Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 793 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt CEO John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "Generous work from home policy, with great work life balance(in 55 reviews)

  • "Great people and passionate educators across the organization(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "The upper management could use some help(in 48 reviews)

  • "Unclear vision for where the company is going means regular pivots and turnover of senior management(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic engineering team at Boston, Exciting Time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Specializing in K-12 education, HMH remains committed to delivering engaging, dynamic, and effective educational content to more than 50 million students worldwide. Providing comprehensive learning solutions to help all students achieve their maximum potential, HMH serves as the leading source for personalized, flexible, and dynamic instruction. With that, it's an exciting time to be part of it! The Boston engineering senior management model the true "servant leadership" principle, and always lead by examples. Engineers are empowered to explore different technologies and encouraged to have open discussions! Among that a "start-up" spirit has been injected into the culture and the "can do" attitude is always highly appreciated! There are weekly engineering lunch and learn sessions, end of Sprint demos to share knowledge and a comprehensive internship program with personal mentorship was set up last summer successfully and several interns have been turned into engineers. On top of that, the senior leadership goes above and beyond to bring training in house to give week long training to engineers on several cutting edge technologies and tools. Those are very well received! Senior leadership also holds monthly town hall meeting to welcome new comers, gives project updates, offer appreciates to all with job well done, and outlines the challenges and the road map ahead. There are many talented and passionate and hardworking engineers marching towards the great mission. Great location and easy commute. Summer flexible working hours are offered to all by the company. Engineers are friendly, helpful, collaborative adhere to agile process and always work as a team to help to deliver the committed features. It is truly exciting to be part of it!

    Cons

    The project requirements need to be clarified and thought through, and lots of POs are remote and sometimes it's challenging to get them to answer questions.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great work for Engineers and keeps you busy but needs better co-ordination among groups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge technologies to work with for an Engineer Stack-wise, echo systems, platforms. Interesting challenges to solve and well run teams. Keep you busy and happening. Lots of deliveries happening around the year.

    Cons

    Better co-ordination needed across geographical groups to make things faster and less frustrating. Higher management needs to facilitate this inter-group collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Passionate group of smart people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I met so many friendly and smart people at HMH and I learned a huge amount from them in my three years at the company. People in all groups–sales, product, engineering, content and design–have great ideas, and are willing to talk about them. There’s a willingness to learn and to improve. The office is great, managers are flexible about working from home, and the benefits are good. I became friends with some of my coworkers and I enjoyed going to work with them. It’s a great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    The company can feel timid in terms of strategy. Engineering is somewhat understaffed, so progress can feel slow sometimes. Unlike many software companies, education is a seasonal industry, so workload and hours can vary a lot depending on time of year. There has been a lot of reorganization in the design and product group, and even though the company is going in a good direction, it’s been a rough trip. There was one very questionable hire at the design managerial level that led to my departure. Thankfully they left. Salary is okay for the industry but not great.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unbeatable work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unbeatable work-life balance; flexible hours, working from home is available (albeit see advice to management below), summer hours, working late is extremely rare. Infinitely better than previous roles I've had. - Positive workplace atmosphere: people are friendly, helpful, and relaxed - Great team dynamics: on the teams I've been on, the collaborative spirit makes problem-solving a blast - Interesting technology and industry: Working with the ReactJS framework in the edtech space is challenging and educational (pun not intended) - Office is handily located in city centre with great transport options (by Dublin standards)

    Cons

    - Attempts to harmonize processes and technologies across all engineering teams cause needless friction for questionable gain - Unnecessary meetings...probably universal to all companies

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-07-30
  5. "Excellent people, great mission, leading technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, working on leading technology solutions for the education sector. Great work-life balance, and an employee-first organisation which prioritises a positive, inclusive culture. I have worked here for 10 years and have seen the company transform over those years, improving all the time. Agile work practices, led from the Dublin site, are well embedded in our teams.

    Cons

    Although we are focused on building an enterprise-standard education platform, we have a legacy of older tech and bad practices which still impacts some aspects of work. Each year sees continuous improvement & innovation, however.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-07-31
  6. "Great Company to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Flexible work from home policy. Incredible group of people working with each to deliver quality products.

    Cons

    Company is not well known in Ireland, specially from a Tech point of view.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-07-29
  7. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Independence , flexibility, good people around

    Cons

    better work life preferred at work

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-12
  8. "Part Time More Like Full Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Services Consultant (Math Solutions) 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Professionally rewarding to be working amongst leaders in the education industry • Annual consultant summits provided opportunities for all consultants to meet, learn, grow, share, network. • Customer relationships/partnerships had their challenges but overall were inspiring and motivating; these relationships and interactions provided much needed feedback and impetus for self-reflection and growth.

    Cons

    • Being part time, the work was feast or famine. This was understood from the beginning, but, along with management changes, expectations to work on multiple certifications while preparing for and delivering services required an extensive commitment of time...far above and beyond reasonable. • Training pay rate was less than $20/hour; per diem pay was $500 for practice courses and $300 for program delivery. While this rate may seem appropriate/competitive, this is inclusive of all the preparatory work, correspondence, travel time, and post-delivery reporting. Whereas full time employees are salaried (and get annual reviews and pay reviews), there was no process or avenue for part-time consultants to pursue for per diem rate reviews. • Full time vs part time training opportunities were not equitable. • Management was not transparent about the time commitment/expectations for upcoming blended coaching work, where clients could potentially have 24-7 access to their coaches. • Being part time and working remotely, I frequently used my own resources to prepare for projects, much of which was not reimbursed. When management was asked about this, general response was to plan ahead and request from immediate manager. This protocol works when projects are planned out/scheduled a few weeks in advance, but often work of this nature can be assigned with little time to prepare.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Mismanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues, and the being passionate about the work I do.

    Cons

    Leadership, vision, tightening of belt that is happening. Pushing out of valued employees and the revoking of certain benefits.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-02
  10. "Trying to Improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time

    Pros

    Some flexibility to work from home, good people within my team.

    Cons

    High level of turnover, not much cross functional collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-07-22
Found 793 reviews