Huntington National Bank "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Huntington National Bank Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1113 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Huntington National Bank CEO Steve Steinour
Steve Steinour
551 Ratings
Pros
  • "Easily the best company that I have ever seen at work/life balance(in 56 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for, good benefits, treat their employees and customer right(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Turn over in the In-Store branches is often high due to hours of operation (work/life balance)(in 74 reviews)

  • "Upper Management consistently demonstrates lack of trust(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good regional bank with a strong customer service orientation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, bonus, equity, benefits, growth opportunities, work-life balance

    Cons

    Not invented here mindset, succession planning was not effective at senior levels

    Huntington National Bank2019-09-03
  2. "Awful--Run for the Hills!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Test Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at HNB for about 6 months now. Honestly there is practically nothing to recommend this place.

    Cons

    Dishonesty, lack of integrity, and nastiness runs rampant in this place. nobody has a clue about overall direction or strategy. totally disorganized (think: mega tornado). terrible benefits, long hours, work-life balance is a joke here

    Advice to Management

    Please treat your ppl better than farm animals

    Huntington National Bank2019-09-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Call center MLO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Direct Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Hours are flexible because manager has no idea what’s going on.

    Cons

    Everything else - no work life balance, terrible pay, no respect for sakes staff.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff better. Stop making people work OT so you don’t have to hire support staff. Stop making your employees train new employees because you have so much turnover. There is no work/life balance here. You cannot take a single day off. Upper management sees no value to the call center and doesn’t provide tools for its employees to succeed.

    Huntington National Bank2019-07-27
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Management needs a change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Teller in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is very competitive with other companies. They strive to make sure you are getting paid fairly. With the 3 years I was there I got a raise every year plus two other ones that weren't the yearly review. The pto to start was 12 days that I had received by the end of my time I had 16 plus two extra days I had received. There hsa program is really good they have total health thing that if you do the items you could... get up to 500 and they give you 250. They have great maturity leave. Some branches are great to work for and have a good work life balance but that really depends on were you are at. There was a lot of change in the 3 years I had been with Huntington some were really great changes and some not so much but that's with any company. Compared to other banking companies Huntington was a lot better from what I have heard from people that have worked with other companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management is awful. No guidance what so ever if you want to advance you have to figure it out on your own. Depending if you know someone hire up or at other branches you may move up within to other branches. There’s no appreciation within Huntington. Most places are under staffed and you typically wouldn’t get a lunch. Customers would get upset for being under staff but we couldn’t do anything. Most times I ate out... of my drawer when customers weren’t in the branch because I wasn’t able to go to the break-room. You work hard for this company and nothing shows for it. I truly loved my job at first, but it went downhill quick. There is one manager who is an awful person to work with. He would Taunt you and tell you call HR on him. Everyone was afraid of him. He would make people cry and then laugh about it. He made you afraid to call HR and I’ve heard there’s a few managers like that and the district managers were buddies with the managers so plenty of time people would be afraid to say anything because they didn’t want to get fired. Also, some managers were too lazy or didn’t want to see you advance. There is a lot of unprofessional people within the branches/ Huntington all together. Also, there is no consistency from branch to branch. As a customer you go to one branch get told one thing and then go to another and get told the opposite thing. It was hard being a float teller because nothing was consistence you were taught one thing and then go work at another branch and its completely different because the people who have been with the company the longest think they know everything and may need a refresher course every now and then. You also were expected to do test about subjects and typically never had time to watch the videos or read the material so we all would copy each others answers or take the test and save the answers . Grass isn't greener on the other side left a great branch to move up within the company and got sent to an awful branch. Huntington is like high school. If you don't have your name out there in a good way your not moving up theirs a lot of clicks who knows who basically.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more appreciative, Don't make your staff afraid of you. District managers and managers be more approachable make your staff know they can trust you and come to you about anything.

    Huntington National Bank2019-06-05
  5. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Network and career opportunities

    Cons

    work life balance is too difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Too many changes within the company

    Huntington National Bank2019-05-29
  6. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RB3 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, hours, career, adavancement

    Cons

    Managers, work life balance, meetings

    Huntington National Bank2019-05-04
  7. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Loved working at Huntington (recently retired). Good salary/pay. Focused on doing the right thing for customers and colleagues. Phenomenal around inclusion. I highly recommend Huntington. Upper management always available when needed.

    Cons

    Turn over in the In-Store branches is often high due to hours of operation (work/life balance). Tech and system upgrades come at you pretty fast.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop good colleagues by listening to them.

    Huntington National Bank2019-03-17
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instore Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer focus, allow branch management to run centers efficiently, all retail senior management align to values.

    Cons

    Work/life balance, pay and incentive could be better is average however, benefit costs, space in instore locations are very cramped.

    Advice to Management

    Secure larger spaces in the instore channel for colleagues to complete all daily required activities. Also compensate those in these channels ahead of tradition since they sacrifice evenings and weekends with their families.

    Huntington National Bank2019-01-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Bentonville, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is quite good for this type of work, decent benefits, and vacation time.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is a joke. Being at an in-store means 10 hour days with no lunch break are the norm. Management only cares about the numbers. The tellers are required to be the sales colleagues and are often asked why they aren't pushing a product during every single transaction. This company is more concerned with getting credit card sales than they are maintaining customer relationships and loyalty. Very... little room for advancement unless you want to become a banker.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your people and customers, not the numbers. Build loyalty and relationships and the numbers will fall into place.

    Huntington National Bank2019-01-05
  10. "Instore retail banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huntington National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Customer Service. Best Credit Card.

    Cons

    Not enough staff to take care of Customers. Teller system slow. Work life balance bad. Managers don't punch in or out and say they are there for x amount of hours and aren't.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through. Share your office other people need to make calls and have a place for appointments to sit. ( should not have to open accounts at pods)

    Huntington National Bank2019-01-11
Found 1113 reviews