Illumina Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,526 of over 1,759 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
814 Ratings
Pros
  • "Forward thinking company with great respect for work/life balance(in 120 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced environment, never a dull day(in 103 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Incredibly fast paced which doesn’t suit everyone(in 95 reviews)

  • "You must know how to set your work/life balance boundaries(in 92 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Illumina's Dynamic Culture of Innovation and Inclusion

      Aug 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My expectations have been exceeded in my first 6 months here at Illumina HQ! The culture invites innovation and diversity as though it's ingrained into the Illumina DNA. The foundation here is built on a solid commitment to excellence, inclusivity, innovation and a drive to push forward the boundaries of science in health care.

      Cons

      A challenge as an Illumina employee, is staying focused on your path forward as you move through a dynamic workplace environment with lots of exciting events occurring around every corner.

      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall

      Apr 20, 2022 - SAP Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Benefits Learning opportunities

      Cons

      Very slow pace No growth after a while

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people, great company culture and work life balance

      Jul 12, 2021 - Scientist I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employees at illumina are very nice to work with. Lots of communications within a collaborative team and people are always there to help with problem solving. Many scientists and engineers coming from a wide variety of backgrounds. You can always find an expert in a certain area. Great work life balance. Illumina cares about our wellbeing for sure!

      Cons

      Limited instrument capacity at certain busy time of the year under the impact of covid.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Intersting latest innovative work, bogged down by office politics

      Nov 7, 2020 - Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly work environment, interesting and innovative work

      Cons

      Disparity in working hours for males and females, salary is completely dependent on the log in and log out times, Bad HR policies

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Very toxic environment

      Sep 9, 2020 - Senior Engineer in Noklak Hq
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can't say enough about the potential of the technology Illumina makes. Cool campus and they do try to make it a fun environment. Room for advancement.

      Cons

      Middle management is abysmal. They constantly and constantly ignore the technical experts and do whatever they think will make them look good. They never give push back to upper management which wastes time and money on projects that make no sense. Time of service somehow qualifies people to be managers. This leads to incompetent managers who are completely innefective and are unable to help their direct reports. The company moves too fast for their own good. Everything gets half done then projects are handed over over to set up the next team for failure. That next team then takes all the blame for the the people who originally ruined the project. I wouldn't suggest working there unless you have loose morals and a desire to get ahead at any cost.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Aug 5, 2020 - Business Process Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good working environment Good working environment

      Cons

      no cons observed no cons observed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      U

      Jul 6, 2022 - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just the best company ever

      Cons

      Just no cons I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Best experiences except when I was exiting the organisation

      Jun 21, 2022 - Senior Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best ride I have ever had in terms of learning, opportunity, fast pace, not limited by the role(boundaries) and working globally. Sky is the limit if you are willing to put in energy and work with integrity. The management team allows you to take calculated risks and they even gave me the opportunity to work across the globe. The compelling mission of unlocking the power of genome is very powerful, it kept me going and others as well. The CEO is the biggest change agent to unleash the power and importance of genomics. There is nothing I would change in terms of my time at Illumina. I decided to leave because I needed a change in organisation, meet new people and have a new perspective.

      Cons

      This (more to share below) is the only con which happened to me where I felt the organisation did not execute with good faith(in my opinion they may be blindsided). During my exit from the company, they left me wondering if I had worked for the same company for almost 10 years after making so many (personal and professional) sacrifices . I was treated as an employee who had not made any impact. After serving the organisation for almost 10 years working 10-12 hours a day, including missing out on paternity leave to help program go live on time recently. They decided to clawback prorated $$(including tax they paid behalf of me) for the relocation because I left within 1 year of relocation back to San Diego. Additionally, they did not pay full relocation, it was partially funded by me in addition to taxation impact. The company spends $$ for consultants to travel but decided to clawback on their own employees. I wish there was more empathy, consideration and not just follow policy/contracts as written especially at a time when inflation is all time high and when the employees have made huge impact.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      good job

      Jul 2, 2022 - CLT (Clinical Lab Technician) in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not difficult Great coworkers Competitive salary

      Cons

      At times can be repetitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good employer

      Jul 1, 2022 - Controller/HRManager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and culture of care

      Cons

      Look at work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,526 Reviews

    Illumina Reviews FAQs

    Illumina has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 1,759 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at Illumina to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Illumina employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Illumina. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

    79% of Illumina employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Illumina 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Illumina Job Seekers