Hortonworks Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 15 May 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 301 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Hortonworks CEO Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the best open source companies to work with(in 42 reviews)

  • "Plenty of opportunity to enhance/pick up skills in big data(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance and maneuverability(in 16 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains being experienced(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      You will love to work here.

      16 Jul 2017 - Customer Service Support Representative in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Wonderful office(Bangalore) and nice people to work with. *Since it is a Hadoop giant, you can learn a lot here. *Flexible timing makes it very convenient to work(especially for women) *Work-life balance is good. *Facilities provided are good.

      Cons

      Have not experienced any yet.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A brilliant enterprise with the flexibility start ups offer

      14 Nov 2016 - Customer Success Manager in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Very open to new ideas that you bring on to the table (at least my team is that way). 2. Opportunity to collaborate with a global team, which gives you an insight into how they would approach the same problem/their professionalism 3. Amazing work life balance - they advise you to take vacations to avoid burn-outs and not come to the office when unwell (one of my employers would ask for the doctor's prescription even for common cold related day off) 4. WFH options - since people work across various time zones, they give the option to log in from home. There is no punch in time recorded as long as you get your work done things are good. 5. A very exciting space to be in - Big data. 6. Every one gets a Mac! :D

      Cons

      The coffee area should be a little away from the cubicles.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company to work and learn new things.

      26 Sep 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Intelligent minds all around. 2. Work life balance is really good. 3. Chance to work in open source model. 4. Good challenges to solve

      Cons

      Depends on the manager sometimes and reviews and other procedures are not aligned properly.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Quality should be beyond test pass rate numbers

      12 Mar 2018 - Software Development Engineer In Test in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Good work/life balance 2. Freedom of implementation 3. You get to work with smart people with great ideas

      Cons

      1. Automations are not the only way to get good quality product. Usability, white box testing, non-functional tests are not given much value. 2. Decisions are taken without any discussions with engineers. Priorities changes every day and communication of the same is bleak 3. There is no process to an individual's growth plan. Titles are not indicative of experience or work load handled by an individual.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Technical Support Engineer

      22 Jun 2016 - Technical Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly knowledgeable employees. Good work life balance. Opensource culture.

      Cons

      Nothing I can find as of now.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      24 Mar 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Good culture and work life balance

      Cons

      * Need to follow compensation stratergy at India office

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst company to work for.

      7 Jul 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Are you joking? There is no career growth.

      Cons

      Work life balance is really bad. Only work no life.

      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a great place to work

      10 Dec 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great parking, snacks, drinks -Catered lunch 3 days a week -People mostly work from home on Fridays -Great people who want to do well. People are generally really nice

      Cons

      -This place doesn't care about work-life balance. -There is little to no career advancement. Top performers in this company don't stay because they get burned out and know they can get a better experience elsewhere. I've known people who had to put in 16-hour days multiple times because of unreasonable deadlines, yet they can't get promoted so they quit. -They'll make you work during your maternity or paternity leave so if you plan on having kids, don't do it while being employed here. -Promotions are unheard of even for the hardest, most diligent workers. -Transparency from the executive level is poor. HR is a terrible joke

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful

      Hortonworks Response

      Manager of Recruiting

      I'm sorry that you feel this way and encourage you to reach out to your HRBP with specific examples of the above. However, every high growth startup is challenged by work-life balance. We are sensitive to the personal life demands of our team and try to balance them as best we can. In addition, we have a very competitive maternity leave program that rivals most in the Bay. If you know of situations where someone was asked to work during their leave HR needs to know immediately. In addition, if you have feedback for HR please share it with them. Whether it's visible or not, our HR team is one of the hardest working teams in the company and they are passionate about improving.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Vice President

      19 Nov 2017 - Vice President - Technology in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exceptional opportunity to be recognized and grow. Most all departments enable internal growth culture which is excellent. Some departments are more mature than others where there are good role descriptions where you can define your career path. Opportunities to regularly interface with your peers and management for career growth consultation. Overall an open door policy.

      Cons

      Some see it as overworked. Some see it as work-life-balance. I see it as thrill-in-the-ride. If you enjoy a good roller coaster ride and learn in the process - you will like the ride.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Sustaining group - boring tasks - Location: Hungary, Budapest

      2 Sep 2017 - Software Developer in Budapest
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance is extremely good. (Work from home, etc..) Talented colleagues. Cool new office Free professional coffee machine Free fruits Fancy mac laptops if you like

      Cons

      In the sustaining group there is really limited creative/development work. Your work is only creating backports (==git merging at 99.9%) and analyzing failed system tests (Mostly they are failing due to environment problems) Really difficult to gain real deep big data knowledge, No dedicated training/ramp up period and the work doesn't give you practice knowledge when and how the hadoop stack should be used. No support to attend on big data conferences (Only for manager level). You are sticked to one hadoop component. Most of them are already picked. No rotation, etc.. Other bad sign: The two main wickedly talented founders of the original acquired startup left the Hortonworks company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Hortonworks Response

      Manager of Recruiting

      We appreciate when former employees take time in sharing their experiences as we do believe in an open and transparent culture and appreciate candid feedback. In that spirit, let us share a couple of updates on what life at the Budapest office looks like and in particular at our fantastic Sustaining Engineering team. We do support conference attendance and have actually sponsored some local events in 2017 where we both delivered talks and empowered engineers to attend. As the Dataworks Summit Munich (the biggest such conference in Europe) is an event that we co-host, over 25 people from our Budapest office were able to attend. Basically, any employee who was interested in an awesome team building roadtrip and a best-in-breed big data conference could attend voluntarily. As for career growth, we do actively promote internal opportunities and have been successful in helping Sustaining Engineers take on pure R&D engineering positions recently. This was possible due to the fact that engineers have access to a wealth of training material, regular face time with Hadoop experts, committers and PMCs, can spend dedicated time working on Apache contributions. They also immerse in their dedicated component many other ways: delivering patches, enhancing tests, assisting customers and so on. Engineers are also empowered to deliver creative solutions to automate, facilitate or optimize any part of the end-to-end engineering flow. We take pride in our engineering achievements and are 100% committed to help our customers to be successful in their big data journey. Our single best bet is to keep our engineers sharp.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hortonworks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hortonworks? Share Your Experiences

    Hortonworks logo
    or