Impaq International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Impaq International Reviews

Updated 20 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Impaq International CEO Avi Benus
Avi Benus
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is toxic and benefits need to be improved(in 4 reviews)

  • "Often treat employees like children; not realizing many of us do this PART TIME(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meeting Planner in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Impaq International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Headquarter office is friendly and have a lot of monthly activities and perks.

    Cons

    Satellite office can work harder at being more friendly like the main office

    Impaq International2019-05-20
  2. "Great Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Impaq International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement Concern for work/life balance

    Cons

    Focus on corporate office

    Impaq International2019-04-30
  3. Helpful (5)

    "tipping point reached and fallen into hot mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Impaq International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Once upon a time there were good reasons to go to IMPAQ. It was a good place for research professionals of all sorts who wanted to be part of an up and coming firm or just to escape the competitive and nasty environments of bigger companies. Many things got off to a good start and there were great supports and honest attempts and successes at building the right type of infrastructure. Some of that remains. There... are still some good people there who want to make a difference and who do good work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sadly, the promising environment of just a few short years ago has quickly dissipated and many of us left in the last few years or were forced out. There are people who are sincerely promoting integration and innovation though they haven't been around long and face constant uphill battle. Most of the company and especially the highest senior management continue to tip toe around an inexperienced, volatile and overly... sensitive CEO who wishes he was doing something else - like going back to his old job on wall street. Nepotism is pretty deeply ingrained. Poor communication and gossip permeate research and support staff leaving senior managers feeling depleted. There's a lot of time and money spent on making the company look good on the outside when underneath it's falling apart. Lots of fighting between senior executives over "turf" and direction and how to manage. Between all of that and the bad advice they take from management consultants, executive coaching and advisory committees, there's very little room left for decent talent to get much done. I and others like me invested some years here hoping there would be a tipping point into something fresh and new. Instead it's just fallen into a big, hot mess. Also, there's a positive review on here that's clearly fake.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust more people beyond the tight inner circle and stop actively encouraging a protective, egocentric and competitive environment. Stop dressing up your work as well-meaning and be transparent about your goals.

    Impaq International2019-05-02

    Impaq International Response

    May 8, 2019CEO

    Dear Anonymous, I am sorry it did not work out in the end for you and IMPAQ, though six years is a good run. We have worked hard to make IMPAQ a great place to work and believe we have built a team of smart, hard-working and nice people. We are proud of that. I am also proud ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (3)

    "It Is What You Make It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Impaq International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IMPAQ is growing a LOT. The company is hiring left and right and winning new work left and right, including some major health contracts. IMPAQ is quickly becoming a legitimate player in the health space. If you're a go-getter, it's a great first job. If you demonstrate competence and advocate for yourself, you can take on a LOT of responsibility on both projects and internal development. If you seek senior level... champions for yourself, you can get very far and make real contributions to the firm. Culture is dependent on the office. Some offices have a very strong young contingent with regular social events and an outgoing, gregarious, collaborative vibe. Other offices are older and have a less vibrant culture and are more isolated. Excellent work-life balance. You can come in and leave when you want (within reason) if you're performing well. Work from home arrangements are easy. You can expect a simple 9-5 base, with a few more hours a day if you're pushing yourself or during busy times of the year.

    Show More

    Cons

    Firm's growing and competing with better peers, but pay and benefits haven't caught up. If you're not willing to go after things and seek new responsibility, you will be relegated to boring tasks and will not advance. Corporate leadership is often a black hole, although they're trying to get better. You'll interact with senior research staff regularly, but executives are pretty invisible. For more senior... folks, be careful. The firm has a bad habit of telling people whatever they want to hear to get a strategic hire on board, and sometimes responsibilities are totally different than advertised. This has caused some turnover issues at that level.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve your benefits and pay if you want to compete with your new peers for quality talent. Improve communication at the executive level and solicit research staff input on a decision every once in a while. Doesn't mean you have to take the advice, but learning about huge changes to the company for the first time in a press release is a terrible look for employees who want to feel like they have a stake in the... company and where it's going.

    Show More
    Impaq International2019-03-02
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Development Intern 

    I worked at Impaq International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture. Good work environment.

    Cons

    Internship was a bit limited in work opportunities

    Impaq International2019-03-05
  6. "Good but constrained by division structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Impaq International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good, smart, hardworking people. People care about their work, although maybe too much.

    Cons

    Unpaid overtime is a fact of working at IMPAQ. And while there is some room to move across policy divisions, it’s very difficult to be assigned to a project in another division (so choose wisely!).

    Advice to Management

    Change your division management strategy to encourage divisions to collaborate instead of compete for staff and projects.

    Impaq International2019-03-06
  7. "Great people, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Impaq International full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers and good location.

    Cons

    Upper management is toxic and benefits need to be improved.

    Impaq International2019-02-25
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Impaq International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - room to grow (if you know who to talk to) - because IMPAQ is out to make every dollar there is, they will put junior staff on tasks they are completely unqualified for, but, it's a great opportunity to learn - amazing co-workers. people are smart and hardworking. - research with a social impact mission

    Cons

    - family run company results in amateurs/family friends in management. - I was not paid the same as my male counterparts. - like i mentioned, out to get every dollar in gov't contracting so it results in unethical choices (including staffing junior personnel, low quality research, strategic charging of time) - you will be staffed on at least 5 project at a time and 2 proposals during the summertime. Because... IMPAQ works on billable hours (this is its own can of worms omg), you will work incredible hours of over time. - personal development will happen during your own time, always off the clock - innovation is not encouraged (unless it's to overbill hours to a client!)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    stop inhibiting innovation, stop trying to get every $ in the fed. gov't space and DIVERSIFY, build the bridge between upper and lower level management, and make sure your junior staff has room to grow because most of them end of leaving and you're losing amazing talents. you cannot keep using the same stodgy methods from the 1980s.

    Impaq International2019-01-17

    Impaq International Response

    January 29, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your review. We strive to make a positive impact in the world, and treat our staff with respect, fairness, and to provide opportunities for professional and personal growth. We are very proud of our nice, smart, and hardworking diverse staff. 68% of our team hold advanced ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Impaq International

    Pros

    There are great, hardworking and friendly people, especially at the mid and junior levels.

    Cons

    There are a lot of unqualified people at the very senior levels. They lack expertise in the areas they lead and were promoted by virtue of being there since the begging or being family friends. There are too many of them (a lot of expensive top people nobody knows what they do or what they lead, all pretending to do capture but with no knowledge of the client). Winning rates are low because it's the blind leading... the blind. Some people at the management level are real bullies. There's a culture of backstabbing especially from senior to junior. People get thrown under the bus a lot especially those actually doing the work. No wonder there is a very high turnover rate from mid level people. People bond over how bad management is or how best to avoid the toxic ones.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train principals, managers and VPs not to be jerks or fire them. Allow them to be reviewed by the people they supervise.

    Impaq International2019-02-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Impaq International full-time

    Pros

    The environment, culture, work ethic, area of work and the researchers who work there are top notch. It’s a highly engaged and engaging environment. I worked there for over 10 years and loved most of my experiences there.

    Cons

    Office politics. Certain senior leadership not leaders at all and should’ve been re-evaluated or retrained.

    Impaq International2018-12-27
Found 57 reviews