Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt President, Chief Executive Officer and Director John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Generous work from home policy, with great work life balance(in 63 reviews)

  • "Great people, working on leading technology solutions for the education sector(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management seems to need stronger direction, not to mention people skills(in 55 reviews)

  • "Unclear vision for where the company is going means regular pivots and turnover of senior management(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Planner in Orlando, FL

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time

    Pros

    great team work, look after the employees

    Cons

    nothing to say bad about HMH

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-15
  2. "Talented Leadership Team Working to Transform the Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time

    Pros

    Great Executive Leadership Team focused on growth as well as employee engagement

    Cons

    Fast paced environment with all the typical challenges one would expect from a company undergoing a significant transformation

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-14
  3. "Wonderful company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Delivery Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many people working hard every day to make a difference in the lives of teachers and children everywhere.

    Cons

    Nothing to report here about HMH.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-10
  4. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, management was encouraging about developing us and our careers

    Cons

    I have no cons to report

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-05
  5. "Struggles of big companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in Cadott, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I can honestly say that I work with a number of really high quality people and under some great managers. The commitment to excellent products drives the company and the determination to help teachers and students is central.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are just way too many initiatives that get only partially implemented.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees a way to regularly evaluate their managers. Your good managers will appreciate the feedback and your bad managers will shape up or you can get them on an improvement plan and move them along or out. Some of the people leaving HMH are doing so not because of the company, but because of their managers.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Learning Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product and service to provide training to teachers and administrators on Into Reading and Into Literature. Excellent support for on-boarding and training.

    Cons

    Company hired many new employees and laid off 8% of work force including most all of the new employees after 3.5 months. Not a well thought out business plan as a lot of money and time was wasted training new staff.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the feasibility of a business plan for implementation before hiring and training for 2 months, only to realize 1.5 months of actual revenue producing work.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, tough industry, unstable leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Market Intelligence in Boston, MA

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with were top-notch - smart, collaborative, dedicated, respectful, congenial.

    Cons

    Not exactly a thriving industry. Lots of leadership turnover, reorganizations, cutbacks, "flavor of the month" strategic initiatives, and lots of work about the work.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-07
  8. "Nice place to work but needs improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time

    Pros

    Great people, you can see the end product

    Cons

    Management needs a shake up, career progression can be slow

    Advice to Management

    Give better framework around career progression

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-12-23
  9. "HMH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt part-time

    Pros

    Make your own schedule and work school hours

    Cons

    No upward movement and hardly any face to face with colleagues

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2020-01-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Nerve wracking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Evanston, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are what makes HMH tolerable!

    Cons

    Managers who love their titles, but have very little experience managing. Never-ending conference calls where you spend your time listening to nothing that involves work! The layoff monster is always creeping through the hallways looking for the next victim! Upper management is so clueless that it hurts!

    Advice to Management

    Realize that in order to continue to compete, the employees are what makes HMH who it is.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-12-27
Found 835 reviews