Hot Topic "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hot Topic Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount(in 129 reviews)

  • "You also get a great employee discount to spend on things you love(in 85 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management works hard to make sure you don't work enough to receive benefits(in 55 reviews)

  • "The only cons for sales associates is the hours depending on the sales volume of the store(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associaate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and fun people to work with.

    Cons

    Not a fan of upper management

    Advice to Management

    Be more friendly to lower employees

    Hot Topic2019-12-04
  2. "Great introduction to retrain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cheap and great medical benefits that still cover domestic partnerships. Awesome atmosphere. Customers, I’ve read a lot of stories about others experiences, I was with the company for 8 years, I definitely had my fair share of “out there” experiences, but generally speaking, they’re great. Great discount.

    Cons

    Embarrassingly low pay for the amount of expectation put on staff. Very out of touch upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time in stores. It’s easy to sit at home or on a phone and look at “results,” but I assure you no number or KPIs show the amount of work actually being put in stores. You can’t treat all stores that are underperforming as if it’s because of the staff. Sit down with your staff and make yourself known. When you have people and managers BEGGING for opportunity, do something.

    Hot Topic2019-11-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awful upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Breaker in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount, awesome coworkers, laid back customers, good music

    Cons

    Upper management is to interested in employees personal lives outside of work, completely unprofessional, awful training, awful hours, unrealistic sales goals, cares more about ADT and loyalty then customers experience, they don't care about their employees, I was told I would never move up in that store because of who I knew in personal life outside of work while also being told I had all the makings of a store manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to train your employees correctly, give your employees their breaks, get rid of or correct your district managers unprofessional behavior, listen to your employees greivences, stay out of your employees personal lives if it isn't affecting their work, less employees so your current employees can have livable hours, do not under any circumstances blame a current employee for a former employees actions, focus more on sales as a whole rather then individual transactions, do not under any circumstances tell your employees to kick out their roommate if they want to move up.

    Show More
    Hot Topic2019-08-18
  4. "Not what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, NC

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool people & customers

    Cons

    Upper management very secretive. Doesnt share alot of info with stores

    Hot Topic2019-06-19
  5. "You're too old, you're out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Beaumont, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, customers, employees, discount

    Cons

    Communication, Goals, Policies, Upper management, Reviews

    Advice to Management

    This company is amazing to work for, but upper management (past District Manager level) does not seem to really care about the employees, especially once they've reached a certain age (30+). They will mask an employee having reached their "expiration date" behind performance numbers that are tenuous at best compared to the numbers accessible by store level staff. Also, company policies and procedures aren't adhered to outside of the store level it seems. This is an excellent company to work for as a young adult, but move on before you hit your 30's. It always seemed strange that there wasn't news of people retiring from Hot Topic and now it's obvious why.

    Show More
    Hot Topic2019-04-27
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good people, dull work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work is simple and, if you are patient with good people skills, easy. Keep your area clean and promote as many sales as possible. Because of Hot Topic's Punk and Geek branding, it's pretty easy to tell which customers are going to be cool and which will be a handful. Managers are more than willing to help with the more difficult ones.

    Cons

    Upper management works hard to make sure you don't work enough to receive benefits. Local managers will get punished if employees clock out one minute over the limit, so they try and higher several employee and give them as few hours as possible. I was hiered for full time work and was lucky to get 8 hours a week. A bad local manager is usually made from the stress of upper management. They want you to "engage" with customers ALL THE TIME, which would be fine if it didn't bother the customers. I've been punished for not engaging with a customer after that same customer asked to be left alone to browes in peace. You're caught between a rock and a hard place trying to please your bosses, and respect the customer. Stickler for t-shirt folds. I would constantly be left feeling like if I couldn't fold a t-shirt like it just came out of the box, I would eventually loose my job for it. If any retail store says they are "known for having the best folds in the state," RUN.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are way more conserned about your "brand" than you are your customers and employees. Unfortunately, being such a large chain I doubt you care or will even see this. Your sales are low because your target demographic (young teens and adults) arnt making enough money in this economy to justify buying unnecessary fan merchandise. Please don't punish our local management for that when you are contributing to the problem by avoiding employee benefits and paying so low.

    Show More
    Hot Topic2019-03-05
  7. "Used to be my dream job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can actually be yourself.

    Cons

    Lack of upper management support.

    Advice to Management

    Lend a helping hand to fellow managers. Most district managers drop a load of things that need to be done in an impossible time frame then don’t offer to help. Moving people around especially managers in the middle of holiday and expect that person to move mountains in a month is not an ideal strategy to making your personal quota. Listen to the store managers at level and give more positive feedback. District managers love to berate a store with negative results and not focus on what positive attributes can be used to change the negative.

    Show More
    Hot Topic2019-01-13
  8. "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun environment, good employee discount.

    Cons

    Poor scheduling & work life balance. Poor upper management.

    Hot Topic2018-12-18
  9. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment and the product rocks

    Cons

    Horrible upper management Core values are lacking

    Hot Topic2018-11-30
  10. "It could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Lake Jackson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to have your own individuality and the customers are great

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from upper management

    Hot Topic2018-10-24
Found 55 reviews