Iloura Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Iloura Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "VFX Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Iloura

    Pros

    The people are great here.

    Cons

    Recent changes to the company have not been all positive. It used to be a more friendly place in general.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t loose site of this place’s core values. It’s what makes it what it is. Don’t become just another vfx studio no employee really care about.

    Iloura2018-11-14
  2. "Excellent Short Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Iloura for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Good pay package. Decent hours for the industry.

    Cons

    The projects aren't very exciting. It's small and don't offer many career opportunities which is a shame because it's a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in bigger and better projects.

    Iloura2018-05-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Studio to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends

    I have been working at Iloura for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and helpful team Good remuneration. Fun projects. Great place to work to gain experience and work on a variety of projects

    Cons

    not much scope for growth, since most employees are on contracts personal growth isn't possible

    Advice to Management

    Try and have longer contracts and give people opportunity to grow in their career

    Iloura2018-01-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Club Med of FX Houses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VFX Artist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Iloura for more than a year

    Pros

    Great remuneration, colleagues and work environment, extremely organised management

    Cons

    too many late nights and weekend work, fluctuating staff - too many contractors not enough full timers. Hire more locals.

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Iloura2017-12-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Junior Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Iloura full-time

    Pros

    A Very good working environment with good supervisors and good vibes.

    Cons

    I experienced very little downsides from the working experience itself, you can only do so much towards complicated customers.

    Iloura2017-12-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Best people i've ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in South Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Iloura for more than a year

    Pros

    Iloura has the best people. A fact i'd largely attribute to Magdalena (the hiring manager). She seems to hire around a specific ethos and builds teams that aren't just talented - but also gel really well in a work environment. I've worked with great people, but Iloura had a team that made it awesome to come into work every day. Transparent management, talented people

    Cons

    Like most VFX studios, contracts can only be extended based on the work coming into the studio - which occasionally leads to some chaotic contract scenarios.

    Advice to Management

    - Appreciated the transparent communication. - Please don't let Iloura lose its culture as it expands and looks to the future. - Retain key staff.

    Iloura2017-06-29
  7. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Iloura

    Pros

    Good and honest management.

    Cons

    Not enough work foe solid employment

    Iloura2017-07-03
  8. "A Nice studio to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Melbourne
    Recommends

    I worked at Iloura full-time

    Pros

    The enviroment, the building, the people and salary.

    Cons

    The Animator Sup Could be not as pleasent to work with and if you are new could feel that you are not part of the team with those(not everyone) who are there for longer.

    Iloura2017-07-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Politics kills the fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compositor in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Iloura for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall friendly co-workers Good location Decent projects Competetive saleries

    Cons

    To much of an old boys club-environment with bad humor. Some of the managers lacked social skills which had an impact on the work-atmosphere. Supervisors should take a course in friendly communication instead of punching downwards. The way they approach people can come off as quite rude and ignorant. Contract lengths very unclear. There is a very clear us & them mentality between permanent staff and contractors.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep your contractors happy. There are lots of new talented artists being pushed down by nepotism and jealousy from the "old-gang" as they so smugly calls themselves.

    Iloura2017-07-03
  10. "Great Studio!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Iloura full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Iloura is in a good area with nice cafes. Great film and tv projects. Great professional atmosphere. Good salary, offered the standard for VFX animators but they were willing to negotiate, paid for my return flights stay at a nice hotel for the first 6 weeks.

    Cons

    Small studio which means short contracts but with flights and relocation paid for theres no complaints here except artists should be told whether they will be extended or not sooner.

    Advice to Management

    Needs a revamp on pipeline, tools etc. There needs more management and focus on scheduling especially during crunch time.

    Iloura2016-10-11
Found 21 reviews