it led to inevitable redundancy, it would still give them a semblance of security while hunting for alternative employment. Holiday Extras, even though I'm certain they could have, chose not to help their now-former employees. The CEO delivered weekly updates of how the business was doing and when redundancies finally had to be confirmed the message was clear. “We will do whatever we can to help you moving forward” and "you will always be part of the Holiday Extras family and we will do all we can to get those made redundant back in the business as soon as possible". This seemingly genuine care made me overlook the fact that my mental health was something that was discussed when selecting me for redundancy - from a company that professes to be hot on mental health awareness and care. Holiday Extras announced recently (May 2021 - 10 months after the redundancies) "Holiday Extras launches £1m recruitment drive" yet the jobs were not advertise nor offered to the former "holiday extras family" as was promised. Furthermore when applying for the role that I had previously been fulfilling for several years, I was told that it wasn’t a good fit. Holiday Extras cares more about the PR spin than it does its “family” To make matter worse, there were pay raises and promotions being dished out left, right and centre once all of the redundancies had been completed. The redundancies were made to ensure the business had funds to secure its future - yeah, right. Since leaving Holiday Extras many of the team that remained after the cull have since left, due to the handling of the situation, the treatment of staff, and the enforced contract changes. Holiday Extras has discarded so many loyal, hard working and exceptionally talented people, treating them like something they’ve stepped on. Those people that, throughout the entire process, understood the decisions and accepted with grace, looking forward to a future with a company they loved. To now brag about a £1m recruitment drive, is nothing short of distasteful, heartless and shameless - stay classy HX Give this one a miss if you are looking for a lengthy career where your talent and commitment will be recognised. They don’t care about their people; they only care that money ends up in their back pocket...

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Popular Careers with Holiday Extras Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Holiday Extras? Share Your Experiences

Holiday Extras logo
or