HomeServe UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

HomeServe UK Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
HomeServe UK CEO Greg Reed
Greg Reed
181 Ratings
Pros
  • "HomeServe is a great place to work - the culture really is very people focused(in 72 reviews)

  • "Access to senior management is very good(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Cons at present, love working here(in 31 reviews)

  • "Based on the outskirts of Walsall(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "very nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time

    Pros

    its a very nice firm , we can develop more from there

    Cons

    they dont give increments

    HomeServe UK2019-10-14
  2. "About Homeserve labs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Test Engineer in London, England

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment, everyone is very friendly and helpful

    Cons

    work from home is very difficult sometimes

    HomeServe UK2020-04-02
  3. "Amazing Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations Executive in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, fantastic career progression opportunities, support when needed. Listened to and valued.

    Cons

    None. They put their Customers and Employee’s at the heart of everything they do.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2020-03-24

    HomeServe UK Response

    March 25, 2020

    Thank you for your review, we're really happy to have you as part of our family!

    Continue reading
  4. "If you fit the face"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Live Chat Representative in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, Can throw fun social events if business is booming, Decent pay for industry

    Cons

    If you don’t fit the face you aren’t progressing. If the business isn’t doing well everybody feels the effects, can treat the staff as machines.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2020-03-30
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly as everyone is made to feel welcome, Supportive in all areas of training and development. Opportunities are available to all to further you career and it’s not all about the qualification. Learning in the job is always an option

    Cons

    This is a sitting environment and the most important equipment is the chair. They are basic and at times uncomfortable

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2020-02-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLAIMS ADVISOR in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A couple of lovely people within the company Okay wage

    Cons

    No organisation Management is rubbish Some backstabbers in the company They do not deliver on their promises Treat staff differently

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2020-03-24

    HomeServe UK Response

    March 25, 2020

    Sorry that HomeServe wasn't for you but it seems like it's best we have parted ways. It's a shame you couldn't have been a little more constructive or considered in your review but still, I wish you the best of luck in your career. Greg

    Continue reading
  7. "Good overall, room for improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Customer is 100% the focus, sure- some Customers fall off the happy path, but no company can get it perfect all of the time. Its how you deal with it that's the important thing. HomeServe really do try their best for the Customer. Focus on People - there are some outstanding initiatives around diversity and inclusion, support for charity and well being is first class. People - there has been time spent over the last 18 months especially where there are now some really good People in key operational positions. In my experience, this has improved massively. Not everywhere mind....... see cons below...... Really good benefits - free staff policy and discount scheme that really works. Offices and working conditions on the whole are really good. Two of the main sites have been refurbed recently and the general environment you have to work in is very good.

    Cons

    I'm not sure HomeServe has really decided what it wants to be going forward - a home emergency repairs company or a services company. There is the aim to rush to every job regardless of how severe it is whether it be a full scale flood or just a dripping tap - this leads to problems later on in making sure there is enough resource in place to deal with those emergencies that crop up. Plus now seeming to go back to kitchen appliance cover, and other types of insurance. Seems to be an approach to grab everything in the home assistance market without really making sure that can fulfil it. Silo mentality - a lot of work has been done in bringing the bits of HomeServe together that were former companies, but not much in bringing departments together. You still have marketing and sales doing their own thing, then there is also new initiatives which are good for the future but appear to in some cases to be small private kingdoms. Whilst focus on People is brilliant, it doesn't for some reason seem to reflect in engagement which for a while hasn't really improved. Its not helped by a few silly instances that have happened in the past year - a company wide launch of the annual engagement survey the day after you announce that a site is closing is unfortunate and is a case of bad timing, but these things happen, but come to the day when the site closes and several People are losing their jobs to put out a company wide email from the CEO announcing that we are hitting all our targets this year for profitability and efficiency and its now time to celebrate that - get your ticket for the free Christmas do is more than a bit insensitive. A lot of People just want to come to work, do a job, then go home. For me there is a sense that there is a 'Live to Work' mentality over a 'Work to Live'. If you aren't fully able to engage with all that and just want to do your job well without having to fully embrace that dynamic, then Homeserve probably isn't the place for you. If you are that type of person you will thrive. Those that don't, don't. Systems and MI are appalling - nothing to do with the People that do their best to get the information, the systems used have been under-invested in for years. There are signs of improvement but a new system put in place still has its teething problems and is VERY late in coming. Getting information to help you understand what's going on in the business is like pulling teeth and when you do get it, its often contradicting information you already have.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2020-02-01

    HomeServe UK Response

    February 2, 2020

    Thank you for your review. It really feels like you put a lot of time, effort and thought into giving your views and I appreciate every one of them. It's great that you feel able to be so open and considered in how you felt about working at HomeServe, and I hope you felt just as able, while you were with us, to make these views known. HomeServe is a fast-paced business and we are constantly looking at ways in which we can change and improve, hearing such honest thoughts helps inform how we'll shape our future. My very best wishes for your future and that you enjoy wherever you have moved on to. Greg

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great company to work for

    Cons

    No real disadvantage of working here

    HomeServe UK2020-01-12

    HomeServe UK Response

    January 12, 2020

    Thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Contact Centre. Avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Base salary is okay & benefits are decent, (Gareth) claims director is a likeable guy. But that's pretty much it.

    Cons

    They'll make you feel like they have your back but when push comes to shove, even if you've not done anything wrong & your performance is solid they WILL screw you over if it benefits them. End of the day you're just a bum on a seat & do not matter in the slightest. No progression, they'll tend to put you on a 'secondment' to do additional work if it benefits them with no pay increase (e.g. doing a complaints job at an agent wage if they have a ton of complaints to deal with, which you don't get a say in). Toxic atmosphere. Tons of people have left over the past 6 months, causing them issues with recruitment, can't see that changing. With the majority of people in Preston feeling the same way.

    HomeServe UK2020-02-15

    HomeServe UK Response

    February 19, 2020

    Firstly, I'm very sorry that you feel this way. You’ve raised some serious concerns in your review and I would very be like the opportunity to discuss these with you directly or for you to speak with a member of our People Team. I can assure you that we value all of our People regardless of their role and are 100% committed to People development, which sometimes means seconding them to other roles within the department. We believe this to be a positive as it allows our People to benefit from learning new and interesting skills and will give them a good perspective of other roles and what progression opportunities are available. Unfortunately, the opportunities will sometimes come to an end and we can understand this can be hard, particularly if the person enjoyed the secondment. That said, the new skills and experiences acquired can be utilised within an existing role, which can be a huge benefit. The good news is that secondments can sometimes lead to opportunities – the Customer Relations department is currently recruiting permanent roles and those who have been on secondment to the area now have a great opportunity to apply and be successful. Unfortunately, we have lost some good people recently but we know from our exit interview process that its primarily due to shifts and local transport issues. The management team is attempting to work with local transport companies to help improve transport links and we are currently reviewing the shift pattern, so this will hopefully get much better soon. We know from our recent employee survey that a high percentage of our people enjoy working in our department and want to work here for a long time so I will have to disagree that its to do with people being unhappy. I appreciate your taking the time to write the review and providing your feedback. As I’ve already mentioned, I would really like the opportunity to sit down and chat about how you are feeling and show that you are of value to us, as are all of our People. Gareth - Director of Claims

    Continue reading
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resource Planning Analyst in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People shift benefit job happy environment

    Cons

    No real issues with anything

    HomeServe UK2020-01-10

    HomeServe UK Response

    January 12, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review!

    Continue reading
Found 768 reviews