Idaho Power Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Idaho Power Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Idaho Power President and CEO Darrel T. Anderson (no image)
Darrel T. Anderson
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, most departments are great to work for(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Heavily regulated, so a lot of paperwork and extra effort to get things done without putting company at risk(in 3 reviews)

  • " historically (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid Job Security with Professional and Ethical Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay with good benefits and professional culture.

    Cons

    Organizational structure and activities of departments not well documented, resulting in challenges to identify all necessary stakeholders for activities that influence or are driven by other groups within the company.

    Continue reading
    Idaho Power2020-02-23
  2. "Great Salary, good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Technician in Boise, ID
    Recommends

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    manageable workload, great pay, good boss

    Cons

    Very corporate, a lot of training videos

    Idaho Power2019-08-18
  3. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Metering Systems Specialist in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    pay!, family atmosphere, development opportunities

    Cons

    there are none....really, absolutely none

    Continue reading
    Idaho Power2019-08-02
  4. "Good stable employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Company generally cares about their employees. Stable company (publicly regulated monopoly) so you don't have to worry about layoffs. They hire/promote from within. Training/education opportunities are pretty good.

    Cons

    Management practices and culture are somewhat outdated. Working from home is discouraged. It can take years to work up to a good paid time off accrual rate. They often hire temporary contractors instead of creating new full time positions.

    Idaho Power2019-06-21
  5. "Good Comoany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company with a wonderful emphasis on customers

    Cons

    Some of the Management Team

    Idaho Power2019-04-18
  6. "I wish it wasn't temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    IT Service Desk Technician in Boise, ID

    I worked at Idaho Power

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Idaho Power2019-02-21
  7. "Amazing &Unique Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked in several other companies and Idaho Power is the best. The leadership has high integrity and truly cares about employees. There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other. Pay and benefits are very competitive as an overall package.

    Cons

    Regulated companies have unique challenges and it isn't for everyone. Historically at times the company was stuck in the mode of maintaining the status quo rather than being open to new ideas or ways of doing things, but that seems to be changing.

    Continue reading
    Idaho Power2019-02-03
  8. Helpful (4)

    "EASILY, THE WORST COMPANY I'VE EVER WORKED FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relay Technician in Payette, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair compensation package and pay.

    Cons

    I spent 11 dedicated years with IPCO and gave them 110% back of what they gave to me. Every annual and mid year review was exemplary, never a customer complain nor conflict with a co-worker. In return, I was treated like a criminal and forced out of the company and to this day I don't know why and they can't tell me. I lost my career, my retirement, my future and my house all due to being a "valued" employee.

    Continue reading
    Idaho Power2018-12-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay and Benefits. Great safety record.

    Cons

    HR, legal, has changed the business model for the worse.

    Idaho Power2018-09-23
  10. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, and culture. Company really seems to care about employees

    Cons

    As a regulated utility, changes/progress often comes a little slower than other industries.

    Idaho Power2018-08-31
Found 56 reviews