Hortonworks Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated 12 Feb 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 301 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Hortonworks CEO Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the best open source companies to work with(in 42 reviews)

  • "Plenty of opportunity to enhance/pick up skills in big data(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance and maneuverability(in 16 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains being experienced(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great technology and position--still big issues to fix

      16 Aug 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting and exciting technology that is poised at the forefront of a wave of expansion. Definitely on the cutting edge and far from being commoditised. Also, there are many talented employees working at Hortonworks, including many of the core engineering group that originally developed Hadoop at Yahoo. In this respect, it's THE place to be.

      Cons

      At first I thought it was just the normal growing pains of transitioning from start-up to a public company that is striving to serve enterprise customers. Now I'm beginning to think what's happening here is insidious and will bring the company down if someone doesn't act in a timely manner. Here's the scenario: leadership at the very top exhibits an explosive burst of temper down the management food chain. Then the top few levels of leadership begin pointing fingers of blame at one another. This causes massive fragmentation and in-fighting--just at the time when we should all be pulling together to accomplish something that none of us can accomplish alone. This must stop or the company will be paralysed, unable to move forward. The culture of blame and infighting is extremely dangerous and damaging. I love the technology and I'm excited about the opportunity, but in a basic SWOT analysis--what I've described here is our greatest weakness and our biggest threat. I hope executive leadership and the board can fix this.

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Smartest company I've ever worked for across the board in all disciplines

      21 Aug 2014 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quickly growing market in very large market space with technology that is accepted as the next big thing. The company has doubled in size in the last 6 months, is well capitalized, has a top notch management that is focusing the company on the right priorities to be the major provider in this space. Despite the ridiculous hiring pace, their process insures both capability and cultural fit. I've never seen a stronger group of people assembled at one company and I've worked for some really good ones in the past. From what I've seen this is a very healthy culture and everyone goes out of their way to help you. Minimal politics. Management knows how to scale a profitable open source company. Great Benefits.

      Cons

      Through tremendous growth comes some growing pains. Infrastructure seems to be keeping pace with growth so far. Hiring ahead of the market. A lot missionary work still to be done.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company... Explosive Growth... Market Leader... Smartest People

      21 Jan 2016 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hortonworks is a market leader in the Big Data space with a unique business model that customers love. More over, the mindshare and expertise is unparalleled - it shows in the success and growth our customers have on the platform.

      Cons

      Explosive growth ultimately leads to growing pains. They do not go by unnoticed, management is focused on ensuring a work environment that facilitates growth on a personal and company level. As we are now a IPO company, certain processes have been implemented that are a transition from "start-up mode".

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Company

      21 May 2015 - Support Engineer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An amazing 6-month ride with a relentless fast-paced, laser-focused, newly PTO, over-achieving company. The company has grown in size many times fold over the last couple years. Many opportunities to grow. Great benefits, competitive pay, unlimited vacation/time-off (PTO), stock plan, free lunch/snacks.

      Cons

      Growing pains as with any company. No time for training, socializing. Work 50-60 hrs a week to keep up with the pace. Unlimited PTO helps mitigate this issue.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Super high impact and fast moving

      11 Feb 2016 - Solution Engineering Team in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Super high impact and fast moving space - Customer-centric everything in this company - Engineering driven but strong sales culture as well

      Cons

      - well...super impact and fast moving. May move at a pace that is not for everybody. - some operational growing pains while we scale out. to be expected though

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great flexible company that fosters innovation and looks after its staff

      12 Feb 2016 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule Freedom to make decisions and execute Your voice is actually heard and counts Staff look after each other and assist when needed Sense of belonging and fostering of innovation Very transparent executive communication

      Cons

      Some processes still need to be properly defined Some growing pains being experienced International staff support needs to be accelerated

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Senior Director

      15 May 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a high energy organization and very rewarding both financially as well as from the opportunity to grow professionally. We are working with many of the best in the brightest in this space as well as forward thinking in the technology/analytics space.

      Cons

      Absolutely none -- we have over come the growing pains

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing!

      1 Sep 2015 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unbelievably smart people, and passionate about what they do. Being a part of the fastest growing software company in the world is an amazing ride. Highly impressed with the senior leadership team and their ability to stay one step ahead of the competition.

      Cons

      Growing Pains but the good out weighs the bad.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hortonworks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hortonworks? Share Your Experiences

    Hortonworks logo
    or