Holmes Oil Reviews

Updated 30 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
26%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Holmes Oil CEO Edward Holmes  (no image)
Edward Holmes
5 Ratings
  1. "Don't do it"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holmes Oil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The regulars and some coworkers are great

    Cons

    They flip flop around so darn much that it doesn't make any sense at all. You don't know what they are going to come up with next. Its like they want you to say forget it and quit. They want you to keep spending your money that you work for on uniform bottoms. Worst part you can't even contact your corporate office to speak with someone or you get in trouble wow.

    Holmes Oil2020-01-30
  2. "Overall okay job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holmes Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting people and customers, benefits,

    Cons

    Management needs work, short breaks

    Holmes Oil2019-09-02
  3. "Too much favoritism"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chapel Hill, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holmes Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Majority of the customers are regulars and enjoy returning.

    Cons

    Some store managers and district managers team up to get rid of people because they have some type of personal issue towards them. Instead of being professional and keeping their personal feelings outside of work they decide to take it out on the employees and make up lies to get rid of them.

    Continue reading
    Holmes Oil2019-02-19
  4. "Not a great experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holmes Oil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees at certain stores. Always fast paced in the stores

    Cons

    I was moved around to 7 different stores in 2 months. Never had an actual schedule. Wasn't allowed to hire employees or train employees.

    Continue reading
    Holmes Oil2017-12-04
  5. "Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holmes Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and I love the people that I work with. I love the fact that the owner visits regularly and is a very nice down to earth guy.

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement into corporate level seem distant especially if you are running a good store operation. Bonus program has become nonexistent! Staffing is somewhat challenging depending upon the area in which you work.

    Continue reading
    Holmes Oil2017-08-19
  6. "Worst management ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Burlington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Holmes Oil part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers the best well some

    Cons

    Worst management ever rude will blame stuff on you to cover themselves not honest at all

    Continue reading
    Holmes Oil2016-04-19
  7. "csr"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Franklinton, NC

    I have been working at Holmes Oil part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job nothing bad about it

    Cons

    Nothing 8ts a good job to have

    Holmes Oil2015-10-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A relief from big box, corporate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Rdutów
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holmes Oil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They didn't insult me with starting salary. I came from big box, major retailers, and most previously the director of operations for a major healthcare company. After a downsize, I accepted Holmes versus other major big box offers. I didn't expect what I've seen from the industry, however, I'm done looking, want to stay here and grow. Family oriented, new improved stores, and like everyone I've met!

    Cons

    I have to drive long distance..... But that's due to where I live. Not their fault.

    Continue reading
    Holmes Oil2015-08-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's obvious corporate writes their own reviews"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holmes Oil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff at store level trained good.

    Cons

    Lack of effective leadership at the upper levels. Goals not clearly defined. Don't do what they say. Good luck.

    Continue reading
    Holmes Oil2015-08-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews