Hulu Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hulu Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 338 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Hulu CEO Randy Freer
Randy Freer
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "One of the main reasons I left Hulu was meaningless fire drills that completely destroyed any semblance of work life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "The company has dramatically grown in the last two years so there have been a few growing pains, but not too many(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "okayish company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    less work load, i m trying to recall but cant think of anything

    Cons

    no growth prospect, no motivation to work, not a friendly environment

    Hulu2019-04-02
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, wonderful work environment, great benefits.

    Cons

    Leadership and product vision was lacking.

    Hulu2019-04-17
  3. "I Like working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Good company culture and competitive compensations

    Cons

    Unclear career path and some project doesn't make too much sense

    Hulu2019-04-18
  4. "overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Developer 

      I have been working at Hulu full-time

      Pros

      work life balance is great

      Cons

      some people is lazy and hiring bar is not higher than before

      Hulu2019-04-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Far paced work with a lot of smart people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        It is fast paced. So a lot of time fresh graduates would struggle to find a place where they need proper mentorship. Things like technical landside is continuously changing. So if you want to later one technology, this might not be the place for you.

        Cons

        Management had changed recently and there is a bit of uncertainty for the direction. Individual growth is difficult as promotions only happen if you work a lot or if you're a favorite

        Hulu2019-03-26
      • Helpful (2)

        "Marketing, the most toxic department to work for at Hulu"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Santa Monica, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Talented people if they last long enough. Good health care benefits. Free snacks and booze.

        Cons

        Marketing division is the worst after new CMO started with constant re-orgs with Product divisions that don't make sense. Not hiring or promoting strong performers and rewarding mediocre team members because they play politics and don't rock the boat. Setting up people to fail by overworking them and pointing the finger when they do. Managers who shouldn't be managers are being promoted because directors and VPs...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        C-level executives, look at what's going on with your departments. Whole teams are leaving the company because good people are tired of politics and being punished for doing good work. Why go through the trouble of having an internal yearly pulse check of how the company is treating its employees if you retain Directors and VPs who's team has the lowest scores and lowest satisfaction.

        Hulu2019-04-06
      • "A great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Planning Manager in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        I love working at Hulu. We do great work, with great people. I get asked all the time in interviews about my favorite thing about working at Hulu, and it's the people.

        Cons

        The advertising industry is always change! Change is constant. It's hard to think of something I don't like about Hulu. Personally, our office is in a less central location on one side of town and I wish that was better for my situation.

        Hulu2019-03-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Hulu has an amazing culture. There are always fun events, people are awesome, really develop new friendships. The benefits are great, 5 months maternity, unlimited vacation, and more.

        Cons

        Limited availability to move up. So much gossip, it's hard to trust people with information. Power struggle where I feel sometimes they don't move you forward to keep their own power.

        Advice to Management

        Don't make us do surveys if you don't take advice into practice

        Hulu2019-03-11
      • Helpful (5)

        "AVOID AT ALL COSTS"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Marketing in Santa Monica, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some decent benefits and paid time off. I think every department is different. Most of the positive reviews seem to be coming from the Engineering/Tech fields. The Marketing department is not a positive place to work at Hulu.

        Cons

        I have never experienced a company that is as toxic as Hulu. The amount of finger pointing and blaming that goes on here is unlike anything I have ever experienced. And the problem is that it comes from the top positions. There is no process or organization. So much disorganization at a company that has been around for 10 years. Misinformation and communication problems happen because there is no centralized database...

        Show More
        Hulu2019-04-10
      • Helpful (4)

        "Death March"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Hulu full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Apparently young friendly crowd. Lots of smart people to work with. You can learn a lot of new technologies and techniques.

        Cons

        Massively understaffed. The newly formed Data org is extremely inefficient and a cult driven culture. There are a bunch of lackeys (literally) who call the shots. Rest everyone else is cannon fodder. It seems like an eternal "how long can you keep shut and keep getting burnt contest". Upper management really adept at discouraging you and shaming you wherever & whenever possible. You don't have much of a future in the...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Hope post 3/29/2019 was some kind of a lesson. Time to look beyond how to artificially jack up those hulucares scores. If you have a family and look forward to spend time with them on a regular basis this may not be it.

        Hulu2019-04-06
      Found 338 reviews