Huge Employee Reviews about "brooklyn"

Updated Sep 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 514 reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Huge CEO Mat Baxter (no image)
Mat Baxter
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mostly) smart and talented people(in 36 reviews)

  • "You'll have tons of experts around to ask questions from, smart people to check your logic, and a company that supports you as a human(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Struggling management, long hours, not rewarding work(in 17 reviews)

  • "a lot of working remotely (my boss was in a different office and most of our team was based in the Brooklyn HQ)(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "brooklyn"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Huge Therapy Bill

      Sep 14, 2020 - Strategist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They made good looking decks & presentations. You can get some good work in your portfolio.

      Cons

      This was truly a toxic organization. The behavior tolerated and encouraged made my head spin and I hope to never encounter a workplace like Huge again. At the end of the day, you were aware you could get fired at any moment and that made people—leaders, managers, and workers—behave in ways that were self-preserving. People would throw you under the bus and drive over you in a Brooklyn-minute if they needed too. Anyone who had a moral compass was out of there fast.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Great company but ATL office does not have the greatest track record

      Jan 12, 2020 - Recruiting Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - amazing perks (free snacks and catered breakfasts/lunches) and work culture - great boss and my team did a splendid job with my onboarding process - cordial coworkers - really cool office space and awesome hours of operation - amazing PTO structure and flexible work-from-home policy

      Cons

      - the work itself was pretty one-dimensional (coming from full cycle recruiting, this work was more administrative-based but I still learned a lot) - a lot of working remotely (my boss was in a different office and most of our team was based in the Brooklyn HQ) - salary was on the lower side than what I was used to - not an ideal commute if you live outside the perimeter and the parking garage fee is expensive - the seating arrangement within the office is pretty spaced out so it felt isolating most of the time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about Huge

      Join the conversation on

      Consulting India

      1y

      works at 

      KPMG

      I have a colleague who is notorious for setting up meetings <15-30 minutes before it starts. They’re not as much critical as they are just simply spur of the moment and last minute due to her lack of planning. Huge pet peeve. Anyone else experience something similar?

      4

      2 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A Toxic Agency of Interrupters

      Apr 17, 2018 - Project Manager in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Some employees are incredible smart, kind, and amazing at their jobs. - The dogs (of course) - Free snacks, coffee, and beer/wine. - Dedicated employee engagement team who plans interesting lectures/fun company events. - Visually appealing office with a lot of open space for working. - The office team rules. - Technology savvy office. - Dope roof.

      Cons

      - Extremely low morale due to layoffs and poor management - Loss of clients and direction within the agency - Poor internal communication - HR does not try to help employees who are struggling in their roles due to abusive managers. I was told to look for another job when things weren't going well instead of being offered guidance or solutions - Client Service teams preemptively say "yes" to work without thoroughly vetting resources or even making sure the projects are possible - An emphasis on bullying culture - basically if you are not extremely Type A or do not enjoy harassing people for work, you will not thrive here. - Huge boasts of innovation and out of the box thinking but trains managers to demean employees if they do not operate the same exact way they do. Even if you are crushing work and succeeding, if you are not working in the exact style that your manager wants, you will be heavily criticized. - You are lucky if you have a manager who wants to mentor you and help you grow. I had several 'bosses' who I had to report to but no direct manager to have my back. - Extremely gossipy and cliquey office. Everyone is talking sh*t about everyone else constantly. - Too many people who work late every night and had an overwhelming amount of work. This is the type of place where you can do mediocre work, but if you stay until 9 PM and complain about it all day, people will respect you. If you leave at 6 and do quality work, everyone will complain about you leaving early. - I once took an emergency mental health day and my manager wouldn't speak to me for a week out of anger. - There is so much turnover. People who established client goals will leave and the internal team will have no idea how they got to X goal and will report false data to clients. - You will put blood, sweat, and tears into a project and be told you cannot sit in an internal meeting since upper management is attending. I am not a junior team member and was forced to dial into meetings that were in a conference room next to me. Belittling happens on a daily basis to key team members who contribute a significant amount of work. - You will spend all day in meetings where only half of the room is listening. Another meeting will be set up to talk to those who were not listening and at least 2 people will be 20 minutes late. An immense amount of time is wasted in meetings. - Never in my life have I been interrupted so much or witnessed others being interrupted. People often scream over each other in meetings. - Dumbo is an expensive place to buy lunch. - The "office" structure within Brooklyn makes it difficult to grow or transition onto other accounts. There should only be one office.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Open environment that encourages growth

      Feb 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Huge has unparalleled culture and trust in their employees. I've had countless opportunities to step up and take on new challenges, it's the best of both worlds - with a "start-up" scrappy mentality, but all the great resources of a global company. The Brooklyn HQ houses nearly 500 of the smartest individuals in the industry, and it's rare to see such a range of capabilities under one roof. Huge also is the first company I've worked for that encourages growth / learning in other departments outside of your own, your growth is really dependent on personal ambition. Leadership is transparent and quite literally walking among you at all times, with Aaron the CEO regularly updating the company in monthly meetings of new business objectives and strategies. Office space is dog-friendly, perks like food & booze, social clubs, parties, summer Fridays, compensation is higher than industry standard.

      Cons

      Huge has had some growing pains, teams are in flux as they are restructuring many departments to focus on expanding capabilities.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bad as in bad, not good.

      Dec 29, 2017 - Experience Director in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Huge has managed to attract and hire many highly skilled / talented people in all areas of design and strategy. The level of fit and finish is much higher than other places I have worked, especially on the visual design side of things. People are always willing to give 110% to make things happen as best they can. Finally, you'd be hard pressed to find someone there who will tell you 'No' to a big idea. Huge taught me the value of having a vision (without reality or substance, unfortunately). It's a good place to do a bunch of flashy, shallow work for big brands for a couple of years to boost your portfolio and resume. The benefits are pretty good, including time off policy. The salary wasn't bad either. Brooklyn office is ok but fairly generic. If you have a chance to visit, take note of the fake 'smart office' iPads they have on all of the conference rooms. It really sums Huge up. You can't do anything on them (book a room, checkin, etc.) and some poor person in IT has to go around and change their battery packs every day because they're not hard wired to power. Though that didn't stop the company from including a photo and 'smart office' capability in their presentation decks.

      Cons

      Oh man, where to begin. This place is a complete mess, as is prescribed from the top down in their self proclaimed 'culture of chaos'. There's not a single thing that happens that seems to make sense or considers the best interest of the client or the people doing the work 'on the ground'. To be clear, it's not a creative company. There's not a single creative person in an executive level position. They're all former client services people. The couple of people who were in creative executive roles (including CCO) were unceremoniously fired last year, then never replaced (common occurrence at Huge). There are a couple of low-level, puppet creative execs with good intentions, but they're essentially ineffective. Top management is toxic, ultra cliquey and honestly don't seem to have a clue of what they're doing...all constantly over reacting to the whims of the CEO. Speaking of which, this isn't a guy you want to ever have to work with. Something is seriously off with him. Additionally, everyone treats him like a genius. He spouts typical industry headlines like 'AI is the future! at company meetings and everyone acts like he's a prophet. Finally, as with many agencies...it's all about the pitch and win. If you're not pitching you're dead. The company doesn't know what to do with a client / project once they actually win it. Talent that's 100% allocated to paid client work are constantly pulled off to work on new pitches, regardless of the impact to that project.

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      HUGE Disappointment.

      Jan 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Aside from the superficial - free snacks and drinks and occasional swag - there isn’t anything substantive or satisfying about Huge. That said there are gems tucked here and there across the network. Their time, however, is limited as they contend with what’s going on publicly (massive rounds of layoffs across the organization and categorical closing of studios in Brazil, LA, and Portland) to the tacit realization that the most talented have left from senior leadership (President, CMO, Managing Directors, Group VPs) to the rising stars.

      Cons

      So much has been written about the challenges facing Huge that I could understand if the casual reader interpreted the criticisms as exaggerated and baseless. Regrettably I can confirm that what’s been expressed is not only true but fair. Huge is an incredibly toxic culture, particularly with senior leadership. Starting with the CEO and Presidents based at HQ (Brooklyn) to MDs responsible for individual studios and disciplines, the ones who are successful are politically ruthless sycophants (google interview with the President who claims her personal hero is the CEO. Really?). Although some claim they are protected since they are geographically or hierarchically distanced from senior leadership, it’s a false and disastrous assertion (just ask the talented individuals who lost their livelihood in one fell swoop during the various office closures). Everyone is expendable at Huge (with the exception of the sycophants). I’ve also discovered that my time spent at Huge is proving to be a career albatross. The word is out that Huge isn’t the creative, strategic, technologically fluent player they once were who cannot attract and retain creative visionaries and thought leaders. So by association Huge’s lackluster reputation has tarnished and debilitated career progression. Huge is neither a good starting point nor career stepping stone (just ask all the designers who have nothing but banner ads to show in their portfolios or the strategists who can only point to pitch decks).

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You won't do anything here. You'll just make decks.

      Dec 15, 2017 - Senior Visual Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool people. Treat their employees reasonably well (when they aren't laying them off, of course) Good work life balance, in our office at least. I hear Brooklyn is a different story.

      Cons

      No good work. If you are looking to create portfolio pieces and better yourself, look elsewhere. I've been here almost 2 years and I've only seen a couple pieces of good work actually launch. Most everyone here is working on decks, spec work, or pitching, or nothing. Your career will stall here.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Designer

      Nov 26, 2017 - Designer in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly creative employees, focus on side hustles, decent work/life balance. Minors so that employees can master another skill on the company's dime, fellowships, hack-a-thons, hour-long classes nearly every day so we deepen our skills and learn about new technologies. Low level creatives feel just as heard as CDs. Great name, great new clients. Dogs. Brooklyn location is rejuvenating. Skews quite liberal (turned down an offer to redesign Trump's white house website. Twice).

      Cons

      Rough lay off process — for those fired and the teams left near-flailing. Could use more juniors and mid-levels to actually do the work. You'll work incredibly hard, but will have something to show for it half the time. Some leadership could do more mentoring. Be communicative and candid. We want constructive criticism, and to know when we're doing well. Someone work til 1am on a project you gave them at 7pm? Say thanks, and let the know how the meeting went. On the other hand, some leadership is incredible, will push you to work your hardest and gladly take on mentoring. I guess it's sink or swim, you've got to put yourself out there to reap the benefits.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It's a family... until earnings are bad, then it's a business

      Oct 1, 2017 - Associate Visual Designer in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are generally nice, very competent, interesting hipster people. Employees skew quite liberal. Review system and career advancement are pretty clear and fair. You even get to review your own manager at the end of the year. Great outside-of-the-job culture of different social clubs (funded by the company) and regular department- and company-wide events. There's a guy whose sole job is to find fun things for Hugers to do together. Good perks. Money off your monthly phone data plan, money off your gym expenses, free bagels on Tuesdays (in Brooklyn location), the usual ad world "free dinner and car service after 8pm" deal Work culture is one of eager experimentation/iteration. Management/HR regularly asks for feedback on what they can be doing better, and actually take experimental steps to improve. Huge had the best large agency onboarding experience I've undergone so far. Because of its gargantuan size, Huge tends to work with very large name brand clients, which is useful to impress non-designers o your personal website.

      Cons

      Everyone is nice, but not necessarily friendly, especially the longer they've been around. It took me a year to build informal relationships with the coworkers I hadn't gotten to work with. Large clients desire risk-averse and not very innovative work. Large clients with the money to afford Huge tend to be morally grey. E.g. we were pitching (and later won) a prominent company at the same time as it was getting flak in the media for being dicks. Small companies with interesting asks—and even some large brands with great prestige—can't afford to work with us. Literally love our pitch work but turn us down because they can't afford us. Layoff process is terrible. It comes with no warning, and you return to your computer after the meeting to find yourself locked out of your computer and get shooed out of the building asap so it's not "awkward" for your friends/ex-coworkers to have to see you. From the employee side of things, you will sometimes find out that friends in different departments have been let go just because you can't find them on Slack anymore.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    11. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Used to be fun

      Oct 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brooklyn location in Dumbo gives it a nice vibe.

      Cons

      Recent lay offs and uncertain future.

      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Huge Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Huge? Share Your Experiences

    Huge logo
    or