Hootsuite Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hootsuite Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 336 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Hootsuite CEO Ryan Holmes
Ryan Holmes
218 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Vancouver is really still the heart of the organization and it feels like good work in the Toronto office goes unnoticed(in 19 reviews)

  • "1000 employees in 5 years, which naturally causes some growing pains(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "AE at Hootsuite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Account Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work culture, with solid work/life balance Lots of great people, everyone is friendly Strong brand recognition

    Cons

    Very poor leadership - especially at the executive level Lack of transparency from C-Suite and Founder Tons of product issues, and no real strategic direction

    Hootsuite2019-09-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "People just chill already!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This has been my most favorite workplace ever!! I am telling 101% truth here. Extremely good work-life balance, get in just before 8 and disappear before 4:15. Team Managers are cool and we often troll each other for fun. Amazing snacks and fruits!! The gym is small and smelly but functional! Free yoga and fitness classes! Also free courses provided by HR on how to behave and interact around here. Easy brownie... points! If you push the right buttons of your manager's manager, you get promoted within a year like myself! :) Don't really get all the negativity here. Hootsuite is famous for paying above market and doesn't expect too much of your work. In order to survive you must show up properly in team meetings. Key is to make people think you are way more important than you really are.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hardly any honestly. No weird politics, just trolling around. There will be stressful periods but you gotta know how to push for extra temps. Why kill yourself right? It's just a job guys... I believe most complainers here have nothing better to do or just never satisfied despite their fat pay cheques. Not a single one person I know ever complained about pay and workload. Sales peeps just getting too greedy!

    Advice to Management

    Loving the fun culture here so keep it up!! Do whatever it takes to keep your head above the water! I do plan on sticking around for next 8-10 years after a couple mat leaves.

    Hootsuite2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "People are great - company values/product is meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analytics in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - only real positive is the people are great. a lot to learn from. - exposure to the social media world and the power it holds.

    Cons

    - slow hiring process - unclear processes. - below avg pay.

    Hootsuite2019-08-16
  4. "Flexible, Fun, Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time

    Pros

    Lots of interesting new engineering projects to work on, good work culture with lots of flexibility with regard to working from home and such.

    Cons

    I understand that your experience can vary a lot depending on what team you are on.

    Hootsuite2019-08-01
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start your career. Spend some time at Hootsuite and then move on with a well known brand on your CV. But continue reading before signing the contract :-)

    Cons

    This company is toxic. They put people under sick pressure to make the numbers. Customers are running away. Marketing is lying - only 10% of the 18mio users are active. All the rest are dead accounts

    Advice to Management

    Do what you're talking about. The CMO has given an interview about how important the employees are and the company treat their own people very, very bad. Don't talk about integrity in mails to all as management is definitely not

    Hootsuite2019-08-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good people but unclear career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and team. Managers on this team are good and most have been with the company for a while. Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    After a couple months in this role many people realize it is not what it was made out to be in the interview process. Not many perks or benefits for working at Hootsuite. CAE team is underpaid compared to industry standards

    Hootsuite2019-07-22
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Customer Support Advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues. They care about their clients.

    Cons

    No possibilities to evolve unless we're talking about backfills/they lose talent that needs to be replaced. Management doesn't really hear the feedback that's given. They do create anonymous surveys, but it feels like it's only a task to be marked as done on their checklist. No real improvements are made afterwards and there's a feeling that employees are easily replaceable. As a result, they lose talent and... quality while effectively reducing some costs. Very toxic environment. Different ideas than those already in place are not really welcomed (and it's very likely that those existing ideas are...toxic). We feel that there's a lack of transparency company-wide. If there's a problem, they do their best to hide it instead of addressing it

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the feedback that is actually being given.

    Hootsuite2019-08-05
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite

    Pros

    Seems like it was fun and may have had potential 4 or 5 years ago. Vacation, work/life and TRAVEL

    Cons

    The Old Guard is stuck in startup land, and well established and protected which makes it pretty much impossible for new people to make changes.

    Advice to Management

    They need to let the past go and allow some of the new experienced people bring some life back into the business.

    Hootsuite2019-07-04
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AE Enterprise in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros here

    Cons

    Terrible management. unreasonable metrics with little or no common sense. No strategy

    Hootsuite2019-07-30
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance (can Word from home) Good atmosphere with colleagues Thriving environment

    Cons

    Lack of long term strategy

    Hootsuite2019-06-28
Found 336 reviews