Iceland Foods "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Iceland Foods Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 1 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods Chairman and CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
403 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good flexability for all people one floor or in the field(in 61 reviews)

  • "great benefits such as staff discount(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be difficult depending on shift times given(in 43 reviews)

  • "Long hours and not given much warning to do overtime(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Disengagement between stores and head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Nottingham, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    Development to Store Manager Great store teams willing to work to complete job

    Cons

    Poor training Head office have little retail experience/knowledge Work life balance challenges Workload challenges Some Area Managers not caring/responsible/lack of understanding No set standards or hours for training

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2020-03-01
  2. "It's not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team LEader in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good development opportunities, Praise good work, loads of overtime for people that put the effort in.

    Cons

    Take an hour break off you when you don't have time to take it. constantly staying back extra hours and not getting paid. same pay rate for team leaders and sale assistants. work life balance for full time team leader is rubbish. constant back shift and full weekends. not for a family man/woman.

    Iceland Foods2019-12-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "DON'T DO IT!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    10% discount off your shopping.

    Cons

    VERY long hours, very tight wage budget, lack of resources, unrealistic planning, expected to work your days off as standard practise, zero interest is shown in your personal wellbeing mentally or physically and if you complain, nobody listens. The HR people actually talk you into reversing or watering down any complaints you bring. My work life balance is entirely non existent and my family are suffering for it. I go days without seeing my kids because of the needs of the business. The most aggravating part is being told you don't have a "forward thinking mindset" if you complain that two back to back 15 hour shifts are too long. Iceland literally expects you to give up any semblance of family life in order to service your shop. Expect phone calls and texts at all times of the day regardless of your personal life. And I mean ALL times of the day. You get 1.5 hours taken off your daily wages as "break" but there is no way on earth you will ever be able to take more than the length of a cigarette break. I feel like at one point, Iceland WAS actually a good family oriented company to work for, but alas, those days are long gone. Do NOT join this company. You will regret it.

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2020-01-05
  4. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much really except discount card

    Cons

    Unpaid hours, not enough time allocated, no support despite being promised. No work / life balance. Below average pay.

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2019-12-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Potential to be great place to work again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At store level some great people a great atmosphere and place to work good family feel

    Cons

    Work life balance Lack of hours within stores very pressured Family feel used to be from top down no longer feels that way

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2019-12-05
  6. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly staff

    Cons

    No work life balance

    Iceland Foods2019-08-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced kept busy Hardworking colleagues

    Cons

    No work life balance Too many expectations with not enough support

    Iceland Foods2019-06-27
  8. "Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team work, good progression, good pay and great company values

    Cons

    demanding, difficult work, limited contracts and poor work/life balance if full time

    Iceland Foods2019-06-07
  9. "East going place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay is decent - Holiday is easily approved - Allow extended periods of time off (unpaid) - Easy work

    Cons

    - Can be backlogs of inventory which create stressful situations when targets need to be met for restocking. - Meeting expectations for restocking can be difficult - Work-life balance can be difficult depending on shift times given

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2019-06-05
  10. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    10% discount And that's literally it...

    Cons

    Expected to work for free Don't pay us duty manager allowance so we're on minimum wage but expect the same from us No work life balance

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2019-06-25
Found 43 reviews