IISC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

IISC Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 273 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
IISC CEO P Balaram (no image)
P Balaram
107 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Salary, aged professors are too rigid(in 26 reviews)

  • "I felt No Cons for the Institute(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IISC full-time

    Pros

    Amazing weather, professors are world class and competitive environment.

    Cons

    No social life and very few events.

    IISC2019-10-02
  2. "Electrical and Communication department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Project Assistant in Bangalore

    I worked at IISC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super nice professors who have world class expertise in their domain. Will end up learning a lot from them.

    Cons

    Food in the canteen is pretty substandard.

    IISC2019-09-30
  3. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at IISC full-time

    Pros

    You get to learn new ideas, techniques, self-management, people management during your course, especially during Ph.D. tenure. It helps in grooming you to a self-sufficient, confident ad=nd humble person. From a future and growth perspective, you will get multiple opportunities to go abroad for further research or get absorbed in jobs in the country.

    Cons

    you are bound to get stressed sometime or other from the workload, deadlines and meeting up the standards/expectations of your boss/peers.

    IISC2019-10-09
  4. "A short review of IISc as a workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IISC full-time

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere, easy access to research funds, very good students.

    Cons

    1. Recent introduction of SAP has created a mayhem. 2. IISc has not been able to negotiate with tax authorities successfully to convince them that perquisite tax is not applicable. Both these aspects result in monetary losses running into more than 100,000 Rs.

    Advice to Management

    Roll back SAP.

    IISC2019-09-29
  5. "excellent institute for phd and masters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IISC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great faculty, infrastructure, Campus ,excellent research facilities.

    Cons

    not any as of now.

    IISC2019-09-14
  6. "Project assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Assistant in Chitradurga
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IISC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Research and teaching is my passion

    Cons

    Salary is low compared to other companies

    IISC2019-09-27
  7. "Senior Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at IISC full-time

    Pros

    Good environment for collaboration and growth

    Cons

    Bad management by Professors and administration

    IISC2019-09-25
  8. "Ph.D. Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at IISC full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to work in the latest fields and with top faculties. Best lab facilities.

    Cons

    It takes at least 6 or more years in average for a student to complete his/her Ph.D.

    IISC2019-09-22
  9. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at IISC part-time

    Pros

    Very nice and calm environment . Best for Researchers.

    Cons

    I felt No Cons for the Institute.

    IISC2019-09-05
  10. "Great place to work, for PhD/MS aspirants!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IISC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Exposure to diverse CS domains, in-depth. 2. Mentored to publish in top conferences/ apply to top grants. 3. Government funded projects and collaborations.

    Cons

    Salary is not high, so it's not advisable to stay beyond 3 years as an RA.

    IISC2019-09-04
Found 273 reviews
</>Embed