Hortonworks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hortonworks Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Hortonworks CEO Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the best open source companies to work with(in 42 reviews)

  • "Plenty of opportunity to enhance/pick up skills in big data(in 24 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place, great people and excellent perks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hortonworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company promotes Cooperation among peers and across departments. - Monthly travel allowance - Cutting edge technology. - Focus on personal development. - Loads of opportunities!!

    Cons

    Mmmm... the food could be better ;)

    Continue reading
    Hortonworks2019-03-10
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible work culture/Mediocre management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting field (big data) work from home options

    Cons

    There is absolutely no growth. Anyone with a functioning brain (in non tech roles) will rot here. Quality of work is very mediocre Management is terrible and surprisingly peers are worse, they will try to pull you down in the same team

    Continue reading
    Hortonworks2018-12-20
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time

    Pros

    Perks, work from home, macbook for work

    Cons

    Salary is less compared to the competition

    Hortonworks2018-08-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work environment.. One of the best open source companies to work with

    Cons

    Since the size of the company is growing hence the facilities are getting less.. I hope this trend will stop

    Continue reading
    Hortonworks2018-07-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Hortonworks

    Pros

    Growing fast and good atmosphere to work

    Cons

    Nothing much to point out

    Hortonworks2018-05-22
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Mediocre management and worse work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and office location

    Cons

    Oh I could go on and on. 1. Horrible managers who are not invested in your career at all. 2. No empathy from manaement or co-workers for any issues if you face 3. No transparency in terms of career progress or quarterly goals 4. No flexibility to work from home

    Continue reading
    Hortonworks2018-05-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can earn a lot of money(you would have to work for it though). Great new technology. Work from Home option is pretty sweet. You would be independent.

    Cons

    - Too competitive environment. Rather than everyone working along with eachother, everyone works against eachother. It could be motivation for many, but not for me. Though people on the personal level friendly. - SME or Product Specialist are not experienced enough. They are just a little more experienced TSE. - Some of the offering such as Premier Support creates confusion rather than helping in resolution of the issue. This is something which needs a lot of management. - Excessive focus on CSM, though, it is hard to understand the exact need for them. - HR is non existent. Most of the time there is no HR in the office, and then they are there they don't know a thing. They seems like amateurs.

    Continue reading
    Hortonworks2018-04-18
  8. "Working with best open source company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TSE in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * People recognize you. * Manager's do not force you to targets. * Manager's help you in all situations.

    Cons

    As per me, I would say none.

    Continue reading
    Hortonworks2018-04-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time

    Pros

    * Good culture and work life balance

    Cons

    * Need to follow compensation stratergy at India office

    Hortonworks2018-03-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Human Resource"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hortonworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big Minds work Big Data

    Cons

    No cons, only positivity

    Hortonworks2018-03-19
Found 285 reviews