Hot Topic "dress code" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hot Topic Employee Reviews about "dress code"

Updated 18 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount(in 129 reviews)

  • "You also get a great employee discount to spend on things you love(in 85 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management works hard to make sure you don't work enough to receive benefits(in 55 reviews)

  • "The only cons for sales associates is the hours depending on the sales volume of the store(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dress code"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Discount - Relaxed environment and Dress code

    Cons

    - Minimum Wage - Managers do not communicate with each other - Not many hours - Not much training - Never given breaks - Store is super dusty and impossible to keep clean - No cameras to prevent theft

    Continue reading
    Hot Topic2019-12-18
  2. "I am a Seasonal Associate I have only worked one shift and haven't worked for 3 weeks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Marietta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, good Dress code, and nice people to work with in person

    Cons

    Horrible management, Never on the schedule, no communication.

    Continue reading
    Hot Topic2019-12-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "I loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount! ZERO tolerance for bigotry, it felt like a very safe space for people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    Part time hours can be seriously lacking, consider full time if you need the money.

    Continue reading
    Hot Topic2019-06-04
  4. "Good Mall Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed "dress code," get-what-you-give kind of environment, relatively fun considering it's a mall job. You can go far with this job compared to other retail. If you find yourself in the situation where retail will give you what you need, HT is the best place to work in the mall.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, lack of actual benefits if you are looking to invest in yourself and future (like wanting to get away from apartment life by buying a house, invest in your retirement, etc). Favoritism is shown in some stores, but thankfully not all of them. I had a pretty good time working for this company for the multiple consecutive years I worked there. Not great hours, but it is to be expected working in retail. Good stepping stone kind of job for me personally.

    Continue reading
    Hot Topic2019-05-29
  5. "Usual Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Charleston, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encouraged to stay on top of pop culture, casual dress code, lax on personal presentation

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours, unreliable, unrealistic expectations of sales and credit card applications

    Hot Topic2019-04-10
  6. "Double edged sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    Lots of interesting and fun merchandise, casual dress code, relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    Unrealistic amounts of work for the non livable wage paid.

    Hot Topic2019-03-20
  7. "Overall, a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Irvine, CA
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No dress code (though it’s more just encouraging employees’ self-expression because it doesn’t really affect business) decent hours if you only want to work part time or have a second job chill management

    Cons

    hard to get promoted or close to full time hours volatile scheduling

    Hot Topic2019-02-19
  8. "Hot Topic seems fun, but is not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Hot Topic

    Pros

    Dress code is relaxed, accepting of piercings, tattoos and hair color. Lots of opportunity for self expression.

    Cons

    Management is extremely aggressive and also gaslights their employees. They write you up, punish and even fire you if you cannot force people to go through with credit card applications, loyalty signups or web orders, and then makes you feel as if you’re a bad employee and bad person for not being able to force people to do what you want. Regardless of how many people you’re getting into the store, they blame you personally for lack of sales, and lack of the KPI indications.

    Continue reading
    Hot Topic2019-02-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I would recommend working here especially someone who is just starting to build a retail career. I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-Time Assistant Store Manager in Ijamsville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super fun environment, opportunity for monthly bonus, lax dress code, nice customers, opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    Not a lot of hours to go around, lots of work for not the best pay.

    Hot Topic2018-12-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "If I Could Give A Lower Rating I Would"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. 40% off discount at Torrid, Box Lunch, and Hot Topic 2. 30% off discount at Pop Culture 3. Occasional 50% off discount at all previously mentioned stores few times a year 4. Immediate family (applies only to parents and siblings) can use your discounts as well 5. Basically no dress code

    Cons

    1. Filthiest. Place. EVER. You can make actual bunnies out of the dust bunnies in there. Nobody ever sweeps, there are stickers, gum and food all over the floors and fixtures. 2. The clothes are always dirty from being on the ground. When we have orientation, we are told never to put any merchandise on the ground and never sit on the floor. During opening or closing everyone and EVERYTHING is always on the ground and it gets filthy. 3. The stockroom: it is so scary back there. It is not meant for anyone who is either claustrophobic, chubby, or afraid that there will be an earthquake anytime in the near future. Most days it is impossible to open the door more than a crack, you cannot reach the bathroom, much less the back to get to the other merchandise, which is scattered about the floor, may I mention. 4. It is very dangerous. They leave the ladders lying about, there are always hooks sticking out in obscure places, not to mention on my first day, there was a bucket of pins and sensors out on the floor. Yes, the bucket got knocked over, yes I did get a foot full of pins, and NO, I did NOT get a break or a chance to even look at my injury. 5. They neglect giving breaks. It IS Hot Topic policy to give a PAID 15 minute break if you are scheduled to work for 4 hours, a PAID 15 minute break and a 30 minute UNPAID lunch if you are scheduled to work for at least 5 and a half hours, and two PAID 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute UNPAID lunch if you are scheduled to work for 8 hours. They only give breaks when they want to give you a break. I would have to ask multiple times, to all managers if I would be allowed to take a break, and on more than one occasion they would all "forget". 6. "No Breaks After Closing" I would be scheduled for 4 hours and be kept there an extra hour and a half to help with closing, but I wouldn't be given my break I was supposed to have because the managers would "forget" yet again, but then I would be working the amount of time where I was supposed to get a break and a lunch and would be told I was not allowed to have either. 7. Management is horrible, like I said, I would have to chase after multiple managers just to ask for a break. Multiple managers would tell me to do different things and would get angry if I wasn't doing the thing they told me to do. They also do not resolve issues with clocking in and out in a timely manner. I had an issue with my log in to clock my hours, and informed them the minute it happened, it took over two weeks for them to fix it. They told me to write my times on a piece of paper and tape it to their computer and they would manually clock my hours. They never did, then they would blame me for not telling them. I had to wait an entire month to get my pay because they couldn't do their job and listen to their employees. 8. They do NOT care about you at all. YOUR problems are not THEIR problems. I would be treated like a nuisance when I would be on the clock and treated like a saint when I would cover for someone, only to be treated like a nuisance again when I would clock in. 9. The pay is AWFUL!!! I got paid only $8.25 an hour. I worked at Hot Topic for 6 months, in the whole 6 months I worked I only made around $400. For the first 3-4 months I worked there, they would only schedule me for about 3 to 6 hours a week, and some weeks they would even cut my hours to nothing. On average, I would make around $24 over two weeks. That is definitely NOT living wage. That is an INSULT. 10. There is no making friends. I moved across the country, I knew nobody, I had hoped I would be able to make friends with some of my coworkers, but management would not even allow us to speak with our coworkers, much less get to know their names. When a few girls decided to get together outside of work, and management found out, they purposefully scheduled everyone at different times so we would not speak with each other. 11. Turn over rate is EXTREMELY high. One girl I went to orientation with, called the store an hour after it ended to say she quit. Most people can't even last a month. 12. They NEVER close on time. If you are scheduled for 4 hours, always tack on an extra half an hour, at LEAST. If you are closing, expect to stay an hour later every day. Don’t even bother bringing food either, since you will never be allowed to eat it, even after closing or during your breaks, if you are lucky enough to get those

    Continue reading
    Hot Topic2019-01-03
Found 129 reviews