Hy-Vee Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hy-Vee Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Hy-Vee CEO Randy Edeker
Randy Edeker
7 Ratings
  1. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I worked at Hy-Vee part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule was very nice

    Cons

    weird coworkers were whack

    Advice to Management

    hire better people

    Hy-Vee2019-08-23
  2. "Not a bad job for someone in high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Dubuque, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hy-Vee part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy job that requires little effort

    Cons

    pay is lousy and there is little room for raises

    Hy-Vee2019-05-16
  3. "Could be better, could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Columbia, MO

    I worked at Hy-Vee part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Part-time flexibility, fun co-workers, you can switch jobs with ease

    Cons

    Revolving door of employees, indifferent management

    Hy-Vee2019-04-30
  4. "Boring cause no one was ever promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Albia, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hy-Vee part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People were nice to work with

    Cons

    Small store, not very busy

    Advice to Management

    None

    Hy-Vee2019-03-10
  5. "Deli Clerk Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hy-Vee part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good first time job Good pay Nice co-workers

    Cons

    Cannot get full time

    Hy-Vee2018-10-08
  6. "Eh.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hy-Vee part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours available Okay entry level job

    Cons

    Focus on helping customers is extremely excessive, secret shoppers grade performance of employees Was lied to by my manager, I agreed to close 2 days a week after my shift but never agreed to wait months for another assistant manager. After I said I'm done after next week, apparently she told a coworker I'll never work at a hyvee ever again, and even asked about my finances. I can live with not working there again

    Advice to Management

    Don't be weird when someone just doesn't like the job and wants to quit

    Hy-Vee2018-06-22
  7. "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deli Clerk in Coralville, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hy-Vee for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Eating the deli meat is a good thing.

    Cons

    Everything is bad about this job.

    Advice to Management

    Run a tighter ship

    Hy-Vee2018-07-06
  8. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hy-Vee part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pays okay, Not too hard of a job, management is generally friendly. LOTS of availability for advancement. They prefer to hire people in store than out of store for upper level management positions so you can start your way up as a bag boy and eventually find yourself to be a department manager without having a college degree. Full time benefits are pretty great (health insurance, 401k, etc) for full time workers

    Cons

    if you're part time, do not expect a consistent amount of hours. If you have open availability, they may schedule you 35 hours a week or 12 hours a week. Co-workers at this job can be really unreliable and will leave you on your own or call in without having someone take their shift, but that's really with any retail/food job I assume. Employee meals are $6, which are not worth. Not really any good discounts. ... customers are can be really really annoying and picky and management expects you to bend over backwards for them.

    Show More
    Hy-Vee2018-03-02
  9. "Deli Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hy-Vee part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A helpful smile in every aisle mentality, high quality products, great customer service, funny work days, great opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful, management sometimes seems unconcerned outwardly, need more structure, need more injections of mission and passion into employees

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people below you, make an effort to befriend them, pick your battles, learn to love what you do and take care of customers

    Hy-Vee2017-09-09
  10. "Great place to work, hard to stick around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hy-Vee part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, good training, people help each other out, good teamwork depending on location.

    Cons

    Management tends to be out of touch, sometimes unrealistic goals (back down on them if confronted), gossipy environment.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people who want to work harder better.

    Hy-Vee2017-07-27
Found 26 reviews