Hollywood Life Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hollywood Life Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.8
13%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Hollywood Life CEO Jay Penske (no image)
Jay Penske
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Place Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The building is close to public transport and good for commuters. Penske itself seems to care about employees but I honestly don't have anything positive to say about HL.

    Cons

    This is by far the worst place I have ever worked and I could write a book on all of the terrible treatment here. I understand my placement on the totem pole and am tolerant of how people treat me but this is on a whole new level. Expect to be belittled at every opportunity, whether it be in front of all of your co-workers or while being screamed at over your personal cell phone for something you did not do. There... is a lot of blame placed on others and frustration taken out on the innocent. You will be treated terribly whether you are liked or disliked. There is constant calling to your personal phone and you will be reamed out for missing a call if you happen to take a 2 minute toilet break. There is such a lack of humanity that it is laughable. You will be talked to as if you are less than dirt and it is truly damaging to the morale of the whole office and individual spirit of workers. Due to this treatment, most employees are miserable and produce a great deal of hostility towards one another . Be expected to be "on" all the time at all hours of the day and night for journalism that lacks integrity. You will be called and texted with demanding and belittling text messages even if you aren't working. There is required overtime to cover all award shows and there is no extra compensation besides partial comp days that are difficult to even get approved to use. The yelling and screaming is constant during award shows so be ready! If only employees were trusted to do their jobs (which they are capable of doing. There were a lot of smart people here) it may be a slightly better experience. I can't even watch award shows anymore because of this. For almost the whole duration of my employment, I suffered severe anxiety from the time I woke up until the time I went to bed. After a lengthy time of not working there, I am STILL plagued with it. My best recommendation for anyone looking to work here is to save your mental well being and DO NOT take the job, even in desperation. It is honestly not worth it. This place will stand out to future employers not because of the experience you gained here but because you survived and lived to tell the tale.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Save the integrity of your company and make changes to management. Not doing so will only result in future human resource related problems and continue the huge turnover rate. It is unreal that the disrespectful treatment of the employees here has been tolerated for so long. Something as simple as kindness and respect goes a long way. Constant disrespect does not inspire great work or creativity. Trustworthy... employees should be given more trust to do their job well.

    Show More
    Hollywood Life2019-02-01
  2. "Tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time

    Pros

    Great work space and amenities

    Cons

    A very sink or swin environment

    Advice to Management

    Dont spend weeks interviewing and vetting someone and only to cut bait quickly

    Hollywood Life2018-09-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Hard Work, but Impeccable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -When a a team member is successful with a story or event, the Editor in Chief will treat the office to breakfast or luxe treats. -The office is shared with other amazing publications under the parent company, and every so often, there are beauty giveaways with free amazing products that last forever. -The office is stunning, as is the location right in Bryant Park. It's an absolutely insane place to start in an... entry level position. -Pay is generous. -The number of staff in NY is not huge, and so the EIC will give you the opportunity to branch out, attend events, and have more responsibility over time. -You get to work with a group of young, smart people who love pop culture and what they do -Working under the EIC is an amazing opportunity as she has had long, successful career. She is always open to sitting down and having a conversation with you about how she has overcome obstacles and what you can do to be better, offering a reference, which is unheard of with most higher ups in a company. -The hiring process is a quick and smooth process and everyone in corporate is very friendly. -You don't feel closed off from the world during office hours, as the flat screens are always on with the news and talk shows.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Only 'con' thought of is there is a relatively early start time, but it is a news outlet. -Difficult to build up comp hours when you are just starting out.

    Advice to Management

    Not really any advice. Working at HL prepared me for my next job and next 'tough' boss. Everywhere you go in the entertainment industry there will be a higher up that you can either find difficult to deal with, or grow thick skin, learn from them, and progress!

    Hollywood Life2018-08-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Without a Doubt The Worst Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time

    Pros

    -Location? - Building? - SOME of the staff members

    Cons

    I have worked just about everywhere and this was without a doubt the worst environment. EVER. *Lunch breaks (first couple weeks there were none, and when I went to HR pertaining them it opened up an entire can of worms on me instead) *Speaking of HR-- they're an absolute nightmare-- you go to them looking for assistance and before you know it, you're the one on trial. *Most alarming in regards to HR-- even... when you present hard-copy evidence you are still labeled as the perpetrator opposed to the victim (ironic, in the #MeToo movement) * The EIC has absolutely no idea what she is doing: out-of-touch with reality, micro-managing every last task (but has absolutely no idea what she is doing), doesn't identify with her targeted demographic, extremely contradicting (says to do one thing, you do it, and then says that is the wrong way to do it), handwrites EVERYTHING (half the time you cannot read it), favors one staff member and one staff member only (leaving everywhere else with no opportunity) * No chain of command * No room for growth (with one staff member calling the shots, there is absolutely no opportunity for ANYONE to grow or have a chance to expand their skill set) * EIC had a 'Glassdoor' meeting during employment where she now it writing FAKE reviews on office life * Speaking of 'fake' reviews-- the "sources" itself that are featured in the stories * While out-of-the-box is expected (it is media, after all!) you are expected to work 24/7 and not clock it (when you are an hourly employee)-- and if you do, you are then subject to timecard questions * Speaking of timecards, despite working more hours than clocked, you are consistently questioned on why you are clocking the hours you are working * Intern duties-- despite the fact you are hired as something else (reheating coffee for 90 seconds, fetching coffee, dry-cleaning, etc.) -- which would be fine if you were then permitted to do other tasks-- but you are not * Extremely biased-- if she doesn't like you, you have no shot * You cannot move companies-- you think you can just put up with her for "x-amount of time" but with this rule on moving to a different company... it is a lose-lose (even more so, she sits on the board so there is no opportunity to ever leave) * Runs a digital publication but cannot even use a computer (did not even understand how to "right click" with a mouse-- you literally RIGHT, CLICK) * Senior management will turn a blind eye as they can't protect you (nor do they want to subject themselves to ridicule)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While the EIC will chalk my review (amongst others) up as disgruntled former employees you have to wonder how so many former employees all are preaching the same issues repeatedly-- but are continuously silenced. HL has such an opportunity to be a major power-player right now in the digital realm, but as long as Bonnie is running it, there is no opportunity for succeeding. It's expected to have favorites, but to... have one employee get paid to put on make-up for eight hours straight, get drunk on lunch hours (come back to the office) and still call all of the shots and that be acceptable-- yet other workers bust their butts and are continuously ostracized. It is mind-boggling that this woman preaches how she is a champion for all women to find their inner-voice and fight for what is right-- yet she belittles any and all of those she views as a threat (embarrassing as she is a 61-year-old woman and is threatened by 25-year-olds who are solely there to learn from her). I wish I could provide advice to management but it is a lost cause. Instead, my advice to those who are reading this and considering a job there: hear the sincerity in my words as you read this, DON'T. This is not an opportunity. I understand the climate right now is difficult, and a paycheck is a paycheck-- but this is the exception to that. This is a life sentence. One in which you do not wish to have. Intern. Freelance. Honestly, anything is better than this and will ultimately provide you with more than this. Chances are you will optimistically take this role, think you are doing good, and be blindsided (like all the rest) when you are subjected to verbal and mental abuse day-in-and-day-out. To any potential job-seeker: you deserve more than this jealous, manipulative, vindictive, soul-sucking individual. Whom it just a flat out horrible woman. If there was a space for attachments, I would attach examples on my absolutely horrific experience there. It is disgusting to think that HR stands beside her, lets her call the shots when this is an individual who has years of documented, yes documented (GOOGLE HER), history of this sort of behavior. Do not chalk this up as a building block either for future horrible bosses. You can only use that excuse when you are learning and growing-- this is the opposite. The EIC gets a powertrip from verbally abusing her workers. There is no growth from her lessons. It is a power trip and she gets off on it. Just look at the shows, talent and events she is banned from. Not everyone is wrong. I truly cannot fathom someone who is not bringing in any revenue still being bulletproof or protected. We are living in a climate where ALL voices matter. Here, only hers does.

    Show More
    Hollywood Life2018-09-21
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Will be shut down in 5 years or less."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Ability to write about almost any subject. - Opportunity to cover red carpet events and build experience interviewing talent and building connections. - Having this on your resume shows future employers you are resilient and a hard worker. - Midtown office is in a convenient and beautiful location. - Parent company's (PMC) CEO is great.

    Cons

    - It is very clear there is no business plan in place for HL. With traffic dropping daily and zero interest in building a brand or keeping up with the changes in the digital media landscape, the site's future is bleak at best. - If you take a job there thinking you can eventually move to another PMC brand like Variety or TV Line, you are out of luck. HR refuses to admit/address the issue but the EIC has "banned"... staff members from moving within the parent company to better, more notable outlets. - The EIC has absolutely no idea what she's doing. She claims to be the "BFF to millennials" but only allows editorial staff to push out two kinds of content: clickbait and subjects she is personally interested in. - EIC micro manages everything. She approves every headline, every article, etc. If something goes up that she didn't approve, you will feel her wrath for days. - EIC expects you to be perfect at everything but doesn't know how to type on a computer, properly respond to emails, or even something as simple as copying and pasting a link to send to someone else. - Site relies solely on Google search traffic, which is unrealistic for any digital media company in 2018. - EIC doesn't understand social media (or YouTube or podcasts) so it's not a priority for the site, which is also unrealistic for any digital media company in 2018. - Basically if the EIC doesn't know what it is or how it works, she deems it unimportant and irrelevant. - Senior Management has all but given up. When you try to point out the issues within the site so they can be resolved, you're told to just keep doing what the EIC wants to keep her happy. - HR is the same way. You can go to them with the same issues over and over again and they do nothing. No one is on your side. - There is no top editing in place for articles. Each staff writer is considered an "editor." - If you pitch a project that costs any amount of money you will be turned down and told there's no room in the budget. But the EIC expenses 2-3 trips to Starbucks every day she's in the office. - Reporters are not properly vetted. It's unclear if the EIC even knows who their "sources" are or where their "exclusive" information is coming from. But, if it will get traffic, the EIC makes sure it gets published ASAP. - As if all of this wasn't bad enough, the newsroom environment is awful. Most staff members are catty and gossipy, so building a "team" workspace is basically impossible. - There is zero work/life balance. The EIC has even said she doesn't believe in it. You will work your weekly schedule, then be asked to work weekends, holidays, and every TV special and awards show in existence. - You are given "comp" time that you will have trouble using. - For each 6 to 8 hour award show you work you are given just 3 hours of comp time. Simple math proves this doesn't add up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ditch the EIC. Put someone in charge who is eager and willing to build a brand, an audience, and put in the time and effort to make HollywoodLife a trusted resource for celebrity and entertainment news.

    Hollywood Life2018-08-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don't Take This Job -- It's Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You get "treats" for doing "good" work - You can work from home occasionally - PMCs benefits are pretty great

    Cons

    - LONG days, I'm talking 50 + hour work weeks with crappy pay - You most likely will never get a raise - The EIC will call you when you're off the clock and harass you and they don't pay for your cellphone bill - The EIC also doesn't understand how the site works or what does well for the website and will yell at you and insult you try to tell her otherwise - If you're working an odd hour shift or on weekends,... time off is IMPOSSIBLE - If you work weekends you will never get off them. I was there for two years and never did - Your hard work is just under appreciated - You hardly will ever move up in the company - The EIC will change things about the website on a whim and expect everyone to know even if no one told them - Basically just be prepared to be screamed at by the EIC... just try not to take it personally - If the parent company PMC puts on any employee events you most likely can never go to them because they fall under your schedule and according to the EIC "news never stops" so basically you aren't allowed to have a life - You're expected to work sundays for award shows which during award season is every sunday for like two months, and you don't get paid extra for them, but instead get "comp days" to use later which again, basically never happens because it's so difficult to get time off - There is no work to life balance - The material the website writes is not good, and is at times degrading - The rules change so much it's so hard to keep track - Will fire perfectly fine employees for no reason -- no job security - Even if you bust your butt, bring suggestions to the team, ask for more work, it still won't be enough - No bonuses, or holiday bonuses. I've been at small companies who even give their employees extra pay if they go above and beyond - Everyone in upper management is a complete grump and really negative - If you work weekends you don't get to take advantage of monday holidays - You will be expected to work holidays

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Encourage your employees, a little positive reinforcement will make people actually want to work hard for you - HR needs to do something about the EIC Bonnie... multiple complaints have been brought up and yet nothing gets done - Compensate your employees better - Listen to feedback from your employees - Give your employees more time off. They're what keeps your website running... appreciate and listen to... them more - Stop having people write fake reviews on this company. HL hasn't had interns in at least two years so whoever is writing those positive reviews is definitely management - Just be nice

    Show More
    Hollywood Life2018-08-24
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Nightmares 3 years later"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get access to some fun events but...

    Cons

    ...the pros start and end there. It’s been three years since I worked for this god forsaken company and I truly still feel nauseous when I recall my time there. As others have said in these reviews, so very much is wrong with this hellacious company that you can’t even pinpoint anything. They pray on young women just out of college who don’t know any better when it comes to how one should be treated by their... colleagues and bosses (which is to say nothing of the fact they also don’t know better to demand better pay than the ABYSMAL salary, if you can even call it a salary as it’s unliveable in New York City). You’re required to work additional nights and weekends and you just...don’t get paid to do so? But of course, every one of HL’s problems is embodied in the EIC. Invoking The Devil Wears Prada is far too complimentary, as this woman is not nearly smart or savvy enough to deserve such a likening. What a miserable human being in every sense. She treats her employees as if they’re incompetent garbage, meanwhile she’s running one of the most vile outlets the internet has ever seen, not to mention is undeniably unintelligent. She’s a bad person, producing bad things in this world, and I only hope that someday someone makes her feel as terrible as she makes those who work for her feel on a daily basis.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shut it down. I know you won’t because this despicable business model makes money, but this entire company produces toxicity and nothing else and every person who perpetuates its mission should cease to do so immediately. No? Ok then I guess TREAT YOUR EMPLOYEES BETTER AND MORE FAIRLY. Wow, crazy concept I know. Also impart an HR system that actually functions and assists employees when they complain of feeling... unsafe in the office. And if you’re a prospective employee reading this and thinking “well, it’s a job...” don’t do it. Seriously. Wait tables, bartend, just hold out. I promise there is something else out there for you. You do not deserve to put yourself through this.

    Show More
    Hollywood Life2018-06-09
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Soulsucking. Heartless EIC."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of my co-workers were awesome, intelligent and commiserated over the insane editor-in-chief

    Cons

    Everything else. Upper management, the editor-in-chief herself - a heartless, insane, soul crushing woman.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the EIC. Shut down the site. Avoid. YOU ARE BETTER THAN THIS "NEWS" SOURCE.

    Hollywood Life2018-04-21
  9. Helpful (8)

    "It’s a No from Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hollywood Life full-time

    Pros

    Donuts, cupcakes, etc. etc. ?

    Cons

    I wish I could put into words how horrible this company is to work for. Here, I will try. - While many can start at HL and move up, your hard work ethic will not help that. It’s only if the EIC wakes up in the mood to like you will she promote you. - If working at night, you’ll get 10+ calls criticizing the way you’re doing every little thing — especially if you’re not in NY, where she can control you in... person. - If you have interest in celebrity interviews, steer clear. For the few publicists that will work with HL - the ones the EIC hasn’t completely ruined the relationship with - it’s possible that will go away by the time they come in & meet the demeaning producer. If you want anything on camera & it’s not an attractive female or someone he finds interesting, it’s a pass. - Speaking of, if you have any interest of being on camera, this is not the place for you. The producer calls the shots for this, not the EIC - she listens to every lie he tells. He plays favorites and will do the interview himself before giving an actual journalist a chance. He also has no problem getting in multiple women’s faces in the middle of the newsroom, while the boss stands by and watches. - If you do have any issues like stated above, there’s no where to go. Chances are, the “HR department” has already received the same complaints and nothing will be done. - The company has no problem letting people go without any actual reason — and doing it publicly for the entire newsroom to see. - Then there is the usual stuff: 60+ work weeks, EVERY week, no work/life balance (the EIC has stated aloud she doesn’t believe in that), “comp time” equals a third of what you actually put in and all-around horrible moral. Everyone shutters the moment the day begins and can only breathe when she walks out, which stops her micro-managing for maybe 10 minutes until she gets on her iPad and attempts to answer emails... if she can figure out how to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See above.

    Hollywood Life2018-02-26
  10. "AMAZING company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Hollywood Life

    Pros

    -got an amazing hands-on experience of what the editors do by writing stories and attending fashion show BEST internship ever

    Cons

    The time I was there, there was no cons

    Advice to Management

    amazing company!

    Hollywood Life2017-10-26
Found 18 reviews