Idaho Power Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Idaho Power Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Idaho Power President and CEO Darrel T. Anderson (no image)
Darrel T. Anderson
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, most departments are great to work for(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Regulated companies have unique challenges and it isn't for everyone(in 3 reviews)

  • "High pressure, horrible management, no work life balance, all jobs are now offered external(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Salary, good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Technician in Boise, ID
    Recommends

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    manageable workload, great pay, good boss

    Cons

    Very corporate, a lot of training videos

    Idaho Power2019-08-18
  2. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Metering Systems Specialist in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    pay!, family atmosphere, development opportunities

    Cons

    there are none....really, absolutely none

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work!

    Idaho Power2019-08-02
  3. "Good stable employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Company generally cares about their employees. Stable company (publicly regulated monopoly) so you don't have to worry about layoffs. They hire/promote from within. Training/education opportunities are pretty good.

    Cons

    Management practices and culture are somewhat outdated. Working from home is discouraged. It can take years to work up to a good paid time off accrual rate. They often hire temporary contractors instead of creating new full time positions.

    Idaho Power2019-06-21
  4. "Good Comoany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company with a wonderful emphasis on customers

    Cons

    Some of the Management Team

    Idaho Power2019-04-18
  5. "I wish it wasn't temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    IT Service Desk Technician in Boise, ID

    I worked at Idaho Power

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    None, management was excellent!

    Idaho Power2019-02-21
  6. "Amazing &Unique Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked in several other companies and Idaho Power is the best. The leadership has high integrity and truly cares about employees. There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other. Pay and benefits are very competitive as an overall package.

    Cons

    Regulated companies have unique challenges and it isn't for everyone. Historically at times the company was stuck in the mode of maintaining the status quo rather than being open to new ideas or ways of doing things, but that seems to be changing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the focus on leadership development and not just technical expertise.

    Idaho Power2019-02-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "EASILY, THE WORST COMPANY I'VE EVER WORKED FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relay Technician in Payette, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair compensation package and pay.

    Cons

    I spent 11 dedicated years with IPCO and gave them 110% back of what they gave to me. Every annual and mid year review was exemplary, never a customer complain nor conflict with a co-worker. In return, I was treated like a criminal and forced out of the company and to this day I don't know why and they can't tell me. I lost my career, my retirement, my future and my house all due to being a "valued" employee.

    Advice to Management

    When you see one of your dedicated employees being RAILROADED, step in and find out why and who is behind that kind of behavior and end it!

    Idaho Power2018-12-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay and Benefits. Great safety record.

    Cons

    HR, legal, has changed the business model for the worse.

    Idaho Power2018-09-23
  9. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, and culture. Company really seems to care about employees

    Cons

    As a regulated utility, changes/progress often comes a little slower than other industries.

    Idaho Power2018-08-31
  10. "Great Employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time

    Pros

    Positive and fun work environment with supervisors and managers who actually listen and care about their employees.

    Cons

    Parking is getting harder and harder to come by in downtown Boise.

    Idaho Power2018-08-06
Found 55 reviews