House of Fraser Reviews

Updated 30 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
House of Fraser CEO Alex Williamson  (no image)
Alex Williamson
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is good, work life balance works well(in 49 reviews)

  • "20% off all concessions, good hourly rate(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is a lack of air conditioning on the shop floor making it very difficult to work in(in 30 reviews)

  • "awaiting clear direction of hof(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Satisfactory, more pros than cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time

    Pros

    Paid breaks, 20% staff discount, the pay was good

    Cons

    Tough work environment, there’s a lot of snobby people in the Dundrum area.

    House of Fraser2020-05-30
  2. "Good Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunities to progress, always busy

    Cons

    Pay structure, poor work/life balance

    Continue reading
    House of Fraser2020-05-29
  3. "Okay for a part time job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not bad if your wanting part time and your a student , works well however since sports direct took over , there is no more overtime to earn more hours but other than that it is flexible and a decent first job for students

    Cons

    Not much overtime anymore, clocking out for breaks can get a bit hard sometimes as you end up with less break time as your more focused on waiting to clock out on w till system is Everyone else is using

    House of Fraser2020-05-24
  4. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, professional encironment

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    House of Fraser2020-05-19
  5. "Ok"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Service Specialist in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time

    Pros

    Ok good friends alright pay for my age at the time

    Cons

    Not much overtime went to pot after Mike

    House of Fraser2020-05-19
  6. "Sales associate"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun team. I only worked weekends

    Cons

    No cons whilst working there

    House of Fraser2020-04-24
  7. "christmas temp"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great culture and people

    Cons

    christmas rush and new to role

    House of Fraser2020-04-21
  8. "-"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff discount is good, work life balance works well.

    Cons

    Management unclear, shift patterns, career progression is low.

    Continue reading
    House of Fraser2020-04-21
  9. "I wouldn't go back"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Staff Discount - Cafeteria at Flannels - Nice office and location in London - Weekly company drinks - Overall my time their taught me a lot in resilience and confidence due to the constant challenges thrown at you and being forced to deal with them - Some mangers were really helpful and although doing a lot more work than they were meant to be they would make a real effort to try to help others when they needed it - The people for me were definitely the best thing about it however, by the time I left so had most of my original team, staff turnover is very high

    Cons

    - Terrible salary - did not know a single person in an entry level position who wasn't living in accommodation incredibly heavily subsidised by their family, it would simply not be possible around the london region to live on it otherwise. - Constantly losing staff and choose not to/can't replace them so simply expect others to pick up the work without offering them promotion/more money - Very Cliquey - voicing your opinion if its not in line with certain others will mean you get passed up for opportunities you are more than capable of doing - No room for progression

    Continue reading
    House of Fraser2020-05-02
  10. "Good for uni students"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours to work around your studies Friendly Colleagues

    Cons

    Stock take. Can get very boring if you work on a quiet department. The Annexe / Contemporary menswear is a graveyard. No staff discount.

    House of Fraser2020-03-19
Found 712 reviews