Hostway Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hostway Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Emil Sayegh
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food once a week, semi-flexible work hours, plenty of vacation time, low stress work environment(in 15 reviews)

  • "Really talented, great people to work with and learn from(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The constant changing tides of the web hosting industry can be stressful if you’re not cut out for it(in 7 reviews)

  • "Upper management is clueless and needs to stop experimenting(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hosway- fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well i started my career with this company. One of things that refreshing is the fun and informal work environment. Although they're not exactly among paymasters in the industry but the scope of growth is vast. All in all a new organization which is fun and at the same time offers good learning

    Cons

    There is stress on few projects than others. This also somewhat limits your scope of development based on your project. There is a lot to learn from but you would have to be a self starter and there won't be extensive training that happens here. You learn what you wanna learn if i have to put it.

    Advice to Management

    Please do look towards procesifying the initial training as well as product briefing. Also there should be more flexibility for horizontal shift

    Hostway2014-11-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Strictly routine job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work culture is casual and friendly. Decent work-life balance. Occasional free food/snacks/movies/outings to keep the employees entertained. Less stress as once you get into the routine set here, there are hardly any challenges to throw you off your game.

    Cons

    Lack of vision and strategy. Lack of effective training. Lack of growth opportunities. Salary doesn't compare to other organisations in the same domain/field. The in-house tools need major bug fixing.

    Advice to Management

    Envision a plan and work towards it. Stop changing it at the very first roadblock/obstacle.

    Hostway2014-09-08
  3. "Nice Company to Work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Mumbai
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hostway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work Environment, Flexible timings and lots of benefits. Good Culture. Team outing every months. Movies. Good Cafeteria.

    Cons

    Nothing as such. Similar kind of work. After certain period not much of learning happends.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing as such.

    Hostway2014-06-12
  4. "Sr Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mumbai

    I have been working at Hostway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will get good work life balance here.

    Cons

    Learning is less compare to other in same domain.

    Hostway2013-01-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hostway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company. Great place to work

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about HOSTWAY

    Advice to Management

    Great Managers all of them

    Hostway2019-07-31
  6. Helpful (13)

    "I wish I could give them zero stars."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hostway full-time

    Pros

    My team members are smart and would do great things if they weren't being micromanaged by the CEO.

    Cons

    Imagine this: You and everyone you work with are dropped into a giant toilet bowl. The CEO flushes the toilet over and over and then yells at you for spinning in circles and being wet. That's what it's like to work at Hostway.

    Advice to Management

    New CEO. Please.

    Hostway2019-04-23
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Not so great after changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees and middle management are good people

    Cons

    Upper management is clueless and needs to stop experimenting

    Advice to Management

    get a clue

    Hostway2019-03-12
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Broken Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people used to work here and the meals provided are good.

    Cons

    I dare you to find someone who speaks well of the current CEO or CFO who has worked with them. 5 different Sales VPs in 5 years and the Marketing department has more turnover than I could count.

    Advice to Management

    Emil (CEO) states, " no one cares about Glassdoor and people just go to this site to complain."

    Hostway2019-02-07
  9. "Recently Retired after 12 years there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Center Technician in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hostway is a company that will stand by you and their customers during difficult times. During the troubling years (2009-2011), they remained financially sound and always was there for their employees. I had good health insurance and was able to get through a tough operation requiring two months off.

    Cons

    There was a couple of bad management years (2014-2015) where an outside team misdirected us in a changing marketplace. We were too micromanaged by remote teams that lost the importance of local hands on ownership of accounts.

    Advice to Management

    Needless to say they are once again focusing in areas were they can thrive. Hostway seems to do better in areas of Colo Location or Hybrid Clusters where the customer is knowledgeable and involved to help manage his platform. The company is also doing much better in removing the burden of virtual migrations and backups are running more smoothly by using Veeam Solutions. So if you want to learn Cisco, AWS, Azure this...

    Show More
    Hostway2019-01-09
  10. "Gets the job done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hostway full-time

    Pros

    Great people. Free lunch. Good place for a self starter.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to find your way. No Training.

    Hostway2019-01-08
Found 112 reviews